Chelsea Celebration/Parade, Nando’s Future, David Luiz Never Fails To Amuse

20 May

The party raged on for Chelsea culminating in a big parade today where they got to show off the FA Cup and Ol’ Big Ears. First up, a few more pictures from last night.

“Remember when I said you were the hottest guy on the team? I meant it, Raul!”

Nando’s brother Israel with the CL medal

Nando and his friends with the CL trophy

There’s a great video here showing fans in the Spanish towns where Juanin & Nando grew up as well as the hometown of Mario Gomez’s father (Granada) watching the match yesterday.

The parade today was pretty raucous as one would imagine. It started off sedately as you can see in the first video but then picked up quite a bit. Of course, the commentators have to mention Sergio dropping the Copa Del Rey. It wouldn’t be a victory parade without bringing that up, now would it? ;-)  (Also yesterday, during the final, the commentator was mentioning Barca and Messi apropos of nothing – as per usual – and even one of the big Barca fans I was sitting near was like “STFU! They’re not playing! Enough already!” We were all talking about how it seems no one in the media can talk about a match, even a U11 game, without bringing up Barca/Messi somehow. We all found it rather exhausting, even the cules.)

They seemed to have a lot of fun on the bus and it degenerated into a big ol’ sing-a-thon including the song stylings of David Luiz, Nando, John Terry, etc. Don’t quit your day jobs, gentlemen. Just sayin’ (That’s Nando singing ‘We Are The Champions’ and it is BAD).

I love how David Luiz is always so completely batshit. However, more on that later. First up, some more pictures from the parade!

I love this kid & his family waiting for the parade. He looks possessed!

I love seeing Nando so happy and carefree. Journalist Guillem Balague interviewed him and for all Nando’s happiness, he talks about the dark times he had this season personally and professionally. He wants to talk to the club about his future. I can understand why he wouldn’t want to sit on the bench. He’s 28 – he wants to play. No one can fault him for that. So  a lot may be up in the air. I think much of it hinges on what happens with Drogba’s contract. It’s going to be interesting times at Chelsea, that’s for sure. Here’s the text of the interview:

FROM GUILLEMBALAGUE.COM

Fernando Torres on the Champions League Final and his season at Chelsea.
by Guillem Balague  

I caught up with Fernando Torres after the Champions League Final in Munich. I asked him about his thoughts on the game and his frustrating season at Stamford Bridge. I would appreciate that it if anybody uses any of of these quotes, they could please mention the source. Thanks.

This interview will also be published in Spanish in Diario AS.
Guillem – It´s been an incredible season considering that things haven´t gone exactly according to plan.

Fernando Torres – That´s what football is like, in the end what this season has taught me is that football is made from these moments, these special moments – a group of lucky people and sometimes you need a little bit of luck, and that is what the team has had.

G – Like for example, Drogba, who has scored 9 goals in 9 finals – to me that seems incredible.

FT – In the game against Napoli at home – it finished 3-1, I remember that goal-line clearance from Ashley Cole – if it had finished 4-1 we would have been out of the competition. We won that game, then went to the Nou Camp and it seemed to everyone that we were going to get beat 10-0. But with a bit of luck or hard work or whatever you want to call it….we got through to the final at Bayern Munich´s ground against Bayern Munich, in the 82nd minute we were 1-0 down, then we brought it level and it went to penalties. We went a goal behind at the start of the shoot-out and ended up winning. I think that is what this team has had, especially towards the end of the season, are some championship-winning moments – maybe we´ve been lucky, but maybe a bit of luck was what the team was lacking in Moscow.

G – And in the 82nd minute, you were a goal down, what was going through your head? Did you think that it was all over? Were you tired?

FT – No, no, we were thinking about winning. I think that what we needed today was to attack, I don´t think we did the right thing settling for 0-0 and they punished us with Muller´s goal. The thing that has made this team so great, that has made us beat Barcelona, Napoli, Benfica, has been the fact that we defended through attacking, and today we didn´t attack. We attacked during the last ten minutes and part of extra time which gave us chances, if not we´d have lost 1-0.

G – When you were brought on, you got involved, you ran for every ball.

FT – It´s contradictory because I feel like I´m at a peak moment in my career, with more desire and hunger than I´ve felt in a long time, but I´ve had to spend the final on the bench. It was a huge disappointment when I saw the line-up, perhaps the biggest disappointment in my life. I thought I would play in this game and I couldn´t imagine not doing so. But in the end I could participate and offer the team something. I´m really happy.

G – What have you learned this season?

