UPDATED: So Much Freaking News Today

17 May

Have some hot Pipita to get you through the news round up…

Lots of bits and bobs today – not all of it earth shattering, but c’mon in…

First off, can San Iker (and Adan, Dudek and Tomy) rock it or what? RealMadrid.com tells us that Real Madrid have played 58 matches this season, 30 of which have ended in clean sheets for the Madridista. It’s a new club record for the Whites, who in 1986/87 and 1987/88 finished with 25 clean sheets. Very nice!

Real Madrid also made an official announcement about the Busquets/UEFA ruling letting everyone know that they found out from the media instead of UEFA  directly among other things.

Arbeloa said he’s “glad Busquets can play in the final”  Well, I’m glad to tell Arbeloa that he can kiss my lily white ass in this case. Mama does not approve. Now granted, this info is from a very poor translation on a Barca blog so I can’t be sure how legit it is, so if I’ve cussed out Alvaro unnecessarily, my apologies but if that’s how he really feels, then I stand by my earlier statement. How’s about standing up for your teammate, bud?

Also on my shit list? The Ramos. Here’s a translation of his comments that were in Marca today (again, it’s via Goal.com, so take with a grain of salt. I’m waiting for una’s translations of both). “I’m happy for Sergio Busquets, because he is a Spain team-mate and I wish him well. The only thing that does not seem right or fair is that the only injured party here is Mourinho,” Ramos told Marca.com. Um, Sergio, what about MARCELO? You know, your teammate? I’m seriously pissed off by this. I’m going to ask una to please clarify the translations because I feel I can trust her.

UPDATED: Thanks to wa-tishista! mari who pointed out that una had posted on Con La Roja detailing various La Roja’s members thoughts on the El Clasico kerfuffle.  Her post wasn’t up when I last checked into the site earlier today.  She confirmed that both Sergio and Arbeloa said that they were happy that Busquets could play in the final, so you know, fuck them.

UPDATE 2: Albiol joined the apologist party as well “I’m happy for Busquets, because I know him from the national team and he’s a good guy.  It’s clear that he made a mistake in insulting a teammate…”  Oh so at least he’s ACKNOWLEDGING that Busquets really did say it. I guess that’s something, but ugh…fuck you too, Chori.

In other racist arsehole news today, newly relegated West Ham had to deal with a fist fight with their supporters after a drunken fan racially abused Demba Ba at the end of the season dinner. Wow.

I’m going to take a deep breath now and try to move on to other news…

AS is reporting that Real Madrid will extend Sergio Ramos’ contract until 2017 and Pepe’s until 2015. Ramos’ new salary: €4.5 million. Pepe’s: €3.8 million. They are also saying that Real Madrid will announce Hamit Altintop’s signing within the next few hours. So keep your eyes peeled for that.

Kaka says he wants to stay at Real Madrid. Sadly, I don’t think that is going to happen. Carlos Tevez said he would leave Man City and relocate his family to either Italy or Spain due to the “Latin culture.” Erm, sounds like Real Madrid is his first choice if that’s what he’s looking for.

Pepe says that the goal that is credited to him in La Liga (CR7’s shot bounced off his frigging back) really belongs to Cristiano Ronaldo which would give him 39 goals and the La Liga record. I’ve got to agree with Pepe on this one. It would blow if Cris doesn’t score on Saturday and remains tied in the record books as a result of this.

Speaking of Saturday, it’s the final match of the season against the relegated Almeria. It’s also supposed to be the end of the world according to many religious groups. As I said to The Sports Fag over on Twitter, if  The Rapture starts before the final match of the season, I will be PISSED. Cristiano needs to beat the scoring record. Jesus can wait until the final whistle. Also, if it happens during the game and Kaka gets raptured off the field, are we allowed to send in a sub or do we have to play with 10 men? Inquiring minds want to know. I mean, I’m more than sure I’ll be left behind so how exactly does this Rapture thing work? And for all you other sinners? I’ve got a party planned – all back to mine!

Pamela_ from Twitter found a great site called Real Madrid Stats which is perfect for all the trainspotters/geeks around here, like, erm….me. So who has the best pass completion rate on the team? Actually, Dudek with 90.90%. He completely 10 out of 11 passes. But out of the regular players, it’s Carvalho with 89.55% completing 1827 out of 2040 passes. Most steals? The Ramos with 437. Turnovers? Angel Di Maria with 494. Fouls drawn: CR7 (128)  Fouls committed? Lass (109) to Ramos’ 80! Cards was no surprise: Ramos with 19 yellows and 2 reds. The runner up was though – Xabi Alonso with 17 yellows and 1 red! Anyhow, go on over and have some stats fun for yourselves.

