Mou Speaks About El Clasico

17 Jan

Oh Mou, how I love you. You snarked at the press again today in your usual style. I have bolded my favorite quote in the article below.

From RealMadrid.com

Mourinho: “The best possible result against Barcelona is to win the tie”

by Alberto Navarro / Translation by Michael J. O’Donnell

“The team that’s eliminated from the Copa del Rey will play two less games in February and we actually want to play those two fixtures”

Jose Mourinho addressed the media the day prior to facing Barcelona in the Copa del Rey quarterfinals.

“The best possible result against Barcelona is to win the tie. The team that’s eliminated from the Copa del Rey will play two less games in February and we actually want to play those two fixtures. It will be a great match and we’re going to go all out for a victory. It’s not a summer tournament, so we’ll do our very best. The Copa is our third priority this season, but that’s the game we’ll play tomorrow. That which isn’t a priority tomorrow is more important. Nobody plays to lose.”

“Cristiano Ronaldo did a great job against Mallorca. He scored many goals one and a half years ago, as well as many hat-tricks. We also won a title with a goal of his. But I’ve felt most happy and proud of him with the job he did in the second half against Mallorca. He worked like an animal and did what the team needed. He was exhausted from working so hard and making so many steals. The team is most important and I told him he didn’t need to score if he worked like that.”

“Di Maria will be on the squad list. He’s not as fit as we had hoped. We don’t have the best feeling about things, but we’ll have to wait. He’s made the cut, but I’m not going to announce my lineup because I don’t know whom I’ll use yet, although I wouldn’t hint at things either if I knew. The league is our priority and I’m not going to say different from that.”

“This is the sort of game in which I’ll be criticised for using Ramos as right back because he is a phenomenal centre back. I’ll also be criticised if Fabio plays in that position because he is left footed, or if Lass plays there because it means Khedira has to play in midfield. If Pepe plays as centre back you lot will criticise me because you’ll say he does better in midfield, but if he plays as a midfielder you’ll say he had to play in defence. If I use three centre midfielders you’ll say we had to attack, and if we play an offensive game you’ll say we didn’t consider the return leg. You’ll question my decision to use Higuain over Benzema because the latter is in great form, but you’ll do so in the opposite case because Higuain played a great role in Mallorca. It’s better to go to the cinema than it is to think about criticism.”

“It’s possible, and necessary, that Carvalho reappears in January. Ramos and Lass have four bookings each and many players, such as Pepe, Arbeloa and Fabio, have three. They are all necessary. Carvalho will be ready to respond when needed.”

“Barcelona are a great team and a formidable adversary regardless how many defenders they use against us. My relationship with Barcelona is as it’s always been. I don’t have a problem with them; I never have.”

Oh, the cheeky grin! I’ll go to the cinema with you, Mou! I’ll even share my popcorn (anyone who knows me well realizes this is the ultimate commitment) and Milk Duds.  Screw the criticizing press. You just go out there and do your Mou thang. Lead us to victory! HALA MADRID!

- Lozil

8 Responses to “Mou Speaks About El Clasico”

  1. ana January 17, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    Mou is the absolute greatest!

  2. Forlond January 17, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    Dying at that entire paragraph. Love him when he is snarky with the press.

  3. Jenny January 17, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    I love Mou so much.

    Having a genuine celebrity for a coach is just endless joy!

  4. Tania January 17, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    I love this man but he said we couldn’t touch Cristiano and I would really love to touch that :) Sorry Mou but Imma have to go against your wishes :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 706 other followers

