Mateo’s Big Day

19 Aug

Satellite (4)Congrats to Mateo Kovačić who was presented today as Real Madrid’s newest player. As ever, the day was super busy.

 

Medical

 

Contract Signing

Presentation


FROM REALMADRID.COM

Kovacic: “Being at the biggest club in the world is really special”

“Welcome to your new home, we’re sure you’re going to help us to keep on improving”, said Florentino Pérez.

Mateo Kovacic has been presented as a new Real Madrid player. The Santiago Bernabéu presidential box was the setting for the unveiling of the midfielder, who will wear the number 16 shirt. Following the screening of a video showing some of the top moments of his career so far, he was welcomed by president Florentino Pérez: “We have a magnificent squad and a terrific backroom team, with which we approach the season with huge ambition. But at Real Madrid we’re always focused on improving. We’re a club who aspire to success both in the present and the future”.

“We bear the responsibility of endeavouring to make the dreams of our members and fans come true. Today we present a new player. He’s young, but he has experience and great talent that will help to strengthen our terrific squad. He’s a fantastic player, and he comes to the club from an important league and, in Inter Milan, from a historic club that is a friend of Real Madrid”.

“Dear Mateo, you arrive at the most prestigious and valuable club in the world at the age of just 21. A new chapter in your career begins that will prove to be an exciting one. This is the team that has won 10 European Cups. Being a part of this club is a privilege, one that also brings with it great responsibility, dedication, effort and sacrifice.”

“Being a part off this club is a privilege.”

“Your country, Croatia, loves football, and you are the fifth Croat to join Real Madrid. This is now your home, this club will be by your side and the fans will support you all the way if you give your all for this badge, as your international team-mate Luka Modric has done. We’re sure you’re going to help us to keep on improving and that with your talent and dedication you’ll experience something unique: the thrill of going down in Real Madrid’s great history. Welcome to your new home, welcome to Real Madrid”.

Kovacic: “I’m at the biggest club in the world”

Visibly moved, Kovacic offered his first words as a Madrid player: “Many thanks to everyone. I’d like to thank the president for his kind words and express my gratitude for the support of the club as a whole. I’m at the biggest club in the world and it’s very special. I have high hopes for myself and the whole team. Hala Madrid!”.

The event concluded with the new Whites man posing for a group photograph with his family, Pérez and the remaining members of the Board of Directors. Afterwards, Kovacic turned to the stands to wave to the fans and thank them for their support.
http://www.realmadrid.com/en/news/2015/08/kovacic-being-at-the-biggest-club-in-the-world-is-really-special?vauto=1

Video

 

Interview

Satellite (5)Kovacic: “Joining Real Madrid is the opportunity of a lifetime”
by Antonio M. Leal

 

“I hope to live this dream for many years to come”, explained the midfielder.

Mateo Kovacic gave his first press conference as Real Madrid player in the Santiago Bernabéu press room. The midfielder spoke of his joy at completing his move to the Whites: “Real Madrid are the biggest club in the world, I’m in no doubt about that. I’m very happy with the support I’ve been given from the word go and I hope I can show why the club have signed me. I’ve joined Real Madrid and it’s the opportunity of a lifetime”.

“It’s a really important step for me and for my family, and I want to live this dream for many years to come. I’m used to dealing with difficult moments and I’m very happy to be here. I hope I don’t disappoint and that I can meet all expectations. When Real Madrid show an interest in you, there can be no hesitation; it only comes around once in a lifetime”.

Playing position
“It’s not for me to decide my position; that’s up to the coach. Where I’m most comfortable is as a defensive midfielder. I’ve spoken briefly to Rafa Benítez and he welcomed me to the club. I know him from his time at Napoli and I’m very happy to be able to work with such an important coach”.

The dressing room
“I’ve no doubt that all the players are phenomenal. But Cristiano is the best and the man who brings the most goals. It’s an honour to be a part of this team, with players who have experienced it all. I’m just getting started. Every player wants to play at the Bernabéu”.

“I’m very happy with the support the club have given me and I hope I can meet all expectations.”

“I’m young and I need to keep on learning. What I can guarantee is the enthusiasm and desire of youth and I hope not to fall short of the expectations of this club. Right now, what’s most important is to start training hard so as to integrate as quickly as possible”.

Luka Modric
“He’s a friend of mine. I’m very happy to be able to share a dressing room with him and I thank him for all the positive things he has said about me. Modric is a really great player, unique, in my view the best around, but each player has his own individual characteristics”.

Pressure
“There’s always pressure in football, particularly at a club like Real Madrid. I’m young, I’ve got what it takes and I’m sure that my team-mates will help me”.

Emilio Butragueño: “With your talent, great success lies ahead of you”
“In the few short hours that you have been with us, you’ve already felt the warmth of the fans, who will expect your all in every game and every training session. The demands here couldn’t be higher, but we’re in no doubt that, with your talent and effort, great success lies ahead of you. We wish you all the best in this new chapter of your career and we’re delighted to have you here with us.”

Video

On the Pitch

Video

Welcome to our new number 16!

– Lozil

Leave a Reply

