Bits & Bobs: Football, Turkey, A Pig, A Song & An Overenthusiastic Fan

5 Jun

I squealed when I saw Marcelo posing as a Rutgers football player. Too cute. David Luiz then tweeted more pictures of Brazil goofing around in New Jersey. 

I love how they’re trying to look all fierce.  Sorry boys! Not working. But what the hell is going on with the cardboard cutout? Looks like it’s got thunder thighs and a padded package.

Here’s a couple of shots of Hamit Altintop and Nuri Sahin playing on the Turkish National Team. They beat Ukraine 2-0 today.

Watishista Natalie found us another Euro 2012 song! This one is Poland’s official song: Koko Koko Euro spoko by Jarzębina.

You can find out more about how this ended up being the official song in this article on Dirty Tackle.

Meet Funtik the Psychic Pig. Funtik (gender unknown) lives in Kiev and joins the ranks of psychic animals that will predict the Euros. The pig doesn’t look particularly happy behind bars. :-(

And finally, actor Viggo Mortensen is such a passionate soccer fan (who knew?) that he caused a panic in an airport and was detained by the TSA. I bring along a netbook when I travel and it’s always chock full of matches that I need to keep up on. I have to restrain myself from shouting as well. Not to mention, I’ve startled seatmates with my gesturing. I feel you, Viggo.

- Lozil

7 Responses to “Bits & Bobs: Football, Turkey, A Pig, A Song & An Overenthusiastic Fan”

  1. Rose June 5, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    Ahhhhh! My Jersey girl heart just swelled a little seeing Marcelo posing in that Rutgers cutout. Love him and his new Instagram addiction.

  2. Forzasusan June 5, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    I heart Viggo even more now!!

  3. Jen June 6, 2012 at 12:29 am #

    Does anyone know anything in regards to Brazil’s schedule while they’re here? Or Argentina’s for that matter? I can’t believe the Brazilians were at Rutgers today! That’s so close to my house and I used to hang out in New Brunswick all the time when I was in college.

  4. Lana June 7, 2012 at 3:13 am #

    Yay! My alma mater

  5. tytheman June 12, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    My dad went to rutgers, very weird seeing marcelo behind a cutout, and the tunderthighs are from pads players are required to wear.

    • headbandsandheartbreak June 12, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

      Oh, I know about the padding (I’m American) but I just thought this look *extra* padded. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 664 other followers

