Osasuna, Oh Hells No…

1 Feb
OMG. OMFG. ::headdesk::  Yeah, that’s about how I felt after the game on Sunday. I’m sure y’all did as well. But as I’ve said before, I’m ride or die, win or lose with this team, so HALA MADRID!  (Even though we played like…ugh).
“Erm, uh, yeah, um…that…sucked”

I started to try to write a post yesterday (after recovering from Sunday’s post-game bender) but then the frickin’ transfer window deadline sucked whatever life was left out of me.

Nando to Chelsea (for 50 freaking million) ? Andy Carroll to Liverpool for 35 million?  I mean, WTF? Did the transfer window just want my head to explode? I spent most of the day watching the automatically updating live feed of transfer news and getting myself into a serious tizzy.

Over on Twitter, Cesc shared my surprise at what was going on:

I'm right there with you, Cescy. ::sigh::

I know everyone has their favorite team preferences and I don’t support an EPL team (by self-preserving choice – long story) but I have a great fondness for Liverpool and I adore Nando, Stevie, Pepe, etc. so this was painful to watch. My heart goes out to Liverpool supporters. And as for Andy Carroll, I absolutely loathe him. The only person I dislike more is Joey Barton. I find them both to be repulsive human beings (again, my opinion only, not Maisougio’s) so I was deeply unhappy to see Andy and his wack-ass pony tail joining the Reds. That said, I think with the combination of Suarez, it may be a very good thing for Liverpool and I wish them all the luck in the world. They deserve it. YNWA, my Liverpudlian peeps.

Back to Nando. It’s a tad problematic. His recent assertions of loyalty, the lateness of the deal, etc. made it all very uncomfortable and even if it wasn’t his intention, it comes off as a slap in the face of the fans who lovingly supported him all these years in good times and bad.  (However, the yobs burning his jersey outside of Melwood? Appalling. The crest on the front is more important than the name on the back, as true fans know. I mean, if you’re pissed, just throw a pig’s head at him on Sunday. It’s practically tradition! Sheesh!) So yeah, I’m torn and heartbroken for LFC fans but I have one thing to say to Nando…

::sings:: “And iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii­iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii­iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii­iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii will always love uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu­uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu­uuuuu!”

No matter how sad I am about this, I still love him. It’s going to take me quite awhile to find it in my heart to feel something other than shock and betrayal over the way this move happened (yeah, it’s not as much that he was going, I expected that – it’s how it all played out) but I still care. ::sniffle:: Maisougio put it in perspective when she said “At least he didn’t go to Barca.” Excellent point, my dear wa-tishista! That would have completely done my head in.

Anyhow, we’ve had  more than enough angst this week. I guess we might as well get back to picking the scab off the wound of Sunday’s loss to Osa-f**king-suna.

Another game where we didn’t play up to our potential. We had some casualties: Marcelo and Xabi Alonso had the flu. Marcelo stayed home but Xabi came along and it was obvious that he was still sick. He sat out a good chunk of the game but dragged himself on to the field to help out in the second half.

And then there was the lovely crowd at Reyno de Navarra stadium in Pamplona. They saw fit to throw trash, bottles, lighters, and other debris on to the field non-stop. Most damagingly, during several Real attacks on their goal, additional balls were thrown onto the pitch, causing confusion and halting our momentum. Completely unsporting, if you ask me. The first time it happened, I thought it was an accident. By the FOURTH time, it was pretty obvious that they were just being dillweeds. Again, the bad fan behavior has got to stop. Hey, La Liga, what about some sanctions, eh? If it was Madridistas, you’d probably ban us all from even watching the game from the comfort of our own homes. Stop the double standards.

Oh, and Osasuna also managed to mangle our players quite a bit and get away with it (more or less).

Thou shalt not harm The Ramos!

Crissy and Carvalho got taken down a few times and poor Sergio – he and his snood took a beating.

Osasuna put up a hell of a fight and we just couldn’t seem to find the net. In fact, we seemed to land the ball on top of the net about 20o times. That would be AWESOME, if this were basketball. Sadly, it is not. I don’t ever want to see the boys with faces like this again. It broke my heart.

