Uno para Espana, Uno per l’Italia

12 Jun

Ahh, a draw doesn’t exactly leave us with the opening match blues, but the match was muy/molto frustrating at times. I think we were all a little worried about going the ‘false no. 9′ route for the opener, I wasn’t that impressed with Cesc’s performance aside from his equalizer that had me yelling “finallyyyyyyyy”, so I hope Thursday’s match starts with a striker in the starting lineup! You won’t find me bashing Torres though, I think if he were given more time, he could’ve made things happen. Look at what a turn the match took when he was put in, more pressure on goal but not enough time to figure out the finish, the Italian’s defense was just too on point. Not a bad effort from either side, but I only care about ONE team moving on to the next round, so get to it campeones!

“Those guys get all the Watishistas.”

“Of course we do.” *hair flip* *booty pop*

Almost as good as the warm up pics are the fan pics, jersey’d out, wigged out, face paint, & emotions..I love it!

There were loyal fans & then there were royal fans, Prime Minister Rajoy, Prince Felipe & Princess Letizia were in attendance for La Roja’s opener.

Those are some hungry eyes Nando, hungry for goals or an order of #15?

If goal line technology delivers shots like this, bless whoever set that shit up.

And while Iker was a Saint, Cassano was a total dick, fouling him and managing to escape without getting carded.

Hello Spartan legs.

I can’t stop laughing long enough to caption this properly, my sincerest apologies!

Iniesta’s efforts got us close to goal & a peek at De Rossi’s booty cheek, is it enough to say thank you?

Sometimes you just have to stop and take time to smell De Rossis.

Pirlo looks like he’s afraid Xavi will try and do the same. I would be too.

“I CAN….”

“CAN-CAN!”

I played and won this game at a bachelorette party once, I could totally beat Andres.

Sergio and the case of the new game hair *sigh* I have to admit, he did look good. I still think the long hair suits him best, but he managed to look kinda hot sans headband…I know, what am I saying?? It’s blasphemous….and this is the last (maybe) animated character hair reference that I’m going to make, but I think I’ve found the perfect one in Gus.

Not for lack of trying, our little men in front couldn’t put anything away before the half but neither could Italy. Goalless after 45 minutes, just when we were sure the 2nd half would start with a bonafide striker, we were made to wait a bit more and in the meantime Italy got their score on.

With just 30 minutes left, Italy’s goal scared the shizz out of me! But thanks to Cesc, the scare only lasted four minutes. GOOOOOOOOALLLLLL!!!

 

Poor Jordi just wanted to celebrate with his teammate but was met with a finger to the eye! OUCH! Cesc was kind-ish enough to apologize via instagram with this pic! Ha, I don’t know if I would like that, then again my eye-poke face is much more embarrassing.

Exit little scorer, enter blonde giant. God I want Nando to score so bad & make the words of his new tattoo mean something!

Shirtless Sergio  & Xabi courtesy of annie_carragher who was at the match! Have a look at her pics, there really are way too many goodies for me to post here.

Oh how I love to watch them walk…..they have nothing to worry about as long as they do well on Thursday & I have no reason to believe that they won’t do well. VAMOS ESPANA!!!

-Maisougio

 

11 Responses to “Uno para Espana, Uno per l’Italia”

  1. headbandsandheartbreak June 12, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    I am so happy you got that piccy of Iniesta sniffing De Rossi up there. I laughed for about 10 minutes straight when I saw that yesterday! And who knew that Iker and Balotelli were such buds? One of the surprises that came out of that game.

  2. Rose June 12, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

    Saw those photos on the ontd_fb earlier and squealed. I was beginning to doubt shirtless Xabi and Sergio existed tbh cause no one had pics. But lo and behold there they are. Love that Xabi exchanged shirts with midfield maestro Pirlo, and loving that shot with him guiding Jordi Alba like he is a young Padawan learning from the master. Sergio has a beautiful back (among other things). And who knew that Mario and Iker were friendly?! Satisfied the with draw, but come on La Roja go out and win this tournament!

  3. Timi R. June 13, 2012 at 12:17 am #

    Totes agree on the fact that had Nando been given enough time, he surely would have had a goal. Methinks they should have brought him on right at the start of the second half. I’m not crazy over the draw but hey, better than a loss. It was quite interesting to watch the game cuz my fiancé is Italian LOL. Felt a little smug that Spain had the equalizer not even 4 minutes after the Italy goal hehe. Definitely gave him a smirk and a pretend moustache. Thanks for all the pics and hardwork you guys put into this blog. I follow this religiously!!

  4. drea June 13, 2012 at 1:27 am #

    Good to see Cesc and Andres making new Italian friends (de Rossis!!!). ;-) That was the best game of Round 1, hands down.

  5. Jen June 13, 2012 at 2:03 am #

    So I may or may not have had an entire bar full of people looking at me like I was crazy when I started freaking out every time Nando did anything.

    Also, super random question.. but can anyone explain De Rossi (my Italian footie crush) has been wearing one long sleeve and one short sleeve of late?

    • jellyace June 13, 2012 at 8:26 am #

      Am guessing it has something to do with his bandaged hand? That is quite unusual tho.

    • drea June 13, 2012 at 9:53 am #

      I think he’s been doing that for a while now, he wears his AS Roma jersey the same way. It might have something to do with the tattoos he has on the covered arm.

  6. Akemi June 13, 2012 at 2:05 am #

    “Sometimes you just have to stop and take time to smell De Rossis.”

    THIS. I couldn’t stop laughing at this line for 5 mins straight! XD

  7. em June 13, 2012 at 5:14 am #

    The pic of VDB on the sidelines appears as though he is conducting a symphony orchestra.
    And speaking of instruments, Cesc has been soo instrumental in so many of Spain’s crucial goals over the last few years. His vision and gift for the through ball have come through in some clutch moments on the field. Really like watching him play the game. He may not have had a ton of great moments this year trying to fit back into the Barca sistema, but he is still an amazingly gifted player.
    Speaking of amazingly gifted players, Nando needs to come back from vacation.

  8. jellyace June 13, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    Maisoun! This post had me in stiches! Your captions were so cheeky!

    As for that pic of Cesc side-eyeing Thiago Motta:
    Cesc: “Hey! No one can touch me like that except for Pi— hey there!”

  9. HermosaChica June 13, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

    Okay so, I apologize for having to bring this up yet again but I’m a Serg Sister, therefore I must. The group photo DOES NOT look the same without a gorgeous man with long hair and a headband! *sniff*

    However, shirtless Xabi AND shirtless Pirlo..cuddling??!? That pretty much makes up for anything and everything. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 704 other followers

