Champions League Draw

18 Mar


The draw has been made!  Here’s how things shook out:

CHAMPIONS LEAGUE QUARTER FINAL DRAW

Real Madrid v Tottenham
Chelsea v Manchester United
Barcelona v Shakhtar Donetsk
Inter Milan v Schalke 04

Ties to be played on 5/6 and 12/13 April.

I have a huge soft spot for Tottenham as many of my friends are Spurs supporters, so I’m not particularly thrilled about this draw, but I think it will be a cracking good game! As my friend B said last night when we discussed this possibility “Hey, even if we (Tottenham) lose to Real, we can hold our head high because we got this far.” Too true. They’re a wonderful side this year and I will be very sad when we eliminate them! 😉 Hey, at least we didn’t draw Barca!

CHAMPIONS LEAGUE SEMI FINAL DRAW

Winner of Inter Milan/Schalke 04 v Winner of Chelsea v Manchester United
Winner of Real Madrid/Tottenham v Winner of Barcelona/Shakhtar Donetsk

Ties to be played on 26/27 April and 3/4 May.

And yes, you’re reading that correctly – we could possibly face Barcelona in the Semis if we both progress. I’m rooting for Shakhtar, y’all!

It’s going to be very interesting!

8 Responses to “Champions League Draw”

  1. suzanne March 18, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    very interesting match up to be sure. VDV and the elfin wonder to battle our boys. i had just told one of my guy friends who is a HUGE spurs fan that i’d cheer for them unless we drew them (i semi support arsenal so that was pretty big of me i think 😉 )
    can i just say i am sooooo glad we didn’t draw barca straight out? my nerves could not have taken that!
    on the shakhtar bandwagon!!

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 18, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

      I’m so glad we didn’t draw Barca. My head would have exploded. I’m extremely fond of Arsenal and Tottenham (I don’t steadfastly refuse to support an EPL team, so I can get away with it!). If we had gotten Schalke, I would have been sad about Raul. If we had gotten Chelsea it would have been Sergio vs. Nando and Mou against his former team. Inter would have made Mou sad too. Man Utd. was Crispy’s old team. So really the only teams we could have drawn and not had an issue was Shakhtar. But we’ll have to play against friends eventually. As long as we win (and Shakhtar beats Barca into the next century), I’m as happy as a little girl!

  2. GinaM March 18, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    I hope Shacktar school Barca like they schooled Roma! And Madrid beats the Spurs…havent really watched them play before in the EPL the only team I like is my Liverpool specially when Nando and Alonso was on there. They made a good pair on that team! I hope we don’t play Raul’s team I know he’s pretty tied to Madrid and it will be a hard game for him emotionally. I can’t wait to see these games begin!!! I can’t wait to see what our results are for El Classico and Copa Del Rey.

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 18, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

      I can wait for El Clasico and Copa del Rey right now. I just want to get through tomorrow and Champions League!

  3. notoriousjk March 18, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    You know I was gonna say it, but DOWN WITH THE SPURS & w/Spurs fans (enjoy the CL while you can, since you won’t be there next year & Arsenal will) But hey, at least that means Sergio will be in London….to visit Horsey *snort*

    Actually I really don’t care about the CL, I’d watch the Man United vs. Chelsea one, but I’ll be at work, so *kanyeshrug* oh well. I just want Spurs & Barca gone

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 19, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

      I know, I know – I love them both. I’m going to hold to Sergio visiting Horsey and think happy thoughts. I wonder if Fernando will bring Horsey along to the national team call up? I can’t imagine him wanting to leave Horsey behind after the recent “uproar” 😉 Or will Horsey be staying home in the care of a therapist after witnessing his two dads getting busy? ::snicker::

      Do you not want Real to win Champions League?! I have no interest in the Chelsea/Man Utd. game, truth be told. I’m on the Shakhtar bandwagon 100%. Have you seen that team? It’s a bunch of tough looking Ukranian and Brazilian dudes. I hope they dismantle Barca.

      • notoriousjk March 19, 2011 at 10:10 pm #

        I think all these matches will be on when I’m at work, and I don’t have a dvr (yet)so I’ll probably miss them.

        I really could care less about the CL now & w/the way my team is playing (uggghhh 2-2 vs WBA) I’m really only into the rest this season of footie for the pretty & the crazy (Mad Jens)

        Would love to see Barca get kicked out, but I doubt they will this round.

        ………actually what I would love would be to see Chelsea vs. RM, Mou vs his old team & his true love Drogba. Also Sernando against each other ;-P As a neutral it’d be interesting

        • headbandsandheartbreak March 20, 2011 at 12:54 am #

          Bummer about the game today. 😦 Made Jens is *definitely* going to make things interesting! Shakhtar has a strong record so let’s hope they can make some magic. Barca’s back looked rather crappy today. Pique is a bit poo without Puyi, so you never know what might happen!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.