Bits & Bobs: More Kuwait, The Return Of Mr. Green Jeans & Other Social Media Fun

17 May

GF Sports had some other good shots from Kuwait. Here’s Pipa looking scrumptious and that must be Albiol’s arm next to him. He tweeted today that he was going to be back in Argentina tomorrow and sent kisses to everyone. Can’t wait to see him on June 9th!

Here’s Sergio getting a hose down from a friendly groundskeeper. I hear the heat was brutal. Funny, but I need a cold shower when I’m around this team too.

Here’s a picture of Sabah Al-Ahmad, a member of the Kuwaiti royal family  wearing the new RM uniform at the match yesterday. I’m guessing it must be official, because I’m doubting he ordered bootleg shiz off of Ebay.

I like it. I also like the fact that there doesn’t seem to be giant underarm sweat pockets like this season’s jersey had.

Now for some social media fun time! @camilotrejog and @carlosnaharrog tweeted the following pictures of Sergio in those green jeans and that Brando t-shirt.

And speaking of The Ramos, here’s a cute cartoon that shows them leaving him behind for the celebrations to make sure that the Liga Trophy doesn’t get broken. If anyone can find a bigger version of this, I would love it.

Isn’t it great how they got the tiny details in there:  Arbeloa with  the Raul 7 scarf, Pipa with his scarf on his head, Kaka’s eyebrows?

The Baby posted a picture of himself with Lass in Kuwait. He’s so freaking tall (and Lass is so wee)!

Iker posted two shots. First, one of El Pirata and Oscar Ribot discussing how great the trip was.

In the second, it shows Albiol. Iker said that Albiol was already checking NBA stats at 6:35 AM. That explains why Albiol has been going on about the Celtics on Twitter. He also was yammering about Pipita’s stunt yesterday and how funny he thought it was that everyone (Security, media, fans, etc.) believed that Pipa really walked into the door. He said that Pipa had done it several times on purpose in the hotel and was a really good actor. See? What did I tell you? He’s in the “every little thing he does is magic” phase.

El Pirata got his Instagram on. I missed this shot from the celebrations the other day.

He apparently is also at a bullfight which for some reason surprised me. It wouldn’t seem to be his thing. But if I’m reading the live blog of the bullfight correctly, Iker is also there. Pirata posted this with the caption ” Castella, Manzanares y Talavante en Las Ventas

So how’s about a little rundown of the upcoming international action our boys will be partaking in?

MAY 24 

Turkey (Sahin & Altintop) vs. Georgia

MAY 26 

Portugal (Pepe, Cris, Fabio) vs. Macedonia
Germany (Mesut & Sami) vs. Switzerland
Spain (Iker, Sergio, Xabi, Double As) vs.  Serbia
Brazil (Marcelo) vs.  Denmark
Turkey vs. Finland

MAY 27 

France (Benzema) vs. Iceland

MAY 29 

Turkey vs. Bulgaria

MAY 30

Spain vs. Korea
Brazil vs. USA

MAY 31

Germany vs. Israel
France vs.  Serbia

JUNE 2 

Portugal vs. Turkey
Argentina (Pipita & Di Maria) vs. Ecuador
France U-21 (Varane) vs. Latvia

JUNE 3

Spain vs. China
Brazil vs. Mexico

JUNE 5

Turkey vs. Ukraine
France vs. Estonia

JUNE 8

France U-21 vs. Kazakhstan

JUNE 9 

Argentina vs. Brazil

I’m pretty darn excited because Shiggers, J-9 and I will be at the June 9th match. We’ll do our level best to convince Pipita to stay next season. Maybe we can play on his guilt by holding up a picture of a sad faced Albiol?

But before the international party kicks off, it’s the Champions League final this weekend (as well as the birthday party of watishista P – happy birthday, girl!).

Here’s a little Nando yumminess (courtesy of sportyou.es). Who is everyone rooting for?

And finally, Maisougio found these adorable coconuts that appear to be wearing headbands. She thinks we should Sergio-fy one of them by adding hair. I think we should make one Sergio and the other a revolving headband wearing guest star (Mesut? Sami? Nando? Zlatan?). They could be HB & HB’s own version of Statler and Waldorf. What say you? Have we lost our ever loving minds?!