FT – This season I have felt things that I never had before. I´ve felt like they treated me in a way that I didn´t expect, not in the way that was spoken of when they signed me. We´ve had a lot of talks and we´ll talk about my future at the end of the season because the role I´ve had this season is not for me, nor is it the one I expected to play when I came here. I´m not comfortable. A victory like this one against Munich does compensate, but I want them to tell me what is going to happen in the future. Football has been fair on us, on me. Now I do feel like football is worth it but I´ve been through a difficult time. The worst in my career. And I don´t want to go through it again.

G – And what does it depend on?

FT – I don´t know. There have been a lot of ups and downs, there´s been many times when I´ve felt lost, I wasn´t sure what to do. I felt like I didn´t know where I belonged. I´m eternally grateful to my family who have been by my side and also for the support of the owners who have stuck by me. And especially to the fans, if it hadn´t been for them this season I would have given up.

G – So, what would be the ideal situation for you next season?

FT – For someone to tell me what is going to happen and what sort of role I will have within the team, what my duties are, what they expect of me and then judge whether it is worth it.

G – Will we see you in Schruns, where the Spanish national team is heading this week?

FT – First London, where we´ll celebrate this win and then the next day Ibiza. I´ll be hoping to be on the list when it is announced on Monday. As I´ve said, I feel better than ever, hungrier than ever, but that´s what football is like – often, when you feel you´re at your best they don´t consider you.

G – In any case, you came to this club to win medals such as this one.

FT – Yeah, the European Championship, the World Cup, the Champions League…There´s a very important game for me, on an emotional level, against Atletico de Madrid in the European Supercup and I´m counting the days until then.

Here’s some video of Guillem Balague being interviewed and going into a bit more detail. I just hope Nando gets to a place – whether that is Chelsea or elsewhere – where he can play and get the service he needs. I want to see him fully recapture his form.

And finally, some more David Luiz. This guy is just all over the place – goofy, silly and just putting a smile on everyone’s face. He got Nando all fired up last night and climbing on the goal with him and the fun didn’t stop from there.

The capper of this whole fiesta has to be this interview with an insanely drunken David Luiz. Now you know what he’s normally like. Add booze. Oy. Watch till the end. The commentators are laughing their arses off.

::snort:: Oh David, never change! I can’t imagine what the world would be like without (as the dude behind me at the match called him) “The Hair Guy.” (All photos courtesy of daviniatorres9 and Daylife)

- Lozil

11 Responses to “Chelsea Celebration/Parade, Nando’s Future, David Luiz Never Fails To Amuse”

  1. Allison May 20, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    I don’t think he’s drunk, I think that’s just the way he is. And I L.O.V.E. him that way. :P

  2. black widow May 20, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    he’s like a happier, jollier version of slash with that hat on! i LOVE it! hahahahaha!

    and here’s hoping nando sorts it out, whether at chelsea or somewhere else that will appreciate him and let him get his groove back.

  3. jellyace May 20, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    Are David Luiz and Marcelo besties? They should be.

    • Anna May 21, 2012 at 5:44 am #

      hahaha i can’t imagine what it’s going to be like when they meet up for national duty!

  4. sweethearthalo May 21, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    As long as Rafael Benitez isn’t the new coach of Chelsea and Didier will be gone, I don’t see Fernando playing as much as he wants to.
    The thing is, it was pretty obvious since the beginning that Chelsea isn’t exactly what he needs. I mean yes, he wins trophies, now he has achieved everything but how much did he for this? Of course, the goal against Barcelona. But that’s it pretty much.
    I love him and that’s why it’s maybe better if he leaves for a team where he’s the only striker. Or he just stays at Chelsea, waiting for Didiers leaving.

    • lola May 21, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      i seem to recall a brace against genk and an assist to kalou against benfica too.

      • sweethearthalo May 21, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

        Of course. I’m absolutely fine with what he has done, I’m happy for him :) But poorly the rest of the world isn’t.

  5. SierraGutierrez May 21, 2012 at 5:25 am #

    I thought David was gonna pull an Iker on that reporter! O.O’
    “I love everybody! :D” – trys to lick reporter.

  6. April May 21, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    There’s some other video with an interview involving Mata and Torres, and David Luiz jumps in front of the camera yelling a couple of things in Spanish (I think… maybe Portuguese) and it is terrific. The interviewer has no real idea what to do and Mata and Torres just look like “there’s David Luiz, for ya!”

  7. Cosi May 23, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    So now that Drogs is leaving, here’s hoping Nando can keep himself in the amazing form he’s just got back!! Yeaaaaaahhhh!! I was at the parade on Sunday but was unlucky to be standing on the wrong side of the bus and didn’t get me a glimpse of Tormata. Damnit!!! :( Can send piccies though, if there are any watishitas of Gary Cahill and whoever was on the right side of the bus….. :P

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 23, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

      Hey Cosi! Send the pics on. We’d love to see them. Don’t be a stranger – we miss you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 696 other followers

