The Ladies of La Roja

21 Jun

 

A couple days ago, this teaser was released by Elle Espana, it’s for the Las Mujeres de La Roja campaign and six beautiful ladies of La Roja were chosen to take part in it. One thing that I love about it is that they didn’t go for the most popular wives & girlfriends! We get to see Alicia Roig – wife of Raul Albiol, Carlota Ruiz – wife of Alvaro Arbeloa, Yolanda Cardona – girlfriend of Victor Valdes, Ursula Santirso – girlfriend of Santi Cazorla, Carolina Martin – girlfriend of Pedro Rodriguez, and Yolanda Ruiz – wife of Pepe Reina. For Ursula & Carolina, it was their first time in a fashion mag and I don’t know why because they look absolutely gorgeous, especially in their red outfits. And lucky for all of us today, we’ve got translations thanks to Watishista Flora, she’s awesome!

 

I have no idea why the video came out blurry but you can watch a clearer version on the Elle site, here. Here is what each lady had to say..

Alicia Roig: In the last Eurocopa he (Albiol) promised to study English and he did. This year La Roja is sure to make it far. I hope he promises to do something again and hope he is able to accomplish it.

Carlota Ruiz: I love football (soccer). I’ve always watched all of Alvaro’s games since he played in “el filial de Zaragoza” (youth team). We watch all the games from other leagues and other teams from the Spanish league.
I’m not sure why Yolanda didn’t have a speaking part in the video, I would’ve liked to hear from her too. Doesn’t she look like a Barbie?? And I mean that in a good way.
Ursula Santirso: Well, truthfully, we come with great illusion because about 4 years ago we were all single, without children…I don’t know different. This year we are all getting together with our kids who are coincidentally about the same age. Truthfully I’m very happy, it’s something very different. It’s especially emotional for me because unfortunately Santi missed the World Cup 2 years ago and this year it’s a privilege to be there and enjoy this incredible experience.
Carolina Martin: I’ve been following Pedro’s games since I met him. I’ve watched him play in his youth team and now that he is in the first division we watch his games and we talk about his plays, the ones he’s done well, and the ones he’s done poorly, more softly.
Yolanda Ruiz: Well it’s very curious because in the past Eurocopa, I was pregnant with my second daughter who was supposed to be born in a month and a half. On the day of the final, after a month of spending time with the family, kids and everyone, I went into labor. At 3 in the morning I began to feel pain and all. I called Patricia (midwife), she accompanied us to the hospital and an ambulance followed and I delivered the child.

Arbie tweeted this pic of his lady & said she looked GUAPA! I agree, Carlota looks stunning even though I’m not so sure about those little leopard slippers…

These were the only other two official photos I could find, if any more become available they’ll be posted here. Hopefully the rest of the article is shared too, I’m sure there were many more interesting things the ladies shared. Thanks again to Watishista Flora! 🙂

-Maisougio


5 Responses to “The Ladies of La Roja”

  1. black widow June 21, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    this is fantastic! (and i don’t care how petty it sounds … i especially love it because it’s an, ahem, “carb-free” spread.) they are ALL gorgeous! (i love the little leopard slippers! they’re fun and look comfy!) and i adore how arbeloa is so proud of carlota. bless. 🙂 🙂 🙂 i wonder if she and alicia are as tight as their husbands used to be–er, still are?

    PS: albiol started learning english? really? when? do we have video proof of this? because i think i’d squee myself into a billion little pieces if i heard him hablar en inglés!

  2. April June 21, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    Just like Spain has very attractive players across the board, is there a wife or girlfriend of an NT member that isn’t gorgeous? *Sigh*. Wish I was born in Spain!

  3. tasha June 22, 2012 at 4:34 am #

    I absolutely luv carlota she has officially become my fave wag she’s beautiful,supportive nd she’s not lyk most of these wags who know absolutely nothing bout soccer I heard or read that she used 2 play soccer when she was younger nd that’s how her nd arbie met, I should rally invest in this playing soccer thing coz even patricia(david villa) was a soccer player nd I still have a lot of tym I’m only 14

  4. Jenny June 22, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    I’m so glad they weren’t predictable and went for Nagore.

    Stunning.

  5. em June 22, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    i ❤ the little leopard slippers.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.