And finally, happy birthday to the ever delicious Mikel Alonso, Xabi’s big brother who turned 31 yesterday. Feliz cumpleaños!

- Lozil

26 Responses to “Bits & Bobs: More Kuwait, The Return Of Mr. Green Jeans & Other Social Media Fun”

  1. Mandi May 17, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    I need to ask, where is the June 9th match? I might scream if it’s in NYC. I just booked a flight for that day…

    • SierraGutierrez May 17, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

      Isn”t that the one in Yankee stadium? :)

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

      The match is at Met Life Stadium in NJ. The tickets went on sale in February and it’s been sold out for ages. http://headbandsandheartbreak.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/brazil-vs-argentina-tickets-go-on-sale/

      However, there is an Argentina open practice on June 7th at Red Bull Arena that you could buy tickets to. http://headbandsandheartbreak.wordpress.com/2012/05/10/argentina-to-hold-open-practice-june-7-at-red-bull-arena/

      The game Sierra is mentioning is a proposed Real Madrid match in Yankee Stadium on August 8, but it hasn’t been confirmed yet.

      • Mandi May 17, 2012 at 9:07 pm #

        Dang it. I fly in on the 9th in the afternoon. I was going to celebrate my good random luck but I guess I’ll have to drag my brother to bar to watch instead.
        I’m hoping they’ll confirm or deny that soon. I’ll be moved up there by then and am really hoping to get to go see Real Madrid again this year.

        • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

          Well, I would check either Craigslist or Stubhub to see if you can find tickets to the match which starts at 3 PM. It’s easy to get to from NYC – very short train ride on the PATH – about 25 minutes. I live in Brooklyn and I’m going to the match.

          • Jen May 22, 2012 at 1:24 am #

            what!?! you live in brooklyn?? i do too! how lucky we are to have your brilliance in our midst! can i ask — do you have a favorite place to watch spain play? for the last world cup i watched mostly at 200 fifth, slainte (on bowery) and a few random places in bk.

            • Jen May 22, 2012 at 1:26 am #

              ps – if you’re looking for a likeminded girl to watch with, we should totally meet up! my friends usually think i’m crazy when we watch cos i’m so much more into it than they are.. it’s kinda boring to watch with people who aren’t as into it.

            • headbandsandheartbreak May 23, 2012 at 11:24 am #

              Hey there – Yay! Another Brooklynite! I’m in South Slope. How about you? Shoot me an email at the HB/HB account (on the About Us page) and we can talk about our fave haunts. As the rest of my crew will tell you, I tend to only grunt or yell at the screen during matches. Apparently the only things I respond to are requests for stats or assessment of the game and the following questions: “Do you need another beer?” or “Should we order you some mozzarella sticks/chicken wings?” Everything else must wait until the half. ;-)

      • black widow May 17, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

        i wish they would hurry up and either confirm or deny that NYC match officially. my entire summer vacation plans are hinging on it!

  2. SierraGutierrez May 17, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    Those coconuts are wonderful – you have so not lost your minds! :D Well, maybe.. but insanity is beautiful! XD

    Seriously though, Zlatan? That coconut is not bitchin’ enough! ;)

    I can’t wait for some of these matches!!! And you all need sad Albiol masks, and Pipita Quedate signs! I mean, what could be more effective than 1 sad Albiol picture? Hmm, 3 sad Albiols?

    Seriously though, *if* he were to go to PSG, I would console my self with the thoughts “Oh hey, I now have a French team to add to my collection!” and “OMG! From my house it takes exactly 4 hours to get to Paris!” I mean, 2 hours to Eurostation £15 by bus, 2 hours there to Paris £50 return – I know what I’d get for Christmas! ;)

    But Pipita, if how sad you will make Albiol won’t persuade you to stay, how about the fact he will need comforting? And Alvie will be there to lend a shoulder to cry on? Jealousy will get you to stay if nothing else! XD

  3. Lukas May 17, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    The picture of them on the bus together! :D http://i46.tinypic.com/2rco8au.jpg

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 17, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      Oh thank you so much! It’s even better that I can see the detail now. :-) Karim’s little turban of scarves like he wore for the CDR, Lil’ Pirata, etc. Adorbs!

