It’s Official: Rafa Out, Zizou In

4 Jan

355372-zinedine-zidane-pc-700After many breathless rumors with AS & Marca both reporting the coaching change, it’s finally official. The ‘Peez held a presser and Blanco legend Zizou takes over as coach. This was a long time coming. Still not sure why they hired Benitez in the first place, but as always, I try to be supportive of the team and the coach. I’m looking forward to seeing what Zizou can do. If nothing else, we know that we have the hottest coach in the universe. But I’d really much prefer that he’s hot AND we win. Now that Rafa is out, can we please ease up with the drama, Madrid?

– Lozil

13 Responses to “It’s Official: Rafa Out, Zizou In”

  1. mygypsyspirit January 4, 2016 at 2:39 pm #

    The more and more I sit here thinking about it, the more and more I’m torn. I’ve been very vocal about wanting Rafa out. But my issues, to be honest, have been less about tactics and more about the lack of respect and discipline the team have had under him. I’m aware that’s not entirely his fault.

    As I said on Twitter, I’m cautiously optimistic. This is a big risk to take. He’s a brand new coach and we’re giving him the biggest platform in the world with which to succeed or fail. And he will do so by very arbitrary standards.

    I don’t think we’ll see much of a change in tactics, with the exception of a bit more James and Isco. Though, to be fair, that does change up the entire style of play.

    With all of that said, I do feel as if I’ve been waiting my whole life for this moment. The only thing greater would be Raul at his side.

    • headbandsandheartbreak January 4, 2016 at 2:47 pm #

      I’m also cautiously optimistic. I do think (hope) that the Bernabeu will give him a bit of time to prove himself.But you never can tell with them.

    • Mandy January 5, 2016 at 10:59 am #

      Raul at his side? That would be too good to be true, until they are both let go. I’d probably cry both at the beginning and the end. While ZZ is very special, Raul is someone sacred to me. He’s such a perfect human he’s nearly inhuman. I need him to remain that way. Does that make sense?

  2. M January 4, 2016 at 2:54 pm #

    Holy shit!! I’ve been offline mostly and I come back to this.

    The less I say about Rafa the better. Wtf were they thinking of when they hired him is all that comes to mind.

    All the very best Zizou. I hope and pray that you live up to the insane hype. I don’t envy you at all because the pressure must be insane.

    • headbandsandheartbreak January 4, 2016 at 2:58 pm #

      It’s got to be the most high pressure job in football and for a new coach as well. He’s doing good with Castilla, but stepping up to the first team is a whole ‘nother thing!

  3. Katie Ann January 4, 2016 at 5:59 pm #

    Wow. Not really surprised, but it’s still a big deal. Hope you’re right about the Bernabeu giving him time to prove himself; he’s got potential to be great.

  4. Mandy January 5, 2016 at 10:15 am #

    I read last week that Madrid, in the summer, were going to try and land the coach at Watford’s manager. I’m sorry Lozil, I think they’ve got us beat in the hot category. Flores is fine!!

    • headbandsandheartbreak January 5, 2016 at 10:41 am #

      Oh, I think Quique is hot. No doubt about that. But he ain’t no Zizou (at least not to me). There’s an old Hungarian saying that bald men lose their hair because they’re so passionate that it burns right off their head. 🙂

      • Mandy January 5, 2016 at 11:01 am #

        Okay, one is hairy hot perfection and the other one is the most ideal hairless man alive. Good? 😉

  5. Natalie January 5, 2016 at 11:10 pm #

    I never understood why they let Ancelotti go and got Benitez in his place. One so so season and that was it while the guy got them the 10th cup. Letting Ancelotti go was a mistake but I hope ZZ can last longer!

    • jellyace January 7, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

      I totally agree with you! Ancelotti did a fine job and smoothed all the ruffled feathers of the big egos. Letting him go was a mistake and then hiring Rafa just made the mistake worse.

      I hope RM doesn’t treat Zizou like they they did their other fine coaches…giving them ignominious, thankless exits.

Leave a Reply

