Puskas Award Nominees Announced

13 Nov

1900283_full-lndFIFA announced the 10 contenders for the Puskas Award (Goal of the Year) today and there are some doozies.

Here are the nominees:

Camilo Sanvezzo (Brazil) – Vancouver Whitecaps v Portland Timbers, MLS
Diego Costa (Spain) – Atletico de Madrid v Getafe, La Liga
Hisato Sato (Japan) – Sanfrecce Hiroshima v Kawasaki Frontale, Japanese J League
James Rodriguez (Colombia) – Colombia v Uruguay, World Cup 2014
Marco Fabian (Mexico) – Cruz Azul v Puebla, Mexico Clausura
Pajtim Kasami (Switzerland) – Crystal Palace v Fulham, English Premier League
Robin van Persie (Netherlands) – Netherlands v Spain, World Cup 2014
Stephanie Roche (Republic of Ireland) – Peamount United v Wexford Youths, Bus Eireann National League
Tim Cahill (Australia) – Australia v Netherlands, World Cup 2014
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden) – Paris Saint-Germain v SC Bastia, French Ligue 1

The top 3 finalists will be announced on December 1st and the award will be presented at the FIFA Awards on January 12th. You can vote here.

– Lozil

One Response to “Puskas Award Nominees Announced”

  1. watishistacorrespondents November 15, 2014 at 2:38 pm #

    I was torn between Zlatan, Hisato Sato, and Stephanie Roche. But Roche won out.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: