The Euro 23

27 May

The list is out! VdB said he wished he could bring all his men to the Euros but….obviously he can’t, which leads to a little sadness. I think some maybe deserved to be on the list a little more than those who did, but let’s see who’s going.

Goalkeepers: Casillas, Valdes, Pepe Reina.

Defenders: Alba, Albiol, Arbeloa, Ramos, Juanfran, Pique, Javi Martinez.

Midfielders: Xavi, Iniesta, Busquets, Fabregas, Xabi, Silva, Cazorla, Navas, Mata.

Forwards: Llorente, Torres, Negredo, Pedro.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

The eight men cut are Adrian, Benat, Alvaro Dominguez, Isco, Javi Garcia, Nacho Monreal, Roberto Soldado and Bruno Soriano. So…as for the unlucky men that there is just no room for, it’s sad to see Soldado and Adrian go. Of course Adrian just made his debut yesterday, so it was a bit of wishful thinking for him to be taken along, but Soldado has proven in the past to be a very useful option when Torres wasn’t called up. I feel for Torres’ situation and I wish him the best, but he better know what an opportunity VdB has given him with this call up. Time to return to form bebe! I am glad Negredo made the cut, he’s capable of scoring for the team & I enjoy seeing him play.  Another lucky guy is Juanfran to be included in the defense, I didn’t notice him too much yesterday, but apparently he sealed a spot because the usual go-to man, Iraola, suffered an injury yesterday. I wish all the boys luck and I’m glad there are two more friendlies to be played that will allow them to work all the kinks out. I want to see Spain take another Euro!!! What do you guys think? Do you like this list or is Arbie & Albiol forced together, the most important thing? ;)

-Maisougio

 

30 Responses to “The Euro 23”

  1. Jenny May 27, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    Soldado must have killed his cat or run over his dog while they were still at Madrid together.

  2. jellyace May 27, 2012 at 10:22 am #

    It’s pretty much the same team except for replacements for Puyol and Villa. But I guess that’s coming from the “if it ain’t broke” philosophy. Soldado has just come out of injury, so maybe that’s why Negredo replaced him (secret yipee for me!).

    Too bad we won’t get to see more of the pretty faces of the newbies like Isco and Javi Garcia and even the houndog Benat. I hope that some of them will make it to the Olympic team.

    • maisoun May 27, 2012 at 10:55 am #

      VdB had said that Soldado is quicker, but Negredo is a better fit for the team or something like that. I hope the decision doesn’t come back and bite Spain in the ass…. I should never use Spain, bite, and ass in the same sentence….

      • drea May 27, 2012 at 11:23 am #

        Funny, because those exact 3 words always seem to come up when I talk about Nando. ;-)

  3. Rose May 27, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    Soldado had his chance yesterday to seal the deal and he just didn’t do anything. Not that I was super impressed with Negredo either cause he was only marginally better. Pedro picked a good time to start scoring again, and Nando is just starting to hit his stride as well. I feel bad, but VdB picked players that he’s spent time with and probably trusts, with the exception of Juanfran, and hey CONGRATS on being picked after your first call-up!!!! Juanfran I understand because he’s needed in defense, but there was always gonna be some controversy about the forwards. Should have probably been Iraola, who I really, really like, and am so disappointed that he’s injured. Oh and hey Raul, hey!!! So happy when he played the full game yesterday cause that boded well for his chances. The Double As better rediscover their bromance during this tourney!

    As for yesterday’s friendly, I was really impressed with Benat and Adrian (except for that dive). Isco didn’t get a look in and I was quite disappointed cause he’s, well, really hot. Pleased with the result considering what happened to all the other favorites for the Euros yesterday. Everyone’s “B” team couldn’t really cut it, but Spain still made it happen. I’m so encouraged by this. Onwards to the Euros! (Sorry for the essay :p)

    • April May 27, 2012 at 10:53 am #

      I pretty much agree with everything you have said. Words out of my mouth!

      • Rose May 27, 2012 at 11:24 am #

        Great minds think alike, haha!

  4. Kristen May 27, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    I don’t really understand how Pedro got into the list and I am iffy about Torres still. How Albiol is consistently on the call ups I will never understand. Del Bosque seems to go with personalities in the dressing room over possible reliable back ups too often. Here’s hoping Llorente leads the line this summer.

    • maisoun May 27, 2012 at 10:59 am #

      If it was Pedro’s performance yesterday that got him on the list, it seems a little unfair. Sure he scored for his club but the NT is much different. I keep thinking back to Soldado’s hat trick against Venezuela & think he should’ve taken either Pedro or Torres’ spot.

      • Rose May 27, 2012 at 11:22 am #

        I remember that HT, and how Xabi Alonso wrote on the match ball that Roberto had just sealed his place for the Euros. Oops! Maybe we found something Xabi’s not good at after all!

        • April May 27, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

          That’s right… oh man. Soldado’s never going to want to look at that ball again! If you’d asked me a couple of weeks ago, I would have said Soldado was sure to be on the list and it was between Torres and Negredo. But after some VDB statements in the press and the match yesterday, I knew it was between Soldado and Negredo. The latter didn’t look amazing by any means, but he at least looked like trying (which echoes VDB’s comments on the both of them). Who knows- there are still 2 days for things to change (not that I am wishing that to really happen).

          I feel bad for Soldado and Adrian, but more because I think they should have had chances to integrate with the team earlier on (Adrian was probably less likely, but Soldado was one people thought should go to friendlies for months). I actually thought Adrian stood a chance over Pedro, but figure VDB is looking for tried and tested players.