Pepe Reina is staying at Liverpool. Reina, Martin Skrtel and Lucas also made news when they tackled a streaker at Anfield, clad in nothing but black socks this weekend. Never a dull moment. Speaking of naked wrasslin’,  fellow Red Steven Gerrard is using his injury time well as he and his missus Alex announced that they are expecting their third child today. (Insert obligatory “‘he’s big and he’s hard, Steven Gerrard, Gerrard” joke here and brace yourselves for the onslaught of angsty Stevie/Xabi fic that will surely come in the next few weeks).

Iker is learning English! Here’s his super cute update on Facebook:

Via iPhone?! What happened to Iker’s Blackberry? He was always glued to that thing!

Jailbait! had to inform us that he’s using Shazam to track down a Pitbull song. I hope El Pirata doesn’t see this tweet. That could be a bromance dealbreaker right there. Speaking of our intellectual hipster pirate, both he and Xabi have tweeted their love for the new Woody Allen movie, Midnight In Paris.

Here’s a great article on Guti, the man, the legend, the…Guti. There really is no one like him. (BTW, hot rumor of the day? Forlan is leaving Atleti for Beşiktaş  and Kun Aguero is packing his bags as well)


And while we’re on the subject of legends, Raul signed up for the bone marrow registry in order to help out a Schalke 04 fan. Oh Raul, you are the epitome of class and grace. Caring is hot, people! Let Raul show you the way!

42 Responses to “UPDATED: So Much Freaking News Today”

  1. IsaBella May 17, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    Lozil, If you link me to both articles, I can translate both Arbeloa’s and Ramos’ statements.
    Italy is like the core of Latin culture, so I agree with Tevez’ choice, besides Argentinians always felt good in Italy, at least from my observations.
    Sergio apparently said on TV that he has not signed anything yet so the news of the contract may be premature….

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      Links to the articles in the post. Also, Ramos comments on Marca.com I asked una to please provide a translation. I respect her skills with the nuance of statements (no offense to you, but I would like to hear una’s translation/thoughts on the matter) and I want to know what the whole interview said as opposed to cherry picked comments that are possibly taken out of context. Please feel free to translate and share comments if you like though.

      I’m well aware of the Argentina/Italian connection. My grandfather was an Italian national born in Buenos Aires, who later returned to Italy before eventually immigrating to the US. I was merely observing that they might feel more comfortable in a Spanish speaking country since that was apparently one of the major reasons that they stayed in Argentina instead of moving to England.

      Supposedly the Ramos and Pepe deals were signed weeks ago but they’ve been asked to not make it public. That’s been being reported for ages. I don’t doubt for a second that either of them signed new contracts.

      • IsaBella May 17, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

        They’re in English and I wanted the Spanish ones. All right, I’ll find them myself.
        I’m sure Una will provide a translation, too.

        • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

          Yeah, of course – I don’t speak Spanish. That was the whole point of waiting on the translation. The original source would have meant nothing to me. ;-)

          As I said, Sese’s comments were in Marca. It’s a moot point, because while I was working on this post which took ages, una posted translations on Con La Roja, which I have now linked here.

          • IsaBella May 17, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

            ok then, thanks! :)

  2. maddy May 17, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    why do i feel like pipita raided mesut’s closet?

    raul – you beautiful person!

    tevez, please dont come to madrid. i’ve already had enough of transfer talk. I LOVE OUR TEAM THE WAY IT IS, DAMNIT!

  3. Notoriousjk May 17, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    Ugh that is all I’m so mad at everyone- I hope the US kicks the Spamish teams arses in the friendly, I really do. Sergio just got a lot less hot to me, a lot.

  4. Suzanne May 17, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Oh my gosh… That whole rapture paragraph had me laughing out loud with tears in my eyes! Very funny!

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

      If you’re not doing anything post-Rapture (unless of course you’re heaven bound) feel free to stop by my party. Drinks on me!

      • Suzanne May 18, 2011 at 8:20 am #

        I’ll be there! ;)

    • jellyace May 18, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      “Also, if it happens during the game and Kaka gets raptured off the field, are we allowed to send in a sub or do we have to play with 10 men? Inquiring minds want to know.”

