The Daily Drool: Dejan Stanković

7 Aug

Midfielder Deki spent his youth career with Red Star Belgrade and move up to the senior team in 1994, where he remained for the next four years. He moved on to Lazio (1998-2004) and then Inter Milan where he has been since 2004.  He’s also the captain of the Serbian National Team (he’s been a member since 1998) and has a very interesting distinction. He’s the only player to have represented three different countries in the World Cup. He played for Yugoslavia (1998) and then that team became Serbia and Montenegro (2006). By the time the 2010 World Cup rolled around, the Serbia and Montenegro teams split up and Serbia competed as an independent nation.  He’s got lotsa tats – here’s another view.

2 Responses to “The Daily Drool: Dejan Stanković”

  1. SierrraGutierrez August 7, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    Not so fond of this daily drool unfortunately :/ On the bright side though, I´m home! For like a day -.- Just enough time to get some clean clothes before my treck to Barcelona! :D

    I have now flown from Madrid to Andalucia, trecked up the Valencian coast from Andalucia, and cut inland to Madrid, next is onwards and upwards to Catalunya, and then on to Basque country if I have the time, before I head out to the Canary Islands. Though I really could do with a break right now, yesterday I walked 20 miles, and I think I have worn my legs to stumps! Working on my phototaking for a picture-story when my journeys complete!

    A side note that isn´t reallly a side note: Valencians adore football! Not just like the love for it we have in Madrid, I mean literally adore it to the point where you see a kid in the street, you look to see where his/her football is. (Or orange/other round object if the parents cannot afford a football) I mean, I played a keepyuppy contest with a group of about 15 kids, with a lemon! a lemon!

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 7, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

      Sorry hon, can’t win ‘em all! I love, love, love hearing the stories of your trip. Keep ‘em coming.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 708 other followers

