Here We Go! Spain vs Italy!

10 Jun

Ah, I know, I know, a picture of an empty stadium and no pretty mens. But look at the sky, it’s a beautiful day for a match! Ok, the goodies will be coming at ya after the match, which kicks off in less than 45 min. Here are the lineups.

Italy

Buffon; Bonuccci, De Rossi, Chiellini; Maggio, Motta, Pirlo, Marchisio, Giaccherini; Cassano, Balotelli

Spain:

Casillas; Arbeloa, Sergio Ramos, Pique, Jordi Alba; Busquets, Xabi Alonso, Xavi; Silva, Iniesta, Cesc Fabregas.

 

Hmmm…no Negredo, Llorente, or Torres. I’m still dying to know which one of the three is VdB’s top pick, I guess we’ll have to wait a little longer to find out, until we see whoever is subbed in first.

VAMOS ESPANA!!!

-Maisougio

 

36 Responses to “Here We Go! Spain vs Italy!”

  1. Kristen June 10, 2012 at 11:26 am #

    So Del Bosque brings three forwards and then plays none. I really don’t get this line-up. It worked ok against Scotland , but Italy is no Scotland. Here’s hoping Silva scores a hat-trick.

    • maisoun June 10, 2012 at 11:43 am #

      Maybe VdB is trying to give Italy a WTF moment with this lineup, it’s working for us. I hope it doesn’t backfire.

  2. Anna June 10, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    putting cesc in baffles me really, but then VDB is obviously much better at this than i am! i would have expected one of the strikers…

    • maisoun June 10, 2012 at 11:42 am #

      I was confused by the choice of Cesc as well…one of the reasons I was so excited about this match was that I thought we were finally going to see Llorente play. I don’t like the lineup but I hope it works. The little magic men, silva & iniesta, can make anything happen.

  3. Akemi June 10, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    Torres was supposed to be in the line up as initially planned. It’s probably to take the pressure off the players. Though I’m still wondering why VdB chose not using a true center forward for this game. It might be his strategy, idk…

  4. black widow June 10, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    am nervous that we don’t have any strikers in the starting XI. this is ITALY, for chrissake. but i am going to put my trust in VdB and know that we’re the best in the world for a reason … viva espana! vamooooooooos!

  5. Naomi June 10, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Right now I kind of hope Italy wins to shut Cesc and Xavi up honestly. They’re being so conceited and Xavi just said shit about Real a couple of days ago. But then again I don’t really care about this game because I’m a German fan <3 but still these Barca players (especially Xavi) need to stop bringing the Clasico rivalry in this because Real players have said nothing about Barcelona during the Euros.

    • maisoun June 10, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

      Xavi will always run his mouth, no matter what!

      • Naomi June 10, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

        Such a quality player, such an immature man. But the tie was definitely the fairest result.

  6. number1barcachick June 10, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Maisougio ramos has never looked sexier than he does today man <3

    • Anna June 10, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

      am i imagining it, or did pepe reina spank him when he was walking off at half time after he high fived him? i can’t blame him

      • maisoun June 10, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

        How did I miss that??? I’ll have to search for gifs later!

        • headbandsandheartbreak June 10, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

          We need to find a gif of Cesc’s slo month O face as well!

          • black widow June 10, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

            i saw that and immediately thought, oh man, someone is going to have fun captioning that as a .gif! hahaha!

            • Anna June 10, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

              i hope one shows up because i can’t find any!!
              i know this isn’t relevant, but i just found this and i can’t not laugh every time i see it:

              • headbandsandheartbreak June 10, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

                I saw that earlier and was going to put it in a post tonight! LOL!

                • jellyace June 11, 2012 at 12:31 am #

                  You must post this!

              • maisoun June 10, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

                Holy shit there’s so much to comment on in that pic idk where to start!! XD

              • black widow June 10, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

                oh, benz. i love the pose. that photo is BRILLIANT.

              • Rose June 10, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

                AHAHAHA, I can’t stop laughing. Supermodel work right thurr

      • Cosi June 10, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

        Haha totally spotted that! so funny!

    • maisoun June 10, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      I wouldn’t go that far haha :P but he does look pretty good! The trim is working for him today!! I don’t even miss the headband!….ok that’s a lie.

      That was the most frustrating half ever! Can we get a 9 in there??? All I gotta say is SAN IKERRRRRRRRR!

  7. black widow June 10, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    thank god for san iker, although that italy goal killed me because iker was waaay out of his box. i feel like if he hadn’t advanced as much, he could have saved that. you could see how pissed he was afterwards, too. my heart broke for him.

    i am selfishly hoping ireland and croatia stay tied at 1:1 so that all four teams in this group will have a level playing field!

  8. April June 10, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

    So Torres has a new tattoo… I wonder if Sergio has any new ones and got them with him or anything.

    • headbandsandheartbreak June 10, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      What’s the new tat? I thought the last one was the Leo tat?

      • April June 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

        It’s under his elvish one… it’s smaller. Latin for “After the clouds, the sun” or something. you can see it in some pics from the game:

        • Cosi June 10, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

          ahh nice! any other pix of it? my eyesight’s too lame to see what it says….

          • Cosi June 10, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

            just found a major close up pic of the new tattoo, via http://fuckyeahfernando-torres.tumblr.com! The exact Latin phrase is ‘post nubila, Phoebus’.

          • April June 10, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

            He’s had it for some days, too. Goes to show how much it blends in with the other, because I didn’t notice it until someone pointed it out to me. Not that I’m checking up on him and the Spain NT like every day or anything. Not at all. ;)

  9. Cosi June 10, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    Just dragged my ass back home from the pub after drowning my disappointment in beer (and rain). Damnit, Nando’s under fire from eeeeeeveryone now. People, is it his fault he doesn’t play regularly with Barcelona and their weird formation? SO aggravating.

    I was pissed off about the no striker thing during the game, but I guess listening to VDB afterwards.. i guess it made some sense to try it out against one of the ‘big’ teams. They just weren’t following through. AGONIZING…..

    AND I just can’t get used to Sergio’s hair. Hate to admit it, but I was confusing Sergio with Pique out there today. AHH!! if only he could just wear the headband, even if it’s for no reason…. we need your headband baaaaaaack!!!!

    • April June 10, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Agree- I wasn’t totally shocked he was trying that formation, as much as I was that he kept it on after the half, when there were several good chances totally thwarted by the lack of a shot (Iniesta was trying). And Torres coming up once the defense was a bit tired wasn’t a bad idea. He could have done better in the first opportunity- he picked the wrong direction to run, or he should have just taken the shot. The chip opportunity wasnt bad to me- it was close and had it gone in, the commentators would have been hailing his return or some crap. They can only respond on polar extremes- no sort of middle ground with him.

  10. tasha June 11, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    I was rally shocked that we (spain) drew I think if fer palyed earlier he would hav scored becoz there were so many tyms he got me off mi seat mi mom at 1 point was also screaming “come on fernando” I didn’t wanna check da articles on him coz I didn’t want 2 see or read ppl criticising him I was sad that neither him or cristiano ronaldo scored but its all gud there ‘s plenty more games 2 come but I’m hoping my benze will score tonight. I’m new on this site nd I hav 2 say I can’t get enough of it nd I jst wanna ask a quick question wat does vamos mean?

    • headbandsandheartbreak June 11, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

      Thanks for your kind words! Welcome. :-) “Vamos” means “go” basically. Like “go team!”

  11. @mezz98 (@mezz98) June 11, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    I am late in posting this, but I really enjoyed this match! Great play from both teams.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 708 other followers