The CrispyKarim of Sadness

Damn it. Karim really managed to rock the patented Nando Bitchface during the game quite nicely, didn’t he?

Spaniards aren't the only ones who can bitchface!

Mou seemed to be reading my thoughts  in this picture…

"How much longer are we going to have to watch this horrorshow unfold?"

Dear photographer,  In re: above photo – I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again. I really, really don’t need close up shots of The Special One’s “special one.” Okay? Thanks. (At least it’s not as bad as the game earlier in the season where the camera zoomed in on Mou’s crotch and slowly panned up it lovingly. The entire pub screamed in horror.)

Oh! And Pandiani decided to get into it with Crispy!  And Mesut, bless his little cotton socks, ran right over to defend his man! I squealed “Crozil!!!!!!!”  Mesut actually *shoved* Pandiani (who is not a small dude) away from Crispy. It took him some effort, but it was incredibly sweet to see him jump into the melee.

"Who you calling Crazy Eyes?"

I mean, look at Pandiani’s fist! Boyfriend is ready to mix some shit up. Brave little Mesut!

In other news, Manu made his debut. He’d only had one practice with the team so I was a bit surprised that Mou played him, but hell, considering how things were going, why not, right?

"Herrrrrrrrrrre's Manu!"

He did his best, but at that point, I think we were just well and truly screwed.

So this is how it all ended. In tears for Madridistas and cheers for Osasunans (or whatever they call their debris throwing fans).

Either Flano is thrilled with the final score or he's rejoicing right along with us that Sergio has finally, FINALLY! abandoned the hair gel.

Time for a commercial rant break:

An aside to the douche at the next table who I have never seen in my pub before: Yeah, you, with the shite Riff Raff from Rocky Horror hairdo and your snide comments about Real – I heard you and chose to ignore you. You’re what I call an ABM fan aka ‘Anyone But Madrid ‘ – you don’t give a shit about the other team as long as they beat us. Fine, whatever floats your boat. Just don’t bring your nasty attitude to my local. That’s not how I or my pub roll. We do genial shit talking back and forth but it’s not meant maliciously (as witnessed by my pal Z singing “OSA-SUUUUUUNA” and me singing “F*****ck Youuuu!” back at him as we blew kisses at each other across the bar and laughed - that’s just silliness).  We take the piss out of each other, but it’s all in good fun. When we lost El Classico in November, I was in tears and it was the Cules who gave me a hug, bought me a pint & dinner and didn’t rub it in my face. We all know what it’s like to love the pants off our team and be disappointed, so we support our teams and each other. It’s called sportsmanship. Look it up. Even though I am a dyed in the wool Madridista, I’m not going to say that Barca is shit, because they’re NOT. (Do I want Madrid to beat them until they beg for mercy next time? Absolutely. But I can’t say they’re a bad team. Ever. I love this game and they play it beautifully.) So do me the same courtesy. Come ready to cheer, discuss the game in detail and drink a few pints. We’re all in this together.  You don’t have to love my players or team, but dude, seriously, give credit where credit is due. Madrid, while they didn’t play well on Sunday, has amazing world class players.  Don’t hate, appreciate.

::jumps down from soapbox::  And with that, back to my regular ranting…

So we’re 7 points behind Barca. But you know, La Liga isn’t over yet. Barca could stumble, they have before. There’s also Champions League and Copa Del Rey. It ain’t over till it’s over. Simple as that. Tomorrow, we meet Sevilla. And for their ridiculous treatment of us in the last game, I want us to soundly whup their arses into oblivion.

Some pictures to cheer us up…

This one had me rolling on the floor – AP Photo confused Sami & Sergio:

Bobbsey Twin Sami goes for the ball

The caption read: Real Madrid’s coach Jose Mourinho from Portugal, left, touches the ball with his foot as player Sergio Ramos, right,  approaches during the  Spanish La Liga soccer match against Osasuna at Reyno de Navarra stadium in Pamplona northern,  Spain Sunday Jan. 30, 2011. (AP Photo/Alvaro Barrientos)

If they can’t tell them apart, what hope do any of us have? (You would think the “K” on the back of Sami’s jersey would be an excellent tip off to the photo editor, but apparently not…

Flano & Fideo will star in La Liga’s Spring production of “A Chorus Line”

Wouldn’t that be brilliant? Costumes by Sergio & CR7 (with a long distance assist from Guti for old times sake). Lighting by Ozil (which will only make sense if you saw the skit from this week’s Crackovia. For an English translation of this week’s show, see the wonderful unamadridista blog).

