Golden Foot Voting

28 Aug

timthumbFor those of you interested in voting for random football awards, you still can for the Golden Foot aka Best Player of the Year Award until August 31, 2014.

The deadline was extended for an additional week due to server issues. But just what is the Golden Foot, I hear you asking? Sounds like an unfortunate and exotic foot fungus issue to me, but according to the website:

[The Golden Boot] is a prestigious international prize awarded to footballers: in the Football Legends category it goes to the greatest players for their outstanding careers, while football fans vote for the Best Player of the Year on the official Golden Foot website.

The prize winners receive a trophy fashioned in gold and they leave their bronze footprints on Monte Carlo’s Champions Promenade as permanent feature of the history of football.

Oh là là.

The nominees vying for a footprint this year are:

Thierry Henry
Andres Iniesta
Manuel Neuer
Andrea Pirlo
Franck Ribéry
Cristiano Ronaldo
Wayne Rooney
Thiago Silvo
Yaya Toure

If the list seems a bit “off”, well, players must be over 28 years of age and have not won the award previously. None of the repeat winner shenanigans of other awards; it’s won and done. A list of past winners is available here.

Here is a breakdown of the voting thus far; not sure how up-to-date it is though:

Schermata_2014-08-23_alle_09.40.07I do want to make note that the one and only Andrea Pirlo reminded me this morning of the voting. He did so via this lovely tweet:

Always with the understating.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: