Bits and Bobs: Super Sub, Coolness, Pretty Parade, He Bangs The Drum, Juanin Tells All, DL Entertains, Nando At Atleti

23 May

Watishista Tali (aka sweethearthalo) is celebrating her birthday today! Happy birthday, girl! She sent me this cute clip yesterday.  It’s the retirement match for Vadim Evseev, held in Lokomotiv’s stadium in Moscow. Since he was retiring, he was subbed off for… his 5 year old son, who then came on to score a goal. It’s flat out adorable.  I love stuff like this.

I have some of Tali’s pictures from Real Madrid vs. Sevilla along with watishista Christine’s shots of the final match of the season and celebrations coming in the next few days. (Don’t want to post all the goodies at once!)

Xabi Alonso made me squeal with delight by posting this video of Dean Martin & Ricky Nelson singing “My Rifle, My Pony and Me” from the movie Rio Bravo.

Sheesh, Xabi. You could only be cooler if you grew wings and flew. I wouldn’t put that past you. Oh Pirata, you have much to learn, Young Grasshopper.

Speaking of uber-cool, Xabi’s other half, the beauteous Nagore tweeted a couple of shots from her upcoming spreads in Woman and Marie Claire.

Do you think those two ever look at each other and think “You know, it’s possible that we’re just too beautiful and perfect? It may be unfair to the others of the world. We’re giving them a complex.” Yeah, probably not, but maybe they should.

The Pretty Parade continues with yet another David Beckham commercial – this time he’s banging out Ode to Joy on the drums with a soccer ball. Don’t ask. Just watch and enjoy his chiseled good looks.

And now, a bit of Chelsea based news. Juanin reveals something that we never, ever needed to know about Nando in this video. For shame, boy! Let me have my fantasy!

To little Juan’s credit, he manages to make this confession absolutely adorkably sweet. Sigh.

What must it be like to be in David Luiz’s head? I sometimes wonder. Enjoy this clip of him being very silly (the camera smooths out after a short time). Even the police are cracking up.

And now, for a bit of Nando. He was in Madrid today and stopped by his old stomping grounds at Atleti. Some of the cantera boys posted shots of him on Twitter (@jorgeherraez7 and @jvizcaino8 via GF Sports)

I love how the first kid has to get a hand on Nando. I’d be the same way, but I’d probably have to be peeled off him.  Nando will be facing his beloved Atleti for the first time when Chelsea meets them in the Super Cup.

That’s going to be a bittersweet experience him for him no doubt. He’s Rojiblanco to the core. Poor bebe. Anyhow, just a few bits and bobs – enjoy!

- Lozil

9 Responses to “Bits and Bobs: Super Sub, Coolness, Pretty Parade, He Bangs The Drum, Juanin Tells All, DL Entertains, Nando At Atleti”

  1. Allison May 23, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    Ashley Cole called out Unibrow! I can never be bothered to remember his name, I just refer to him as Unibrow.

    And have I mentioned how much I adore David Luiz? More every day!

  2. black widow May 23, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    that russian video with the little kid scoring the goal actually made me cry with happy tears! SO adorable! i couldn’t stop grinning, i watched it about 5 times. i love how the goalie tried to “save” the ball — hahahahahahaha! fantastic. what a memory for that little guy! :) :) :)

    and that becks video was amazing. i don’t care if it was CGI or enhanced or trick shots or whatever, it was really cool. and, um, becks gets better looking with age, no?

    that chelsea video was cute, too. even though i’m a liverpool supporter, chelsea have a bit of my heart if for no other reason than mata/torres (and lamps, and drogba, and luiz …). speaking of david luiz, he is a bonafide, certified nutbar. i adore him for it!

  3. jellyace May 23, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Awww…that first video is so amazingly adorable! I love how the GK dives.

    • jellyace May 23, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

      Happy birthday, Tali! Good luck with the exams.

  4. April May 24, 2012 at 12:04 am #

    Thank you for posting that Chelsea video! I heard about it but hadn’t seen it. Of course, no one mentioned the feet, lol.

    And I now feel good about the world because Xabi likes Dean Martin- LOVE Dean Martin. Mr. Alonso… my first Spanish footballer man- you’re in a league all your own, sir.

    And the video of the little boy and the goal- I can’t. There are just too many cute baby things happening lately and my heart cannot handle it.

  5. em May 24, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    XAbi, Xabi XAbi… oh how you tease us so… I absolutely adore Dean Martin and his voice.
    That’s Amore!!! Rio Bravo is one of the great American classics. And Xabi is one of the great Spanish classics. It’s a natural fit.
    And how Ironic is it that John Terry pulled his own name out of that hat? Unbelievable..
    I laughed at the goalie’s dive, too. Precious.

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 24, 2012 at 10:27 am #

      I giggled so hard at all the attempted “tackles” on the kid. It was fabulous. It was such a sweet thing to do. It reminds me of the video/pix of Branislav Ivanoic and his son Stefan that we posted last year.

  6. sweethearthalo May 24, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    I forgot to write it yesterday. Thank you for the birthday wishes! :)

  7. Theresa May 24, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    That first video is AWWWWWWW.

    The “tackles” and an all out tackle on the defender, haha. So so cute!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 704 other followers