And as we prepare for Sevilla, the boys were out training…

Mesut was not pleased with Cristiano's reaction to his Ninja role play suggestion: "So much for spicing things up. Hmph."

Let’s hope tomorrow and the weekend bring us happier results and good health for our team. (And the restoration of our sanity, please!)

HALA MADRID!

8 Responses to “Osasuna, Oh Hells No…”

  1. Maisoun February 1, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    How lucky am I to be a part of this marvy blog?! You, Lozil, have knocked another one outta the park! ;)I dont even mind that “I will always love you” is now stuck in my head!

    Now I must say if Sergio is going to make a habit out of wearing a snood…I need a shirt that says “Sergio I’d Snood you GOOD!” XD the way he makes my mind work!

    And since you brought some music into the post, this is what I thought of when I saw Pandiani’s “Crazy eyes”

  2. headbandsandheartbreak February 1, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    Thank you most kindly, Maisougio! I think you should totes get a “Sergio, I’d Snood you GOOD!” t-shirt. I think I’m going to have a HB&HB t-shirt made eventually. The Ramos will definitely have to be on that one. :-)

  3. Jenny February 1, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    On the bright side, not only did Mesut push away the evil thug who was threatening Cris’s virtue, he also played rather well and made 4 perfect scoring chances.

    And our Croezil moment certainly made the most adorable gif after the hair-ruffling one from the Malaga game (which will be #1, always).

    • headbandsandheartbreak February 2, 2011 at 12:05 am #

      He did indeed! I always enjoy watching him play. It was such a rough game all around. My heart was breaking for them. Tomorrow (actually – today where I am) is going to be much, much better. HALA MADRID!

  4. kfunk22 February 2, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    my brain is barely functioning today, so you’ll have to forgive me for the lameness of this comment. you’ve been warned.

    1. agreed on: sergio’s lack of hair gel (he looks human again!); crotch shots of Mou (tho, perhaps slightly appealing, no? but decidedly not in those pants); ninja FSG is cute, cute, cute.

    2. loved that you got to debut the sheer brilliance that is CrispyKarim!

    3. these waters were sadly rogue-free, far too much for my preference. hopefully this afternoon, pirates and actual playing of football will abound.

    laters lady lo.

    • headbandsandheartbreak February 2, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

      Cheer up, my brain rarely functions these days so I’m right there with you. I’m just thrilled that you took the time to leave a comment. As we all know, I’m a total comment whore. I live for them.

      In response to your most excellent points:

      Someone should steal all of the hair gel in Madrid. I think our boys look better tousled and natural.

      Mou is a sexy MF silver fox, to be sure, but for some reason, when they get all crotch shot-ty on him, it feels…wrong. Maybe in a different context than midgame on the bench, you know? And those pants? Too shiny for that sort of action. Dunno, guess I’m weird about these things. I’d never turn down a player short tent shot but coach-in-dress-slacks-crotch-shot? Hmmm, not so much with the liking.

      FSG is always cute, cute, cute and yes, I am biased. He is my boo.

      CrispyKarim, ftw! I had to fit it in somehow. And their angsty expressions were tailor made for blogging.

      I *knew* you would feel the lack of scalliwag goodness! That was not my fault. I thought about throwing in a random shot of El Pirata, but I was so angst filled and ranty, that I just didn’t do it.

      I share your wish for more piratey goodness and actual footy today. I would like this game to have 100% less thrown objects, lasers, Iker clonking, general player abuse and angst. I would like it to have 500% more goals against Sevilla. HALA MADRID! Let’s go Blancos!

      • kfunk22 February 2, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

        oh, btw:
        i still need to know all about luther vandross, but perhaps this is not the forum.

  5. headbandsandheartbreak February 2, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Why won’t it let me leave you a second level reply? Argh.

    Anyhow, yes, I shall email you privately about my LV adventures.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 704 other followers

