Whatever. HALA MADRID!

3 Apr


Well, I guess I can’t avoid this write up any longer. None of us are in the best of moods tonight (especially if you are a Madrid, Arsenal or Liverpool fan), but screw it, my team is my team. Ride or die, people. HALA MADRID!

That said, I don’t ever want to see a picture like this again…

This kinda says it all, doesn’t it?

The game started out rather ominously – Carvalho scored early on but it was disallowed. Surely more goals would come, right? Erm, not so much. To be honest, the first half was atrocious and rather boring. Di Maria had some good chances, but oh lordy, the diving MUST STOP. Seriously. It’s like a dinner theater production of Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf all up in there. Too. Much. Drama.

Sigh.  Everything was just so frigging difficult today. Even El Pirata bulge isn’t cheering me up. That’s a crime!

Sergio pulled a yellow card at 43′ and so the first half ended with a whimper, not a bang. Score 0-0.  Argh. At 57′, Pirata was subbed out and the moment we’ve all been waiting for happened: The return of Pipita!


Oh boy, it was soooo good to see him and he made an immediate impact. He had a near miss and the team just looked perkier overall. It wasn’t enough, sadly. De las Cuevas scored at minute 79′ and we just couldn’t equalize. Sami had a couple of good shots cleared. A tip of the hat to Sporting’s goalie Juan Pablo. He did a good job of saving the shots we did have on goal.  Ozi was rather invisible today and overall, it was not a good performance for us. I think that everyone is just bloody exhausted from international duty and now we have  a month of endless play in front of us. However, onward and upward. We’ll just keep plugging away. Even Pique says La Liga isn’t over until it is over. Barca didn’t look too good today either, people. Everyone is tired and/or injured.

Nice to see Khedergio together!

Watch it!

Oh Mou!

Damn, those are some long legs

I know exactly how you feel, honey!

But this? This is hope for the future.

Well, that’s that. Sorry this is just such a minimalist post – I’m just not ready to relive this clusterfuck of a game right now. I need time to heal. Let’s just focus on Champions League and the Copa del Rey now.  Special note: Mou was pure class tonight – he shook the hand of everyone of his players as they came off the field and then went to the Sporting locker room to congratulate them.  You’re the best, Mou! (Here’s his post-match press conference).


18 Responses to “Whatever. HALA MADRID!”

  1. Andrea April 3, 2011 at 12:58 am #

    Wow, what a day…

    I’ve seen Iker and another player comment that we didn’t deserve to lose. I feel otherwise. It seemed like we didn’t genuinely TRY until about the 80th mintue. Too little, too late.

    Performances ranged from mediocre (I guess Alvaro finally had his “6” performance)to outright horrendous (sorry Adebayor). The man of the match for me was Lass. He was amazing and gave 100% for the entire match. I also thought that Higuain and Canales gave solid performances for the limited time that they were on.

    I understand that a lot of our players were either out injured or worn out from international duty – I get that, I really do. But what about Adebayor? Or Pirata? What’s the excuse there? The person I truly felt sorry for was Pipa…he makes his triumphant return at the Bernabeu on a scoreless loss for the first time at home this season. He deserves better than that.

    I love our boys, but they’ve got to pull it together and be a part of the game from the opening minutes. When they don’t, it just turns into a big mess regardless of who is playing. That said, it ain’t over til the fat lady sings. Barca looked horrible today, so I wouldn’t be surprised if they slipped up soon. We just need to capitalize on the opportunity when it happens.

    Let’s shake this one off and get ready for Champions League. Hala Madrid!!!

    • headbandsandheartbreak April 3, 2011 at 1:05 am #

      I agree – Lass was working his ass off today, wasn’t he? Adebayor was horrible. Pipa energized things but even he couldn’t save the game. Once Sporting scored it seemed like they went “WHAT?!” and everything became frantic. Way too late. Mucho sadness, but we just need to move forward.

  2. suzanne April 3, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    from the get go i had a bad feeling about this match. at the half, it progressively got worse. didn’t help that barca pulled it out of their ass. and i will not give up on the title until it is mathmatically impossible. perhaps i live in denial, but it is a rather nice place to be. and stranger things have happened.
    onward to tues. hoping for surprising call ups (come on benz and marcelo, be better). the spurs had a scoreless draw, so at least they aren’t coming in on a high note either. can’t wait to see rafa (and sylvie, sylvie has to make an apperance on my tv!!!!) back home. just don’t score!!

    this next month will either make us or break us. but regardless of all outcomes, i love this team. HALA MADRID!!

    and btw, pirata’s bulge lifted my spirits a bit ;) so thanks for that. and the lovely pipa shots. i guess it just wasn’t meant to be for us today. and i too am sad that his 1st match back was a loss :(

    • headbandsandheartbreak April 3, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

      Looking at El Pirata’s bulge did make me feel slightly better today. I was too grim yesterday for that to sink in. Pipita is a glorious hunk o’ man. Pipita will save us all, methinks!

