Jerseys That Show Some History

25 Aug

espnw_navysoccer_576I have to thank hopechaser for sending this article to me and trusting it in my lazy hands. Okay, not that lazy, but my lord it’s been a crazy week. I have to confess, I have not watched footie since the the UEFA Super Cup win. I know! I’m a really bad fan. Let’s just say I’ve been distracted (right now Lozil and Mandi are somewhere rolling their eyes and giggling).

Onward!

The Naval Academy just announced their jerseys and, while they look pretty normal from a distance, the numbers actually have historical battles that the Navy has fought written inside them.

BvVcSA4CYAAuTgR.0Battles are part of the knowledge that you learn when you join the United States military. It doesn’t matter what service you’re in, you will learn battles that defined the country’s history, the military’s history, and that particular service’s history.

The men and women that attend the Naval Academy (and all of the military academies in the United States) will put on their uniforms when they’re done with university and probably lead soldiers, sailors, marines, and airmen in battle. Understanding history helps to both educate you on the rigors of battle but also allows you to avoid any of the same mistakes again.

Here are some of the battles I spotted:

Lebanon
Khe Sanh
Pearl Harbor
Guadalcanal
Inchon 

I have to admit though, reading some of these battles took me back to boot camp. The Navy and Marine Corps share a large number of battles. The Marine Corps is a department of the Navy (as much as we hate admitting that) and marines and sailors work closely in many situations. One of the most notable being that the Marine Corps does not have it’s own medical billets. They rely on Navy corpsmen (field medics), nurses, and doctors for medical needs. Many of these will be attached to infantry units and play major parts in saving the lives of marines in battle.

-mygypsyspirit

3 Responses to “Jerseys That Show Some History”

  1. forzasusan August 25, 2014 at 3:08 pm #

    This is seriously cool

  2. Katie Ann August 25, 2014 at 6:19 pm #

    Coming from a West Point family, my immediate, instinctive reaction to this post is “GO ARMY! BEAT NAVY!” But this is seriously cool.

  3. hopechaser August 25, 2014 at 8:57 pm #

    You seem very non-lazy to me. 🙂 I see Kosovo, Cuban Missile Crisis, and New Guinea in there too. Know about the first two, will have to look up the last one.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.