Zizou Joins Training, Presser Translation/Video, Clinic Video, Worst Promo Ever?

12 May

Oooh! Look who dusted off his boots and joined training today! You know that had to be a thrill for the players. Zizou is an idol and role model for so many of them. Such a gorgeous player in every sense of the word.

The French Connection

I’ll take Double A proximity wherever I can get it!

Watching intently for tips on how to be the baddest, boldest & baldest on the pitch

They’ve grafted Karim’s head on to Cris to create a super striker!!

Here’s a translation from the RM website from Mou’s presser today. Still not sure why he was singing “Karanka is Portuguese” though.

Mourinho: “We’ve had a very good season and I believe it is impossible to improve on our numbers”
by Diego Jabalquinto / Translation by Michael J. O’Donnell

“We will give a serious performance against Mallorca and we want the crowd to have fun”


Jose Mourinho was accompanied by his staff in the press conference ahead of the clash with Mallorca.


Jose Mourinho
“We’re all here today because we all work on the team. There are others who aren’t here today that have also been part of a coaching staff that has given its all to help the players achieve success. We’ve all won and lost together. I said we would all either laugh or cry together in the end and we’ve eventually laughed because things went our way.”

“I think we’ve had a very good season. We’ve grown as a team and as a group of people. We want to do better and improve. We’ve established difficult records and won the most important title. We’ve also been in the Champions League semifinals a second straight year, which means we’re strong there also. We also had great respect for the Copa del Rey. We fought for the title. It’s been a very good season and I believe it is impossible to improve on our numbers. We want to win the league title again next season, but we know it will be very difficult to earn these numbers again.”

“I would give the team as a whole a nine out of ten, but I would award some players a ten. I think it will be very difficult to improve on our performance level next year. Even though there are some who say there is only one way of playing football, I believe there are many ways, and I think no one plays ours like we do. We will add qualities to make the team stronger and we will also work on psychology. It isn’t easy to do better in the Champions League, but it’s possible, so we’ll try. We don’t want or need a new squad. Two players will suffice to make the team stronger.”

“Regarding the departure of players, I can’t even guarantee I’ll be here next year; maybe we play a horrible game tomorrow and the President fires me. I’ve thanked all my men, but football has these things. They all worked towards winning the title and my way of thanking them is to welcome all of them back next season.”

“We want to give a serious performance against Mallorca and enjoy ourselves. It would be great to add taking 100 points to our list of records this year, but we just want the fans to have fun.”

“There’ll be nothing to do if someone pays Higuain’s rescission clause. Everyone knows I’d like him to stay, but that’s what clauses are for. Gonzalo is one of the best centre forwards in the world.”

“I believe all my men have worked towards winning the title and Kaka is one of them. He’s been decisive in some games and he’s also given less positive performances, but he’s had a great season overall. My opinion regarding Carvalho is that he is too good not to be a starter. He’s won the league title in Portugal, England and Spain with me and we’ll decide what’s best for him.”

“Adan has one of the greatest potentials of our younger players and he gives both the team and Casillas guarantees.”

Jose Morais
“Football is a modality in which knowing your opponent gives you a chance to reduce unpredictability and to improve on the score.”

Rui Faria
“Regarding being sent off on occasion this season, I can say I’ve always defended the interests of this team. What’s past is past. We have to look to the future and enjoy the great season we’ve had.”

Silvino Louro
“Adan is a very good goalkeeper who has a bright future ahead of him. We’re delighted with him and he works better each day. He’s been in good form in every game he’s played and I hope he stays with us.”

Aitor Karanka
“The title is the reward for our efforts all year and celebrating at a whitened Bernabeu will be beautiful. I’ve done so as a player and we’ll be with our supporters to the end.”

There was also some video footage from the clinics that happened on Thursday. I have to hand it to that one little girl double thumbs upping it next to a sprawled out Pipita. That’s a future watishista for you right there!

Even though the video is in Spanish, it’s still fun to watch for the non-Spanish speaker. El Pirata looks delicious and I love Arbeloa’s deep unexpected honk of a voice every time I hear him speak.

Finally, RM made an English video version of the “Wear the White Shirt” campaign and it’s just wretched. There are some odd moments: the music swelling majestically as Sergio throws his head back, arms out as if he’s about to ascend into Heaven (which I imagine for him is a mall populated with Gucci, D Squared & Louis Vuitton stores), Iker’s completely overdone pointing gesture, a camera zoom issue that allows us direct access to Sergio’s nose and Cris’s terrifying grin which could have only been learned in apprenticeship from Kaka. Oy.

Boy, am I going to miss the Real Madrid photographers and marketing department until the pre-season. What will I do without my daily dose of “WTF?!”

- Lozil

2 Responses to “Zizou Joins Training, Presser Translation/Video, Clinic Video, Worst Promo Ever?”

  1. maisoun May 12, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Ha! Naughty Altintop!! Why ya teachin’ Sese that hand gesture?? That’s exactly the pose I caught my sister making throughout her wedding reception :P

  2. Akemi May 12, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Can you imagine if Karanka also joined in as a player? My head would explode.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 663 other followers

