UPDATED: Epic Bromances: A Reader Poll

11 Aug


So, I’ve been thinking…(yes, I actually do that sometimes. Okay, not often but…) My busiest time of the year at work is September through mid-November. I mean, batshit crazy. 14-16 hour days average and I have grad school on top of it. I don’t want to stop The Daily Drool, so I thought I’d do a couple of theme Drool weeks (coaches, retired players, etc).  But the one thing we really love here is bromance, so I thought I would do Epic Bromance Month. Each week, I’d devote to one bromance in particular and post shots. So, what do you think?

I thought I’d kick it off by allowing everyone to vote on their fave pairings that they want featured. Feel free to write pairings in the comments section as well. As always, if you have any suggestions of people for The Daily Drool, please send them in! I’ve made it so you can make multiple choices – it’s hard to pick just one!

UPDATED BECAUSE I AM A MORON: I shockingly forgot to include Raul & Guti (I KNOW!) and Khedergio (!!!!! Only one of the pairings this whole damn blog is based on!). I also added Poldzil, Benzil and Marcelo/Pepe.  I think I’ve come to the conclusion that the entire month of October should be Epic Bromance Month and we can feature a pairing a day. What do you think? I believe Mesut is going to need his own week because he bromances with everyone (Cris, Benz, Pipita, Sami, Sergio, Poldi, Marko Marin, etc. etc.) Mea culpa, y’all. I can’t believe I forgot so many pairings. Keep adding ’em.

35 Responses to “UPDATED: Epic Bromances: A Reader Poll”

  1. mumblo August 11, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Other: Mou and Rui!

  2. Allison August 11, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    I’m so happy that Pique and Cesc are going to be reunited! But is that going to create a love triangle with Puyol? Think of all the bromantic jostling, hair pulling and ass-patting that could involve…. 😉

  3. forzasusan August 11, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    And by the way, as Phyllis can attest, I would truly enjoy the Drool to include a week on coaches. I heart soccer coaches in a BIG way!

    • kfunk22 August 11, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

      seconding this!

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 12, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      Send your coach-y suggestions. I already know that Mou, Pep and Jogi are on that list. Who else? Villas Boas? Quique?

  4. Andrea August 11, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    I voted for Crozil, but would also gladly endorse Crispy Karim or Criska. I think it’s easy to see where my loyalties lie 😉

    I would also love some Seriker or Zipi/Zapi action. Oooooh, or some Xarbeloa! So boss…

  5. Mais August 11, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    God, I think I voted for about 15.

  6. kfunk22 August 11, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    i don’t care what the poll results say – there needs to be some silva/villa lovin’ happening this week. if need be, i’ll rig the poll results. (beware, though, i’ve covered enough sham elections at this point to totally know how)

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 11, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      OMG! I forgot RAUL & GUTI!!!! What was I thinking?! Rank amateur, me. Will add when I get home. ::hangs head in shame::

      • Sasha Twen August 12, 2011 at 11:01 am #

        I voted for it. They are the classico of bromances.

  7. manie August 11, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    Benzil!! It’s blossoming

    • manie August 11, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      Also, Guti and everyone through the years.

    • Suzanne August 12, 2011 at 8:11 am #

      Yes, Benzil gets my vote!!! They’ve been joined at the hip all preseason, which is a very, very good thing! And just look how it’s affected Benzema’s performance! He’s been on fire.

  8. Mais August 11, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Also, Serzil? Because that’s really been blooming lately.

  9. Dia August 11, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    Sergio/Ozil, Marcelo/CR7. Guti/Raul DEFINITELY. Granero/Guti.

    I’m not David Villa fan but I voted for them just for the pics of Silva *sigh*.

  10. notoriousjk August 11, 2011 at 10:53 pm #

    I vote Sernando & that Cesc/Pique be banished to hell……..which is Barca so ok

  11. maddy August 12, 2011 at 12:51 am #

    man, ozil’s a playa

  12. Jenny August 12, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    Mesut with everyone tbh.

  13. Ane Anna Pierce August 12, 2011 at 4:23 am #

    when i saw them i kept picking one but when it was time to vote, i all of a sudden decided on another one and that went on for a while but i’m all for a xabi Alonso/ Alvaro Arbeloa…i love those two way too much 🙂
    and you forgot Marcelo with either pepe or Cris

  14. Jenny August 12, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    Guti and Iker.

    Endless potential there. Hot, And noisy! 10 years+ of photographic evidence.

    “GUUUUUUUUTIIIIIIIIII! You self-aborbed sun-of-a-bitch. GUUUUUUUUUUTIIIIIIIIIIIII!”

  15. Sasha Twen August 12, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    I am aghast and shocked that Mou/Higuaín does not have its own acronym. It is practically canon!

    I suggest Moupita. Although it kind of sounds like a pokémon.

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 12, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      I have added this – you’re right – they need their own portmanteau. If they were a Pokemon, it would have a great scowl and an even better arse! 🙂

      • Sasha Twen August 12, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

        It would… IT WOULD. 😀

    • Jenny August 12, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

      Mou/Higuain?

      Where do I find it??

      It sounds epic! Moupita – I love the ring of it!

      And Marcelo with half the squad. Imagine what a fun bromance it would be! Everything happy and smiling. Life as one endless adorable prank.

      And frankly, if he comes back, Adebayor/Marcelo is perfect. The height difference alone…

  16. Sasha Twen August 12, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Also: Am I the only lady here who voted for Pepe and Marcelo? Dudettes! What is wrong with you?

    Althoug I kind of second the threemance there. They look a bit lonely there without Cris to complete the brotherhood.

    • headbandsandheartbreak August 12, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      You are right again – I’ve added Cristiano to the mix. 🙂 I voted for them too. I just added them about an hour ago so people haven’t really had a chance to vote for them yet,

    • Jenny August 12, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

      I didn’t realize you could vote more than once!

      I went straight for Samisut.

  17. jellyace August 12, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    I like all the suggestions! I think you may have enough to take us into next year!

    One I would like to see is Sergio Ramos/Jesus Navas. Sergio + Jesus = Serius?

  18. Xabista August 17, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    The A Team (Arbeloa/Alonso/Albiol)
    Xanero (Xabi and Granero)

  19. Anonymous August 18, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    I am quite a fan of Iker/Villa….I don’t know I just love them together 😀

  20. Anonymous September 30, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    The bromance that ended tragically this August, “Fabpersie’ aka Cesc/RVP

  21. maddy September 30, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    should add cris and fabio to that now. if you see fabio you know cris is somewhere around.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.