Party In Madrid

21 Apr

After a restorative nap aka “drunken face plant on my bed after the match” I’m awake and ready to celebrate with a hearty HALA MADRID! Sergio tweeted this picture from the locker room. I love Pirata, Calleti and Sergio’s commitment to being photographed half naked. Much appreciated, gentlemen! He said “Three points that feel like glory. Now more work. Hala Madrid!

He also tweeted this shot and said “Good night all of you. Now to rest and think about Bayern. A great photo with “The Marshal.” Vamos!”

He wasn’t the only one who took to Twitter.  Cristiano posted this shot with his ever present buddies Marcelo and Pepe and said “Mission accomplished. Thank you for the support today on our win against Barcelona.” I see your ear in the background, Mesut!

Snarkmaster Xabi Alonso posted this shot from the Camp Nou and said “Relaxing and listening to Belle & Sebastian” The song was Another Sunny Day. Cheeky fucker. I love him.

Here are a couple of beautiful shots from the match that I can’t resist posting. I’m just so in love with our boys tonight!

Meanwhile back in Madrid, the fans were going nuts driving around Cibeles, waving flags and chanting, filled with excitement (can you blame them?!) Cibeles shots from @RMadridInfo

When the boys got back home, over 600 fans were waiting for them at Barajas Airport to welcome them as heroes. People were going nuts.

This looks so ominous doesn't it? A lit up EBB with the team staring out...

Here are three videos of the fans waiting at the airport. I admire their ability to get their arses to the airp0rt. I could barely make it the three blocks from the pub. I was just completely drained of energy and emotionally wiped. They must be running on pure adrenalin.

And finally, this tweet cracked me up. I’m not trying to be petty, but I do take a bit of pleasure in wiping the smug condescending smirks off some people’s faces. Now please understand, I’m not saying every cule is a total dick because that’s not true at all, but there’s a few folks I personally know who are truly humorless about their team and pretty darn nasty when it comes to bashing my team to my face, so I must admit, I’m gloating a wee bit today.

But consolations must go out to our watishista bi-teamuals and cules who are suffering today. We well know how it feels to be in your position. Please know that we love you, but we’re going to be whooping it up here pretty hardcore for a few days, so we understand if you’re avoiding us. xo

- Lozil

10 Responses to “Party In Madrid”

  1. Kait April 21, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

    I think the best shot is the flying Iker hug. I really wish I could be on the end of one of those. Especially after the stress from today. I ran around my house and yelled after Ronaldo scored the winner. Then I prayed to the footie gods that the score would hold. I think I ought to go to Madrid to get me that Iker hug. I don’t think he’ll mind terribly hugging a random fan today. . .right?

    • headbandsandheartbreak April 21, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

      That shot is fantastic – I squealed when I saw it! Such a great photo. I can’t see how he could deny any of us today. Let’s go! ::grabs passport::

      • Laurean April 22, 2012 at 12:22 am #

        As great and emotional as that shot was, I’m happy to see the SerIker shot that came after it. It feels like it’s since the World Cup we haven’t seen some proper love from those two :)

  2. Flora April 21, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

    This game put me in tears! I’m so glad we won!

  3. black widow April 22, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    still beaming. still euphoric. still reliving it, nearly 12 hours later. hala madrid!! (and OMG, the flyingikertackle is a glorious, glorious thing!!!!)

  4. Rose April 22, 2012 at 2:17 am #

    Only Xabi would go out into the stands and then tweet something like that. Keep on with the classy snark El Mariscal.

    And my goodness I can’t wait for what Cibeles will be like in a few weeks.

  5. Anna Buena April 22, 2012 at 3:02 am #

    I am still wearing a big smile! I was so emotional after the game. I wanted to go to every bar that showed the game and hug all the other Madridistas celebrating and also show off my shirt to the cules. They do that to us too when they win, but last night….It was out turn!!!!

    So darn proud of my team! Hala Madrid!

  6. M April 22, 2012 at 5:27 am #

    HALA MADRID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I STILL CAN’T STOP GRINNING!!!!!!

  7. sweethearthalo April 22, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    I want to have this amaysing red car please! :D And the EBB looks even more evil there. Must be celebrating as well. And Marcelo’s smile .. awh.

  8. kfunk22 April 22, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    oh xabi. of course you’d be relaxing in the stands at camp nou, listening to belle and sebastian.
    god, it’s been so long since we won against barcelona without resorting to theatrics or violence. i’d forgotten how good this feels! hurrah! hala! what a great game. what a great league campaign.
    now, if only we can carry this over to tuesday at the bernabeu when we take on bayern. i feel it in my bones this year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 663 other followers

