So, What Are Boys Up To Today?

19 Apr

Sergio went – WAIT FOR IT – shopping. This lucky lady had her picture snapped with him. I think he finds retail therapy very soothing. I just find it stressful. Going out to dinner is soothing. A spa day is soothing. Cocktails are soothing. Shopping? Not so much. And I don’t even have people stopping me for photos and autographs every two feet like he does. Bless.

El Pirata doesn’t have time for such frivolous activities. He went to some sort of marketing seminar today and tweeted a photo. Sounds…fun.

Google Translate: “After training I went to “today is marketing” # hemesic in ifema.Congratulations to ESIC, great event. # halamadrid”

Cristiano tweeted a “making of” video for his latest BES Campaign. Here’s the version with English subtitles.

In case you haven’t seen the finished commercial, here it is along with English subtitles.

More later, I’m sure, but that seems it for the time being. I’ve got to go dig out stuff for my trip next week and buy screening for the parrot conservation sanctuary that I’m bringing supplies to Bonaire for. Long, long story – leave it to me to go on vacation and find a way to accidentally volunteer. But I couldn’t help it! When I saw this photo of a rescued baby parrot, just getting his feathers in and looking all mad ass pre-historic, I was well and truly smitten.

Adorable. Well, at least to me. The little parrot is bringing out my maternal side. He/she is an endangered Yellow-shouldered Amazon Parrot and will look like this as an adult. Cool, eh? If my trip to the elephant sanctuary in Thailand had to be postponed, I think this is a nice compromise.

- Lozil

9 Responses to “So, What Are Boys Up To Today?”

  1. lym April 19, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    I think it’s lovely how passionate you are! I’m sending you this link it’s from a project from the country where I live. http://www.copanmaya.org/index.php/projects/current
    Our national bird is the scarlet macaw but many people catch and sell it(smuggling). So this program is about nursing some of the macaws that have been recovered from these “pirates” and then relasing them out in the Copan Valley. (Mayan Ruins) which is a protected area. They fly freely and feed in the park. I was at the first release, it literally was tear-drop emotional. If you want pictures I can send them to you. Enough with the boring you. And back to the nail biting preparing for this week’s ” El Clasico”. I’m so nervous!! Hope you like the page.

    • headbandsandheartbreak April 19, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

      That’s so cool, Lym! I’d love to see pictures. Scarlet Macaws are gorgeous birds. The place that I’m bringing the supplies for recently rescued 112 parrots and parakeets that were illegally poached on Bonaire: http://www.echobonaire.org/Parrot_rescue/Save_112_parrot_chicks.html

      So you live in Honduras? I was thinking of going to the Bay Islands to do some snorkeling in the future. Have you ever been?

      • lym April 19, 2012 at 11:09 pm #

        I’m so glad you liked the site. I was actually in Roatan (bay islands) 2 weeks ago. Its really a cool place. I’d be soooo happy to help you with your travel plans (tell you which hotels are best, bars, snorkel spots) when you decide to come. And you must visit the Mayan City. The macaws live there freely, they are even standing in the entrance of the arqueological park because of how comfortable they feel. Let me get some pictures together of the first two releases and some pictures of the bay islands for you. Excuse my ignorance but to what email should I sent it to? Or do I just sent it through here? BTW HALA MADRID!!

        • headbandsandheartbreak April 19, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

          That’s so kind of you! I won’t be making another trip until probably closer to the end of the year after Bonaire. This year is all topsy turvy. I’ll probably be job hunting, etc. now that I’ve got another degree but when I’m ready for Honduras, I will definitely hit you up for more info! You can always write to me at the address on the About Us page which is hbandshbreak@gmail.com

  2. em April 19, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    I am so stoked you are going to Bonaire and helping parrot conservation! Parrots are one of the many things I am passionate about. I have had several, including macaws like Lym describes. Mine were domestically born hand raised chicks who received love and kisses from the day they were born. Smuggled wild-caught birds are completely different. It’s a sad life for them. The parrots of Bonaire have even more complex circumstances than the illegal pet trade impacting their survival, like loss of habitat and competition from introduced species. Captive breeding programs have rescued several Caribbean island Amazon parrot species from the brink of extinction – Bahamian, Cuban, Puerto Rican, St Lucia, ST Vincent’s, and Imperial Amazons to name a few. Read more here http://www.birdlife.org/datazone/speciesfactsheet.php?id=1689 if you are interested in learning more. Volunteers are a vital link in the chain to preserving every endangered species, whether plant or animal. Thanks for stepping in to fill some important shoes and do have a great trip!!!
    omg I wrote a book.

    • headbandsandheartbreak April 19, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

      I kinda fell into this accidentally. I was definitely planning a visit to the donkey sanctuary there. They also have a huge flamingo preserve, but it’s not open to the public. I was reading a Bonaire blog looking for a few land-based things to do during the week when I’m not snorkeling and I saw that Echo Bonaire (www.echobonaire.org) was looking for someone to bring them some supplies – small stuff like no-pest strips to help them save on the astronomical shipping charges. So I thought “What the heck? I’ve got room in my suitcase.” So I dropped them a line and volunteered. I got emailing with the doctor who runs the program and he’s just lovely, so I offered to pick up a few other things. He so kindly offered to let me come out and help take care of parrots. :-) So I’ll probably spend a day out at the sanctuary. When I travel, I try to give something back because people have always been lovely to me wherever I’ve gone. So I usually make a donation of some sort to a local charity, whether it’s time, money or goods. To be honest, I don’t know much about parrots, but I’m interested to learn more. I’ve just been reading up on the parrots in Bonaire and it’s really fascinating. Thanks so much for the link!

      • jellyace April 20, 2012 at 11:04 am #

        Bravo to you! That is such a great attitude! I hope your trip brings lots of wonderful experiences!

  3. black widow April 19, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    what a lovely, lovely thing to do. :)

    i have to say, when i read the headline and scrolled down to see sergio at the mall, yet again, i actually laughed out loud. i guess one can never have too many belt buckles and multi-coloured scarves …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 697 other followers