      • headbandsandheartbreak May 27, 2012 at 11:30 am #

        I agree. I’m completely gutted for Soldado. He should be there.

      • Kristen May 27, 2012 at 11:58 am #

        I have to think that Del Bosque has something against Soldado and Pedro’s performance Friday was the perfect excuse to bring him instead. Yes Soldado didn’t have the best game yesterday, but a few of them didn’t. Plus I think playing both Soldado and Negredo together didn’t help either of them.

        • Rose May 27, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

          He changed up their formation yesterday to include Negredo and Soldado, and I was like, “HUH?!” Both should still have done better in the end though.

    • Rose May 27, 2012 at 11:20 am #

      I kind of love that aspect of VdB though. His teams always seem very at ease and that’s probably why. He just needs for none of his preferred lineup to get injured, and hope that his forwards don’t hit a slump. Easier said than done. It’s still a damn good squad. As for Albiol, he’s a cross your fingers type of guy for me. You never know what you’ll get with him. I don’t see him playing very much anyway.

      • Kristen May 27, 2012 at 11:52 am #

        That midfield alone should scare the rest of the teams. I just worry about the front line. Soldado deserves to be there. I know that Albiol probably won’t play but the defense is slim already and it seems there should be back up you don’t worry about, but I can’t honestly think of who else would be called up since I don’t watch a lot of the Spanish league. I suppose injuries to two of Ramos, Pique, and Javi at the same time has a very small chance of happening.

        • Rose May 27, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

          Not enough options in defense, too many options in offense but none that are entirely convincing. And yes their midfield should be more than able to take care of business. I would love for Torres to do well in this tournament just to shut people up tbh. And this is why the Club World Cup sucks. WHY DAVEED WHY?!?!?!

  5. Maddi May 27, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    I don’t really like the list, but I’ll trust VDB’s judgment. The only thing is that I extremely dislike Negredo as a player (sure he’s a nice guy in real life) but good luck to him and everyone else, I guess.

  6. Cosi May 27, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Hmm, I’ll probably rock the watishita boat here, but… I have to say, I screamed when I read Nando’s name on the list!! I feel so sad for Soldado and Torres’ season was pretty bad, but I think Torres’ name still carries a lot of weight on the international level as a feared striker, and VDB must have taken that into a lot of consideration once David Villa was ruled out. Hopefully with some Sergio luv (and more Mata luv), we’ll have our El Nino back and ready for the NT!!

  7. black widow May 27, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    trying to keep an open mind about it all … i wonder if soldado’s not ‘fitting’ is more to do with his personality and less to do with his abilities? VdB is big on the group collective, which has obviously worked well for them in the past. what’s nice is that this is a diverse group representing many different teams and isn’t just dominated by the big two.

    i miss puyi and villa, and i think this formation is certainly one way to go to cover their absences, but only time will tell if it’s the *best* way to go. i hope the likes of nando and albiol are given the opportunity to play, and play well, to silence their detractors.

  8. Manie May 27, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Super disappointed about Soldado. It’s funny- I was never a huge fan, but had Torres lacked the history he has with the seleccion, I think it would have been soldado’s. Hopefully this pays off…until they meet Portugal :)

    • Cosi May 27, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

      I’m thinking that once Villa was confirmed to be out, VDB decided on including Torres. That’s just my feeling!

  9. em May 27, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    So, reading this a day later, I see that the initial list was way off. Most of the guys did make it in, like Javi Garcia, Adrian had a goal, Nacho was in, alternative rocker Benat was in, so definitely that list was off a wee bit. Don’t worry about Soldado. He will score, once they get the main guys back in form. This was one match, don’t guage form too soon. Watch how your man creates (or doesn’t…) angles and finds space. The touches come with time.

    • Anonymous May 27, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

      That list was just for the Serbia friendly pretty much since Barca and Athletic players could not be chosen because of the Copa final. People forgot about that and kind of freaked out when that first list was released.

    • Rose May 27, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      That first list was always going to be way off because VdB couldn’t pick any Barca or Athletic players because of the Copa final being played so late. People sort of freaked out when it was released having forgotten that. In the end there really weren’t a lot of genuine surprises in who was or wasn’t called up, except for Soldado and Juanfran.

    • Rose May 27, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      That Anonymous comment was mine btw, I thought I’d erased it by accident so I just resubmitted!

    • em May 27, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      You know, it would have helped if I had actually read the above article, huh? DUHHHHHHH!!!! nm

  10. Andrea May 27, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    I’m very bummed about Soldado…a few months ago, he just got called up for the first time in years AND scored a hat trick. But still nothing? That stings a little.

    And no Arbedado? My heart hurts… :-(

  11. Akemi May 27, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    Hmmmm, an El Clasico squad again. 9 have ties to Barca and 8 to Madrid. Forgive me for being hopeful but I really wanted Raul Gonzalez back on the Spain NT. I’m willing to forgive Nando for his poor form as long as he brings his bromance with Sergio back (sorry, fangirling over here) hahaha

  12. Natalie May 27, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    I think he wanted someone on the team to inspire. Usually it is Villa or Curly mo (Pyol) but they are out. Torres is there probably to do that job as it is his goal won them the euro last time. I do wish Soldado made the list, he scores for his team a lot. He should probably be there instead of Pedro. Also they seem to be a bit short on defenders. 6 in defence, 10 in middle field? not to even but then I do not manage the team

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 709 other followers

