Bits & Bobs: New Kit Update, Teenage Mesut, Alvaro’s Day Off, Stuff To Read, Stuff To Buy

31 May

Check this out – in certain light the new kit looks kinda purple or a really deep midnight blue but not grape like the 2010-2011 Champions League kit. Interesting.

Oh Calletti, if you are that skinny and have no hips, you cannot tuck your shirt in. You just can’t. You look like an ironing board (albeit a really hot one).

We may be seeing the new kits sooner than later as Marca is reporting that Real Madrid will begin it’s pre-season campaign v Moroccan champions Atletico Tetuan on July 24.

This picture of a teenaged Mesut with his classmates at the Bergerfeld School in Gelsenkirchen comes via @tosepower. I hope I never become famous because if I do, I’m going to have to collect and burn every high school yearbook photo that I ever appeared in.

Alvaro was enjoying a day off from the national team and he spent it with his wife, Carlota. He tweeted this gorgeous picture of her.

I think she is so gorgeous – naturally beautiful. He also tweeted a picture of a kid’s Spartan play set costume! Ha! Wonder if he’s going to add this to his collection of costumes? He’s got army, pilot, etc.   Of course, the mind goes to all sorts of filthy role play scenarios with that particular Spartan (said Albiol).

Sid Lowe has put up his annual Sid Awards – his complete review of the La Liga season. A great read as always.

Lots of new shirts to buy to support your favorite team in the Euros! Didi has these name shirts. Unfortunately the Spain, France and England shirts have players on them that aren’t going to be at the Euros (Soldado, Gourcuff and Lampard). Bummer.

Our beloved watishisto Peter has lots of national team based shirts at his Skreened shop too!

And while these shirts at the Hala Skreened shop aren’t Euros-centric, they’re awesome for the Madridistas among us!

All the shirts from Skreened (Peter & Hala’s) come in a variety of colors and sizes. Go forth and shop!

- Lozil

12 Responses to “Bits & Bobs: New Kit Update, Teenage Mesut, Alvaro’s Day Off, Stuff To Read, Stuff To Buy”

  1. Lizzie May 31, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

    omg Ozil :-D I have the biggest smile ever

    • Jenny June 1, 2012 at 10:29 am #

      I translated the feature that went with it

      http://crinkly-ears.livejournal.com/54354.html

      It is beyond-adorable. BB Mesut had a slightly obsessive personality, according to his teachers!

    • jellyace June 1, 2012 at 11:57 am #

      Ozil’s all blinged out for class photo day!

  2. mygypsyspirit June 1, 2012 at 12:03 am #

    Does Kaka’s inclusion in the ad mean he’s staying? That would make me a very VERY happy little ginger…

    • headbandsandheartbreak June 1, 2012 at 12:07 am #

      Happy you, unhappy Shiggers. I can’t win. ;-) Apparently, he’s been talking to people in Sao Paulo, but nothing is definitive. Just rumors.

      • mygypsyspirit June 1, 2012 at 12:11 am #

        I’ve prepared myself for his departure. Because of Mou’s “need” for defensive midfielders it’s rendered Kaka a bit useless just when he’s starting regaining form. It hurts me, but I’d almost rather see his talent used somewhere else.

        I love the new kits, btw… I’m completely sold. At least there’s no collar for Cristiano to pop…

    • Jenny June 1, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      I’d say his inclusion in the ad means he sells more shirts in the Asian market than anyone else (though he lags behind CR7 and Ozil world-wide) and they know that…

      • mygypsyspirit June 2, 2012 at 4:41 am #

        Oh I’m well aware that it’s not a sign. I just want it to be

  3. Allison June 1, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    OMG OMG OMG My little sunshine, Marcelo, on a bright yellow shirt! I must have it.

  4. dreamsequence June 1, 2012 at 2:17 am #

    I want the new jersey(ies)! And a shirt (or 4)! Oh, why am I not independently wealthy?

  5. Leora Conway RMNYC (@RealMadridNYC) June 1, 2012 at 6:25 am #

    I hope Kaka leaves because then the absolutely drop dead handsome (IMO) Lucas can come … Last night in Washington he looked delicious in the 10 minutes he played … ok maybe I shouldn’t melt while saying this but it was the first time I got to see him from a few feet away …

  6. jellyace June 2, 2012 at 2:18 am #

    I went to the adidas outlet store today, which is located right above the Nike outlet store, and is owned by the same company. I was hoping to find some 2011 RM shirts at deep discounts, but they told me that once the 2012 shirts come out, they will probably get the remainder of last season’s inventory. I hope they text me when the (old) stock comes in.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 705 other followers

