READ THIS: Got A Poland, Spain, Germany, Russia, Ukraine, Italy, France, Holland or Portugal Euro 2012 Jersey?

6 Jun

Oh boy, looks like a warning has been issued for these official kits by the European Consumers’ Organisation (BEUC) because of “worrying” levels of chemicals and in some cases, over the legal limit for lead. Um, I own two of these kits. Hooray for me. Read more about it here and here. Read both articles. It’s no joke, y’all. WTF?! These are jerseys made by Adidas, Nike & Puma.  If you kill us, arseholes, we can’t buy your products. Did that ever occur to you? I guess the jerseys are so ridiculously overpriced because they come with extra added lead poisoning. Gee, thanks. Guess I’ll only be wearing that Ozil jersey over something and for a very short time. Same for the Spain jersey.  Sheesh. It’s enough to make you glad to buy the cheap knock offs on Ebay. If I’m going to get chemical poisoning, might as well not pay top dollar for the “privilege.”

- Lozil

15 Responses to “READ THIS: Got A Poland, Spain, Germany, Russia, Ukraine, Italy, France, Holland or Portugal Euro 2012 Jersey?”

  1. Allison June 6, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

    That is insane! I don’t even know how that happens. What the hell do they make these shirts with?! And from big name companies. Shameful.

  2. Vanessa June 6, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    OMG!!! yeah might as well go for the knock-off, hold the lead

  3. Lena June 6, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    I was actually going to buy my Spain one tonight but now I am definitely reconsidering that. I can’t believe Nike, Adidas, and Puma got away with this.

    • headbandsandheartbreak June 6, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

      I know, right? I guess it’s a case of “excessive exposure” but seriously, WTF? How do you know what “excessive” is? And what about giving them to kids? How the hell can they do this?

      • Lena June 6, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

        Yeah this is seriously ridiculous. I do hope that BEUC gets the ball rolling on this and the legislation they want passed will actually get passed.

  4. dreamsequence June 6, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Fuck! I JUST ordered my ladies Özil home jersey. I wonder if it’s the ladies one is also trying to kill us with unhealthy levels of lead :/ As a note, the World Soccer Shop “hasn’t heard anything about it” and is really not that helpful.

    • headbandsandheartbreak June 6, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

      I’m thinking if it’s in one jersey, it’s in them all. Again, this is about “excessive exposure” so I’m going to try to limit my wearing of the damn things, but I already bought them and can’t return them. I’m PISSED. I wonder how many of the bazillion other kits I own have the same issues?!

      • dreamsequence June 6, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

        I canceled the order :( I wanted it so badly, but in the end, I suppose it is not worth the risk if I don’t already have it, right?

        • headbandsandheartbreak June 6, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

          Heck, buy a knock off. Cheaper and perhaps with less contaminants. They’re not going to waste money on the good chemicals to keep you from sweating balls like the big boys will. Those babies be straight up polyester. Never thought I’d see the day I’d be so happy about that. ;-)

          • dreamsequence June 6, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

            Now I just worry this is also going to be an issue with the new RM jersey. I was about to order one of those as well.

          • dreamsequence June 7, 2012 at 1:36 am #

            Also, I hope that they are not poisoning our lovelies out there. Lead poisoning might explain dear Sergio’s hair styling decisions though…

  5. Christine June 7, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    WTF?!? I was thinking about buying a new spain jersey, but right now I’m happy that I still have my old one of 2008. No star but also no chemicals ;-) But still it’s unbelievable!!!

  6. jellyace June 7, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    My kid just gave me her Torres 9 Spain jersey which she bought just after the WC so it has the estrella. I hope it will be OK; they didn’t test older jerseys. I wonder if washing the shirts makes them less toxic (but adds toxins into the waste water). Ay!

    And of course, I am relieved that Torres made it to the squad.

  7. April June 7, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    Wait- is this just the replicas? Or is this also the case for players’ jerseys themselves? I’d also prefer my footballers not to have any issues, you know, since they wear them most all the time- crazy stuff.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 704 other followers

