Finally Back Home In Madrid

7 Aug


Our handsome gentlemen arrived back in Madrid this morning along with Flo P. Those who got called up for international duty will be preparing for games (in Italy vs. Spain on August 10 Nacho Monreal is replacing Sergio) while the others practice and gird their loins for the first Clasico of the season – the Supercopa. The first leg takes place this coming Sunday, August 14th. Ugh. Just not ready for the madness again. To our cule watishistas, let’s hope these matches go off with a whole lot less drama. No one needs last April’s bullshit and I’m sure you all feel the same way too.





In his press conference after the Tianjin game Mou spoke to the press about the pre-season, the Tianjin match, got a nice little swipe in at the Spanish media and talked of his concern for Sergio Ramos.


From RealMadrid.com:

“It was difficult to play this game with a team that is mentally exhausted. It hasn’t been an easy week, the condition of the pitch was very bad and we haven’t trained very well in the last couple of days. Also, things got heated during the game after an isolated action and we preferred to play a calm game against an opponent weaker than the one before. We’ve finished this preseason without any big problems and now we are going home. I’m happy with the attitude of my players during this week in China. It’s a shame that the players will not have a chance to rest due to the international games with their respective countries, but the preseason is over.”

“What we’ve been interested in during the preseason is the work of the team. In the US, we worked a lot and very well, during the week we spent in Europe we saw the results of the work we had done in America, and in China we showed the world the prestige Real Madrid have in the best way possible because the players played seriously.”

“I said the squad was short the other day because I wanted it to be short. It doesn’t mean I need players, but later you will read in the Spanish press that Mourinho wants more players. It could be that my English is better than my Spanish.”

“I’m worried about Ramos’ injury. He didn’t start the preseason well. He thought he was fine but with flights, planes, and playing on a pitch in a very bad condition, I’m not sure If he will be available for the Supercup. We will see.”

8 Responses to “Finally Back Home In Madrid”

  1. Allison August 7, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    As a cule, I agree. Less drama, more football. Is Mou banned from the match? Can’t remember…

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 8, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

      I can’t keep all the sanctions straight. I’m pretty sure it’s just champions league matches. Anyone able to clarify?

      • Allison August 8, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

        I think you’re right, just Champion’s League. And maybe just one more match.

  2. jellyace August 8, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Yes, I’ve had enough of the mudslinging drama. I hope we’re in for some great football…and some shirtlessness!

    • Ciotog August 8, 2011 at 11:41 am #

      I completely agree, They need to make it up to us for the s***storm that was last april and a little shirtlessness would go a long way. Some rain for the RM wet t-shirt contest wouldn’t go amiss either. Those kits were clearly designed by an Adidas’ spring break aficionado, and for that we offer our thanks!!

      • headbandsandheartbreak August 8, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

        Yes, three cheers for Adidas! It almost makes me forgive them for the collar which can be douchily popped (see Ronaldo, Cristiano), ALMOST. But I’m all for both teams taking off their shirts. You’re right, they totally owe us. I was so angry and ashamed of both teams last April. It was a full metal douche-a-thon. My suggestion: More football, less bullshit and keep your fucking mouthes shut and that goes both teams.

        • Gillian August 8, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

          For real! My stomach turns when I think about the nonsense from last April. Please let that not happen again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 665 other followers

