Playford FC Goes All Out For A Kit Sponsor

5 Aug


This is just hilarious. Sunday League side Playford FC doesn’t have a kit sponsor for the second year in a row, so they tried a great strategy to draw attention to their plight: a video of them playing in their underwear. It’s super adorable and really funny (the booking part is awesome). The club has been around for 15 years. Their website is equally funny and self-deprecating. (For instance, they charted their Man of the Match vote bromances! There’s a Brokeback Mountain chart for the season!!) They sound like a great bunch of guys (and right after our own hearts) and they’ve won the league’s Fair Play award 3 times. I wish I could afford to sponsor their kits but blogging doesn’t make any money. However, you can sponsor a player for a mere £15. Hmmm, maybe we should sponsor a player or two. :-) Why not? If anyone has spare $$ and wants to do a good deed, there’s about 15 or so players who don’t have sponsorships.  No matter what, I wish them lots of luck and I really hope this will get them attention and a kit sponsor. GO PLAYFORD!

- Lozil

7 Responses to “Playford FC Goes All Out For A Kit Sponsor”

  1. Kait August 6, 2012 at 12:13 am #

    Ugh! If I wasn’t in dire need of employment myself, and extraordinarily broke, I’d be all over sponsoring a well deserving set of blokes.

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 6, 2012 at 12:16 am #

      Aren’t they sweet? I just want to adopt the whole damn team on principle. Or go out drinking with them. Or both.

  2. dreamsequence August 7, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    I don’t have much, but I am going to make it happen. It’s about $47. And when, someday, I become independently wealthy, I will sponsor the whole damned team!

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 7, 2012 at 2:16 pm #

      Hooray! I wish we could raise enough to sponsor the whole team. How bitchin’ would it look to see them with Of Headbands and Heartbreak on their kit?!

      • dreamsequence August 7, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

        Wait, sorry, I doubled that 15 to 30 pounds for some reason. $23.45. I wish I could completely sponsor a full kit for a player, but that’s nearly $1200! Oh well, every little bit counts.

        • headbandsandheartbreak August 7, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

          Oh, it’s $1200 to kit out the *whole team* :-) But for $23.45 each I bet we could get the 15 unsponsored players sorted.

          • dreamsequence August 7, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

            In the video when that guy slides and then gets up with a huge wedgie…well, I just love self-deprecating humor. These guys are top notch. I want to give them all of my money :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 695 other followers

