UPDATED: Complete and Utter Doucheweed of the Day

1 Mar

I read this last night and my blood started boiling. It makes me madder and madder every time that I think about it so I had to get this off my chest. Anyone who knows me is aware of how much I love animals.  Just ask Shiggers how I feel about my “kitten” (aka my 15 year old cat Max), who is probably the most spoiled and adored creature on earth.

So here’s the scenario:  Colombian clubs Deportivo Pereira and Atletico Junior are playing.  Junior’s mascot is an owl and they believe when it flies over the stadium the team will win…

Well, unfortunately, during this particular game, the owl landed the field and was almost immediately hit by the ball. The play had moved on, but Deportivo Pereira defender Luis Moreno walked back across the field and looked at the injured owl, who had spread its wings out. He contemplated the owl for a minute and then he kicked it. Yeah, you heard me, THE F***ING ARSEHOLE KICKED AN OWL. A LIVING CREATURE AND ONE THAT WAS INJURED ALREADY.  WTF?! SERIOUSLY! I AM SO ANGRY THAT I AM CAPSLOCKING. ::breathe, Lozil, breathe::


Can you f***ing believe that shit?!  The rest of the blogosphere shares my rage as you can see here, here and here. Seriously, what kind of dick do you have to be to kick an injured creature?! His excuses? He didn’t know it was their mascot and that it was a lapse of reason in “the heat of the moment, besides, I don’t think it was that hard of a hit. I was just trying to get him off the pitch.”  Oh, okay, that totally excuses your behavior, dude. Grrrrrrrr!  In addition to facing sanctions from the football association, the police have opened an animal cruelty case against him and he could face up to 45 days in jail. I hope he gets the absolute maximum sentence from everyone. Hey, Luis, I hope from here on in you’re treated with the same compassion and thought that you gave that poor little owl.

In somewhat better news, the owl is stable although it sustained a fractured leg. It should make a full recovery. I did read a comment on another blog that said it had died, but all the news reports have the owl listed as stable so I am keeping my fingers crossed.  And Junior beat  Deportivo Pereira  2-1.

So two fingers up to you, Luis Moreno. You are a complete douchebag.

UPDATE:  I found a reputable news report that someone translated for me. Apparently the little owl has died from a surge in lactic acid due to the stress of the kick and being handled. Jesus Christ. I mean, damn it. I’m getting all weepy here.  Moreno better watch his ass. Colombians don’t play. Do you remember what happened to Andres Escobar when he scored an own goal in the 1994 World Cup? People feel very strongly about animal cruelty.

13 Responses to “UPDATED: Complete and Utter Doucheweed of the Day”

  1. shiggers March 1, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    The word doucheweed is too good for him. I’m inventing a new one that will fully encompass his [left blank until appropriately scathing word is created to describe this level of scumtasticness].

  2. headbandsandheartbreak March 1, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    The little owl died. :-( I’m so f***ing sad.

  3. LilyM March 1, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    I read this on another site and saw the video

    it’s very disgusting and cruel…

    This man should be banned from football all together such a disgrace!

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 1, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

      He’s a bastard! I hope he’s banned as well and that someone gives him a good kicking. I can imagine he’s going to get his share of rough challenges on the pitch in the coming days. No one likes that kind of cruelty. What gets me is the fact that he paused, looked at the owl and *then* kicked it. He didn’t do it “in the heat of the moment” He *considered* before he took action. For that, he deserves a special place in hell. He knew exactly what he was doing.

      • LilyM March 1, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

        what’s worst is that the poor owl looks up at him like he’s going to help him… totally broke my heart and made me cry… poor owl RIP

        • headbandsandheartbreak March 1, 2011 at 11:17 pm #

          I cried too. I just don’t understand that kind of mindless cruelty. There were people on blogs who were like “Calm down. It’s only a bird.” It was a life. And also, if a person is that callous, what else are they capable of? What sort of lessons is he passing on to his kids? I don’t understand that lack of kindness and compassion. Yes, we all make mistakes, but this sort of careless disregard for another living creature’s pain and suffering speaks of someone who is in some fundamental way, morally broken. Just my humble opinion.

  4. Andrea March 1, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Poor owl…that was just plain malicious! I hope this guy gets what’s coming to him.

  5. notoriousjk March 1, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    yeah I heard about that, i’m incredibly sad about that. I doubt he’ll get punished at all.

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 1, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

      I don’t know. I think his ass is going to end up in jail on animal cruelty charges. I don’t think they can let him off with the huge outcry that’s been made.

  6. Maisoun March 2, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    I just read that he has to pay for the medical treatment the owl received and volunteer at a local zoo…ya….because if I was a zookeeper, the FIRST person I would want volunteering with the animals is someone who goes around kicking them…

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 2, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

      Ugh. He also got a lecture on owls. He thinks that people should “let it go” and that by kicking the owl, he was trying to “wake it up so it could fly.” And remember that he said he didn’t think that it was that hard of a hit? Reports are that he kicked the owl three meters. That’s almost 10 feet, people! There are some stories on the outcry and potential sanctions here, here and here.

      One interesting point brought up: in Columbia, cockfighting is legal. :-( (Personally, I also am not a fan of bullfighting) It just seems to me that they should outlaw all sorts of cruelty in Colombia or put some laws in affect (there apparently aren’t animal cruelty laws on the books) while they’re at it. Again, just my humble opinion.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 696 other followers