      There was a Graneroberries closeup yesterday during the game that I tweeted about – I guess the cameraman couldn’t get a shot of the Mouberries? – and una had it. She also had the fab Iker booty shot, shirtless Pipita and Pirate thigh action that I was squealing about on Twitter. I’m going to have to link those in a post here because in a wretched game, all that man flesh was the high point.

  3. Notoriousjk April 3, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    Hey at least you guys still have a couple competitions to play for. Ill be rooting for you guys against the Spuds.

    • suzanne April 3, 2011 at 9:40 am #

      :(
      i feel for you so much. i don’t watch the epl much, but arsenal are always who i pull for.

      • notoriousjk April 3, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

        Thanks :-)

  4. moviefashion April 3, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    I just hate losing, but I have to admit that our club always behaves very well in defeat. I’m not speaking only about Mou and his nice gesture toward our and their players, but Preciado celebrated in our home and the irrigation system was not mysterious turn on and none of our players tried to kick him out of the field. This is class in the purest state. That – plus the 100-year history and titles – make our club so HUGE.

    For me, La Liga is over. Doesn’t matter that the mathematical chances say otherwise, Barça is, unfortunately, the champion of this season. But there are other wonderful things to celebrate. We still alive in other two competitions and have chance to win them. Mou doesn’t lose his (and our) unbeaten record to Barcelona, which would be much worse. And the most important – and nothing beats this – Pipa is Back!!! Seeing him in the field again, made my night worthwhile.:)

    • headbandsandheartbreak April 3, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

      Losing to Barca would have put me in a freaking tailspin of epic proportions, that’s for sure.

      Pipita is a joy and seeing him in better shape than I expected was definitely cheering me up.

      We can go on and recover from this and kick some arse in our other competitions.

      GO SHAKHTAR GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;-)

  5. Maisoun April 3, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    I wasnt going to read any posts about last night but…..here I am & still pouting. ugh shutting off my stream yesterday with a lump in my throat, I just had to get away from any mention of La Liga points or RM & had to get off twitter because my timeline was going to make me bawl. In attempt to keep myself busy I started getting ready for a friends wedding & a couple hours into the prettifying process, found out the wedding is actually today..it was all chocolate & tears from there :'(

    And that pic at the top is heartbreaking..headbands shouldnt be thrown on the ground :(

    • notoriousjk April 3, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

      No they should not, I just noticed it myself looking at the enlarged photo.

    • headbandsandheartbreak April 3, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

      Yes, that picture is the epitome of headbands and heartbreak. :-(

      This one, where it’s obvious that he’s been crying also made me sad. At least Sebastián Eguren is taking a minute to come over and console him. :-(

      I’m so sorry about the whole beautification process fiasco. I really hope you have a great time at the wedding today.

  6. Jenny April 3, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    I can’t agree about di Maria – he was certainly very energetic, but running along the left-wing with your head down and refusing to pass until you run into three defenders is not my definition of a good game – especially when you do it over and over and over again.

    In fact, although my Comm was so enamoured with him, I feel he lost us the game. His crosses (the few times he managed one) were always too low for Adebayor’s head. His diving disrupted the flow of the attack. He never picked the right pass – I think he was very poor and when a player who is playing so badly is hogging the ball (and is paired with an uncharacteristically ‘off’ Arbeloa on the left) then the evening is always going to be a disaster.

    He stopped doing it so much after the break (when he decided to start taking long-shots), which leads me to think Mourinho told him to start passing.

    On the subject of Mourinho – the man was utterly magnificent. I am sure he was incredible with them in the dressing room afterward (according to Sami, he’s always the first to recover from a bad game and works hard to cheer them up).

    And frankly, your fabulous daily drool for today really does take one’s mind off things! There’s a good chance I’ll be discovered in several days, stone dead with my tongue glued to the laptop!

    • headbandsandheartbreak April 3, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

      Oh, I didn’t think he had a good game – I thought he was an obnoxious diving ball hog. I just said he had some good *chances* to get near the goal. I’m glad he’s out for the next game and I hope Mou gives him a serious talking to. He needs it – he’s behaving very badly. The kid is a great player, but he just resorts to bullshit so often, it’s made him very unlikeable to me. Shiggers and I always shout at the TV when he pulls his usual crap. He’s a freaking drama queen. I’m not sure what he thought he was trying to do yesterday, but heads up, Fideo! – it didn’t work.

      Also, not that I want you to die or anything, but I left you an additional present in the Nelson post. ;-)

      • Jenny April 3, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

        I love my present. You are the sweetest thing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 706 other followers

