Otters Don’t Know Shit, Guti Shaves & Shills and More Bits & Bobs

29 Jun

Ferret the Otter, why did you make me believe?! I know I can’t blame it on the otter but right now it’s all just too fresh. I’m still too bummed out to talk about yesterday. This was a painful match for me as I grew up supporting Italy and Germany is the team of my heart. The final is going to be even more wrenching.  Ugh! Why do I care so much?! I did love this picture of wily ol’ Pirlo (who has been awe inspiring) consoling the young genius Ozil. 

Some of the most indelible images were of poor dejected Mesut on the pitch. I get weepy every time that I see them so I won’t post too many but here are a few.

Sami, ever to the rescue.

::sniffle:: Goodbye, Germany! I will miss you in the final and I still love you to pieces.

One of the most beautiful and heartfelt images of the day was the sight of Mario Balotelli hugging his foster mother Silvia who has raised him since the age of 3.

Mario dedicated his goals to his mother and said that since she is older and can’t travel very far it was so important to have her there with him. His dad will be coming for the final. Here’s an interesting article about Mario being raised by his Jewish Italian mother and how Neo-Nazi hate groups are using this as another way to hurl abuse at him.  What a bunch of arseholes.  I’m so glad that Mario’s mom was able to see her son score two fantastic goals. I’m sure she was incredibly proud of her little boy.

And now on to non-’game that broke my heart’ related items. Guti got himself some more work as he presented a new line of Morellatto watches. He’s clean shaven – hooray!

He’s not dressed outrageously and he looks kinda…tame. Guti, I’m concerned! You don’t even have a purse dog with you!

Irina was also at the Morellatto jewelry launch looking fab as ever. I know there are some Irina fans here so I thought I’d add a couple of pictures where you could clearly see her outfit and shoes.

I have to admit, I’m not that keen on the dress, but she’s so dang pretty, she could wear a belted Hefty bag and it wouldn’t diminish her glow.

Albiol posted a nice little piccy of himself hanging around at the Euros.

Iker posted a piccy of the gang at the hotel and Sertormata is absent and unaccounted for. Hmmmm….

And who doesn’t love a little half naked Cesc/Iker action? Of course, San Nevernude grabbed the nearest towel to cover up his pasty white chest because he obvs hates us.

El Pirata continues his tour of Asia (I believe he was just over in China visiting Pedro and the missus) by tweeting this picture from Japan.

He’s gotten around this summer, hasn’t he? At last count, Chile, China and Japan. Hey, I’d do the same thing if I had a bunch of free time and some disposable income. I’m already trying to figure out my next trip.

Wee Iker Muniain and his buds hit the beach. Damn. I wish I was doing that today! It’s almost 100 here in NYC and I’m off to watch the Yankees play the White Sox with watishista P. I’m not a baseball girl (even though I come from a rabid Yankees-supporting family) but I’m going to give it a go because it’s always fun to hang with P and also, I hear this Nick Swisher kid is some fun to watch. He also apparently gives an awesome manicure.

- Lozil

8 Responses to “Otters Don’t Know Shit, Guti Shaves & Shills and More Bits & Bobs”

  1. tasha June 29, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    Ha ha san nevernude that’s hi larious

    • Allison June 29, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

      I thought the same thing when I saw that picture, “Damn you, Iker!”

  2. mari June 29, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    Stop by the Philippines my dear pirate! Por favor!!!

    Poor Mesut :c I so wanted to give him a hug last night. He was so dejected. He, along with Sami, were amazing through this whole tournament. You really know he gave his all yesterday. Sigh.

    As for the final, hmm.. I want Spain to win for our RM boys but so many signs points to Italy winning it- Juve winning Serie A, Italy beating Germany and Nadal out of Wimbledon already! Anyway whatever happens, i do hope it’ll be an exciting final, not a snoozefest.

  3. PMom_GA June 29, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    100? Wimp! It’s 103 (in the shade) in ATL, and that’s w/o the summer sauna effect known as humidity. Heading to 105+ (w/o humidity tomorrow thru Monday).

    Buster Poindexter time – not to mention ice ice ice!

    • headbandsandheartbreak June 29, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

      Hahaha! Yeah, humidity makes it around 103-105 here because of all the asphalt. I don’t do humidity or heat. Ugh. I got heat stroke at the RM game in Philly last year, which is why I’m slightly concerned about going to the ball game tonight.

  4. panama June 29, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Poor little Mesut! He looks like I felt after the match… I can’t even bring myself to root for Spain now althought they’re (normally) my second team. But Sergio’s cheekbones in the other post do make a valid point ;)

  5. dreamsequence June 29, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    Today I was going through my closet and ended up throwing out an old Italy shirt that I had, some time ago, found in a thrift store. I only used it for the gym, but after yesterday I was too bitter that I didn’t even want to sweat in it. Apparently, I do not take disappointment well.

    The post-game pictures of Mesut break my heart :(

  6. Jenny June 30, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    At least the German game was over in such a short span of time, it made it easier to get over.

    Irina is stunning.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 663 other followers