      This classic was so worthy of Dirty Tackle! Bravo!

      • headbandsandheartbreak May 18, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

        Oooooh, thank you! I have such a lady boner for Brooks Peck, that’s high praise indeed! ;-)

  5. mari May 17, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    im sad about their comments, too. :c
    check out Una’s con la roja blog. she had a post there about the statements of some la roja players, including arbie and sexio, about peek-a-boo busquets and about the issue of the classicos affecting the NT.

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

      Thanks so much for letting me know – her post wasn’t up when I started working this one which took ages. I updated this posted and credited you for finding the info. Thanks!

  6. shiggers May 17, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Let’s see what the actual translations are before downgrading Sergio’s hotness. Don’t get me wrong–if he really did say that, it’s sad and he’s ugh–but I’d hate to knock him lower on the scale until we know for certain he deserves it.

    As for Saturday/the Rapture, final whistle my…ahem…I’m not going anywhere, so I’m going to sit and finish my Guinness after the game.

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

      I figured you would still be sitting around with me post-Rapture. I’m thinking that the Brooklyn Sweaty Shanks Pena will remain completely intact. ;-)

      • shiggers May 17, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

        You know it. Life will be good. Let’s just hope we get to keep most of the hot footies. We’ll definitely be keeping Guti, so life will continue to be entertaining.

  7. IsaBella May 17, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    on Ramos and Arbeloa’s statements: They basically had no other choice. If they said that UEFA is a piece of… and that Busquets is a racist they would be in hell now (press, club, etc… ) Probably it was Madrid that asked them not to stir any more trouble.
    I don’t agree with UEFA’s decision AT ALL. I just wanted to point out that they’re in a no-way out situation, IMO.

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

      I completely hear where you’re coming from and I agree it is a difficult situation, but there’s a huge difference between not stirring up trouble and wishing someone well. Iker didn’t do that. I think he made his feelings clear without being controversial. Here’s an excerpt from the RM site: “If UEFA made the decision not to punish Busquets, they must know what they saw and what happened. Everyone saw it. There is no alternative.” He did say more – here’s una’s full translation: Regarding the UEFA decision, Iker’s take was “there’s nothing more to say. We all saw what happened with Busquets but if UEFA decided not to sanction him, well they must know what they saw and what they heard. There’s no way to change their minds. Everyone has seen it, everyone sees it. But if UEFA made this decision, what can I do?”

      So yeah, you can express your dismay but not say “AWESOMESAUCE! A RACIST FUCKER GETS TO PLAY IN THE CHAMPIONS LEAGUE FINAL! HE’S A NICE GUY (EVEN THOUGH I ADMIT THAT HE CALLED MY TEAMMATE A MONKEY) AND EVERYONE MAKES MISTAKES!”

      Sorry, I’m bitter and extremely disappointed in their comments.

      • IsaBella May 17, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

        I agree that Iker was more diplomatic and I even applauded when he said that he didn’t congratulate Barca on winning the Liga nor did Barca congratulate him on the Copa.

  8. shiggers May 17, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Just finished reading the post on the con la roja blog. I’m not excusing anything, because people have to think before they speak, but it looks like no-longer-Sexio and Arbeloa were both making an attempt to do what Iker managed so gracefully. Namely, making it so that there isn’t severe division (or the perception of it) on the Spanish team. S&A just need to realize they’re not diplomat or saint material and therefore should have their mouths duck-taped shut for the good of humanity.

  9. kfunk2 May 17, 2011 at 3:25 pm #

    so glad this season is almost over. everyone’s losing their damn minds, no?

    also, on a side note: i’d encourage all you fine wa-tishistas to check out some of the amazing/outrageous links and information our fearless lozil has put together in recognition of International Day Against Homophobia. I know we’re all preoccupied with the racism issue right now, but let’s try to remember: Equality for everyone, right?

    (don’t mean to sound preachy, i was just amazed that barely anyone had commented on those posts when it’s obvious she spent a good deal of time assembling them.)

    • notoriousjk May 17, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

      good point of course, but it also makes me sad. How are we supposed to tackle homophobia when racism is still so prevalent in the sport?

      • kfunk2 May 17, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

        doesn’t mean we shouldn’t try!