      • black widow May 17, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

        is that … iker? the very first one one the left, in the black shirt? i’m guessing so (he should have a captain’s armband!). he was the only one i couldn’t really place. this is absolutely adorable, though!

        • black widow May 17, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

          OMG, of course it’s iker — he has a thumbs up! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

          the level of attention to detail in this is PRICELESS. love it!

        • Madridista May 17, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

          I think the first one in the black tee is Mou. And Iker is probably the one right below the cup (behind Kaka)- he sort of has a moustache! I believe the players from left to right are: Mou, Pirata, CR7, Ozil, Benzema, Khedira(?), Pipata, Two brown haired guys I can’t quite make out- Kaka, Iker, DiMaria, Arbeoa and finally Marcelo! Any corrections and fill in the gaps will be appreciated!

          • black widow May 17, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

            oh yeah, i guess that could be mou! i just figured it was iker in his black kit (but you’re right — he wore the white jersey during the celebrations) and also because mou has grey/silver hair and that first one is a brunet. the one you think is iker, i thought was xabi.

            okay, i have the photo open and hmmm … here are my guesses:

            iker in black, then granero, then CR7 with the cap, then ozil with the eyes closed and finger pointing, then benzema with the arms folded and turbin, then altintop behind him (something about the expression in his eyes and his smile and beard makes me think it’s him?), then higuain with the other scarf around his head, then pepe pointing at sergio, then kaka with the smile and the mad eyes (shiggers … i get it! i see it here! hahaha!), then albiol(?) in the corner. behind di maria is xabi (with ginger beard?) and inside the cup is albiol with the raul scarf and of course marcelo sunshine. the only one i can’t figure out is the one pointing with both hands up in the air (although that could be xabi if the one next to him is actually iker).

            in the panel on the side of the bus, i think it’s di maria (you can see the number 22), khedira above the rest of them, hugging them, CR7 (again … you can kind of see a 7 on his shirt) and old “avatar eyes” himself, ozil.

            regardless of who they are, this is adorable! :)

    • sv May 18, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      they forgot xabi’s can of mahou!

      • headbandsandheartbreak May 18, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

        Hahaha! I was wondering where it was – I figured that would be the definitive way to tell which one was Xabi, don’t you think? :-D

      • Lukas May 18, 2012 at 1:13 pm #

        He should’ve definitely had it because he got so drunk xD

        OT, but does anyone know where to get Mahou outside of Europe/Spain? I’ve been searching all over the northeast US and can’t find anything that isn’t in NYC :\

        • headbandsandheartbreak May 18, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

          I was just about to say “NYC!” because I live there, but outside of NY, no. Maybe in restaurants featuring Spanish food?

          Did you see the Real Madrunk t-shirt with Xabi? If not, I can post the link again – it’s a post back around the time of the celebrations.

          • Lukas May 18, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

            I’m so bitter about NYC. I’m as far away from it as I can be while still being in the same state xD (in Buffalo).

            • headbandsandheartbreak May 18, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

              Aw! We’re not that bad. :-) I’m an Upstater born and bred myself (Syracuse). I have spent much time in your fair city.

  4. Maddi May 17, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    Oooooh I like the new shirt!! And the Sergio cartoon reminds me of this one: http://illustratedray.tumblr.com/post/12669848912/real-madrid-has-a-great-recipe-but-its-got-to#notes they’re both great!

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 18, 2012 at 12:04 am #

      Oooh! Thank you – I bookmarked that tumblr last year and then could never find where I put it! I *love* those illustrations – just fantastic. And the idea of illustrating Ray’s words is awesome. I keep hoping the artist will do a Mesut one.

    • black widow May 18, 2012 at 12:20 am #

      OH MY GOD! THAT SITE! BWAHAHAHAHAHA! that illustration! the look on little sergio’s face after dropping the cake! BAHAHAHAAH! whomever created this is a GENIUS. i’m the first to admit ray hudson drives me insane, but illustrating his ridiculousness makes me cackle with glee! thanks for linking to this!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 708 other followers

