All Of My Friends Were There

17 Jun

I posted a shot on Twitter the other day but I wanted to post it here as well. As many of you know, I graduated with my Masters degree (summa cum laude! 4.0! Watishista jellyace refers to it as “golazo cum laude” which I love.) on Friday.  It was a rough slog over the past two years, working full time & going to school full time. No one gets where they’re going alone, so I wanted everyone to be there with me as I walked across the stage to receive my diploma. In my cap were written the names of friends and family, the escudo and the HB & HB logo. All the things that made the last two years livable. Maisougio and I actually started this blog when we were both in school (yeah, we’re insane).  She graduated in December during a Clasico weekend, poor woman! I know I speak for her as well when I say that HB & HB has been our happy place and kept us sane throughout it all. Not to mention all of your humor, support and encouragement has really kept us going. It’s been a pleasure to get to know such a wonderful community of people from all around the world. We’ve both graduated now and HB & HB continues to grow and amaze us daily. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart for all the wonderful comments and for spurring me on (especially in the home stretch – I thought I would never finish). Special thanks and love as always go to NJOD, Dollo, El Fano, ginboonmiller and my rock, Shiggers (my biggest cheerleader through this whole damn thing). I love you all and promise that I won’t start a doctoral program any time soon. Honest. Well, maybe not right away, I don’t think. ::ducks flying objects::  My graduation party last night was epic. Suffice to say, I will never be able to run for public office if the pictures get out and on that note, it’s time to get ready to spend the afternoon watching the Euros. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Love, Lozil

23 Responses to “All Of My Friends Were There”

  1. sweethearthalo June 17, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    Congrats! The best thing about Real Madrid – you can be always sure that you get friends and support. :)

  2. lym June 17, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    Congrats!!!! Hope you had so much fun!!!

  3. Akemi June 17, 2012 at 11:51 am #

    Congrats hun!!!! <3

  4. GinaM June 17, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    Congrats!!! Glad you had a great night!!! Thank you for this very fun and interesting blog, pretty much the highlight of my morning coffee at work!!!

  5. jellyace June 17, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Hey, girl! Getting a master’s degree and graduating with a 4.0, all the while holding down a job, and posting daily on this blog (my personal happy place, FYI) is quite an amazing accomplishment. I have no idea how you did it AND kept your sanity. So as far as I’m concerned, that is a golazo cum laude!

    Am happy you celebrated and partied to the blackmailable level — as that’s the only way to party. (You can save the respectability for your old age.) You deserve it! And you make us all so proud (and also seem so less industrious in comparison)

    And after you tweeted that that processional march was starting, I hummed “Pomp & Circumstance” (aka the Graduation March) for a full 10 minutes; mainly bec I didn’t know how the song ends. Cheers, my friend!

  6. maddy June 17, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    see the one post i decide to open is the right one :P congratulations lozil. how you maintained this blog with all that going on is beyond me. i’ve not bothered to even get my upper lip done since i started interning and you do handled school AND this blog and all those thousands of posts? you rock!

  7. maisoun June 17, 2012 at 1:15 pm #

    ‘We be some educated bitches all up in here’ – best tag ever! haha Congratulations again partner, so proud of you!

  8. Sandra June 17, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Congratulations!! :)

  9. amouria June 17, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    WOW, such an energetic girl. Many congrats once again. You must be searching for a new job (or may be negotiating for better salary :-) hahahaha

  10. Lana June 17, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    Congrats! You more than deserve it. You should be so proud of yourself, I know everyone here is!

  11. drea June 17, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Congratulations! And thanks, because HB&HB helps keep me sane too. ;-)

  12. Junior - MADRIDISTA For Life June 17, 2012 at 3:56 pm #

    Congratulations!!! Time to enjoy the fruit of your hard labor. Hala Lozil!!!

  13. Forlond June 17, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Congratz!! :)

  14. Mais June 17, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS LOZIL! The day has finally come! Here’s to all the your hard work and intense efforts *holds up virtual glass* xxx

  15. Andrea June 17, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Congrats, Lo! Well deserved! :-D

  16. Haleigh June 17, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    Congrats! What an incredible thing to be able to kick ass in school and work on an amazing blog at the same time! Superwoman!

  17. Rose June 17, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    Congratulations! What you’ve done really is an inspiration, especially to people who don’t know if they can handle a full-time job and school at the same time (aka ME). Enjoy the time that finishing school frees up, but then I guess of out there and use that hard-earned edumacation!

  18. Utd Girl June 18, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    Congratulations to you! Such an amazing achievement!!! Xoxo sister :)

  19. panama June 18, 2012 at 2:57 am #

    Congrats!!! You’re fantastic, I seriously don’t know how you did it. Be proud of yourself!!!

  20. mari June 18, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Enhorabuena Lözil! Well deserved! Wa-tish!!! ;)

  21. M June 18, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    Congratulations!!!

  22. sv June 18, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Congrats Lozil! Well done! And thank you for your dedication to this blog and all us fans throughout your 2 years of craziness!

  23. shiggers June 19, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    Aw! How did I miss this?! Probably because I was recovering from the epicness of your party. Sheesh! I am way too old and respectable to stay out that late!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 695 other followers