  10. suzanne May 17, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    errrrrr. this situation is making me disgusted in general with EVERYONE!!!!!!!! except iker. and marcelo. and you lovelinesses.
    i will be at the post-rapture party ;)

  11. Mais May 17, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    O.M.G. Lozil I am 10000% percent with you on this one. We all know how much I heart Sergio, but just NO! I am INCREDIBLY disappointed in him and Alvaro! I don’t care if UEFA would’ve been unhappy with their comments. Did they HAVE to comment?! And if so, can’t they just say what Iker said?! Or ‘What Busquets did was wrong, but it might’ve been something he didn’t mean, in a moment of anger. Racism is not okay in any way, however we can’t change UEFA’s decision’?!!! I am SO freaking angry, seriously. So disappointed I feel like going up to them and yelling a bit. Marcelo is lovely, and he so does not deserve this behaviour from his teammates. Pretty much disgusted with all right now.

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

      And let’s not forget Albiol chiming in. I’m pretty disheartened and sad about it all.

      • Mais May 17, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

        Oh yes. Him too. But at least he acknowledged Busquets’s disgustingness. But still! I seriously cannot believe them! Just because he plays for the Spanish NT does not mean you can brush past what he did to another one of your teammates (whom you see more anyway!) You just KNOW Cris would never say this even if Busquets was Portuguese. He cares about Marcelo more. You guys may disagree but that’s my take on it.

        • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

          Oh, I’m with you, hon. This is bullshit. It breaks my heart that Marcelo has to heart this stuff from his teammates.

  12. Maisoun May 17, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Im so disappointed in all of them, after all that went down in April with the four clasicos & then THEIR teammate being a victim of racism I dont understand how they can just go and speak out about Busquets playing in the final like nothing happened. Is it ok with them just because he’s a fellow spaniard? That shouldnt be reason enough for anyone to forgive his actions. And VDB said the word was used in a “non-racist manner”? what the hell does that mean? how do u call someone a monkey and not consider it a racist remark? This whole situation just disgusts & saddens me. I can say that i was never a fan of Busquets even during the WC but for some of my favorite players to go and excuse this kind of behavior just….I dont know how to say Im a fan of the Spain NT without being embarrassed. Im really confused about the way the rm players (or the ones that spoke out about this) are turning around & making it sound like this is alright, even VDB said he wouldnt tolerate this behavior on the team..i wish he wouldve taken a stronger stand with all that went down…

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2011 at 10:48 pm #

      I just keep thinking of poor Marcelo – how the hell are they explaining this to him?

      • Maisoun May 17, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

        They’re so focused on creating this happy image of their NT, I wish they would think about the relationships they have with players on their club team! (which is way more important to me) I think Captain Iker needs to have a sit down with all the players who DONT have Marcelo’s back & then have a rewind & redo of their comments on the sitch.

        • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

          They need to clarify their statements and explain themselves. I’m so fucking disappointed in them. :-(

  13. maddy May 18, 2011 at 1:15 am #

    i bet the barca players are laughing at us now..

  14. IsaBella May 18, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    In the latest Una’s post there is a quotation from Pepe: “it hurts him to have things like this happen to a teammate.”

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 18, 2011 at 8:29 am #

      Yeah, this was on the Hala_Madrid LJ last night and I was over there discussing it but by that time, I just was just bone weary of the subject so I didn’t bother linking it here for one additional comment.

  15. IsaBella May 18, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    It just popped up in my mind that (I guess somebody mentioned it here) the players probably are desperately trying to save the image of the Spanish seleccion. I think that they may really dislike each other personally but when they play for a serious trophy (like the Eurocopa, e.g.) they will make it together.

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 18, 2011 at 8:33 am #

      It’s been said a few times here already and as I’ve replied several times as well, Iker, the captain of the NT, didn’t feel the need to do that so the rest of them can’t use that as an excuse.

  16. LV May 18, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Everybody’s response has been so disheartening- Barca’s/NT players…I really think that racism and homophobia on the field must be so so prevalent. I wish that somebody would just make a statement saying that racism is below the belt and never acceptable but I guess we aren’t quite at that stage yet, which is just pathetic.

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 18, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

      I think all of us sane (ish) folk need to just huddle up and mourn together. If Iker and Xabi didn’t exist, I would weep. They have stayed above the fray.

      • shiggers May 18, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

        They’re really the only things to cling to right now. Sigh.

  17. MRL September 8, 2013 at 10:44 pm #

    go like this page!!! https://www.facebook.com/steffenhughes.music?hc_location=stream

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 705 other followers

