Ready For Deportivo

8 Jan

Satellite (8)Zizou had the entire first team available for training today in preparation for tomorrow’s match vs. Deportivo.

Satellite (4)Everyone looks like they’re in such a good mood! Let’s hope this joy translates to cohesion on the pitch.

Presser

Satellite (12)FROM REALMADRID.COM

Zidane: “I want the fans to enjoy themselves every time we play at the Bernabéu”
by Javier Garcia

“I’ve seen that the team is very focused and set on doing the right things”, he added.

Zinedine Zidane spoke to the media outlets the day prior to his opening game as first team coach. The Whites manager explained his feeling ahead of the game against Deportivo: “I’ve seen the team is very focused and set on doing the right things. The training sessions have been very good, with intensity and concentration. This is the right line. I just want the game to arrive now. I’m convinced that everything is going to go well. When I see the quality in the team I’ve got no reason to say anything else”.

“I’m happy because the team looks good. I’m going to sleep well tonight, because our training session today was spectacular”. We’ve had intensity in the sessions, everything that I want. They’ve been very good. I hope I’ve had something to do with that. I’m happy, I’m content. They are too. I feel strong, happy and we’re going to give our all in everything that comes our way. We have to now wait for tomorrow’s game and take the same intensity that was shown in training”.

Midfield
“I’m not going to say who is playing in midfield. James and Isco are important and very good. We have to look after them and give them confidence, like with everyone. That’s going to be my job, to give them my total confidence. The most important thing for me is the group, it’s normal that one player will play more, that will happen because I can’t play everyone. That was my experience as a player”.

What has surprised him the most

“Nothing has surprised me. I’ve been very happy today because the team is really focused and is determined to change a few things. It’s difficult to speak of one player in particular. I said to Karim: ‘how much quality have you got’. They don’t lose the ball. When we play a possession game it’s difficult for the team without the ball. We have got a tremendous amount of quality. They’re all really good. It’s a pleasure to watch them”.

Deportivo

“They’re going to come and want to put in a good performance. They’ve got a good team with fast players on the counter-attack. We know the quality that the team has. The important thing for us is we go out and play our game and that’s what I’m going to concentrate on between today and tomorrow”.

The transfer window

“Players leaving here? I don’t think so. And I don’t want that either. Players arriving? I don’t think so. I’ve got a good group. I’m happy with the group I’ve got”.

The work coming up
“We’re going to work a lot. We’ve only got one game a week until February and we’re going to take advantage of that to work on the concepts and ideas that I have. Also from a physical point of view, having that we can work better”.

Defensive work of the BBC
“When we don’t have the ball everyone has to work. That’s the message I’ll give. You can’t have one, two or three players who don’t defend. We have the ball the idea is to keep the ball and play, the best way to defend is to have the ball.”

The Bernabéu
“This week I’ve seen everyone talking about that. The most important thing is that the fans see their team is playing well. On Monday I was thinking about getting Castilla ready for the next game and this is now on another level. The important thing is that the public want to see their team, that they support their team and we achieve a win”.

“Against Deportivo we must have the same intensity that we’ve had in training.”

“I want total support from the fans. It’s fundamental for me. I want the fans to enjoy themselves every time we play at the Bernabéu. That they enjoy watching the team and the players”.

Balance
“Makelele is no longer playing, but there are other payers in my squad who can do that. Balance doesn’t only come from the midfielders. Everyone has to work together, from front to back. It’s how you win back the ball”.

Cristiano
“He’s going to play on the wing, I’m not going to have to tell him much. His statistics speak for themselves. I want him to be happy and comfortable. We’ll achieve that. Of course he will continue to take the free kicks. Cristiano is more than non-transferable. He is the soul of the team. He’s going nowhere. It makes me laugh because while I’m here he’s going nowhere”.

Difference between when you were assistant coach
“I’m now ultimately responsible for the team. With Carlo I had the complete trust of the players. I was assistant with Paul Clement. I was very quiet and interested in what they were doing. I spoke now and again with the players. I didn’t do much work on my own. It’s totally different now”.

“Everything has gone quickly this week. On Monday I was thinking about getting Castilla ready for the next game and then everything changed. It’s incredible but I’m ready to take on the next challenge and we will see the results we achieve”.

Words of Domenech
“What can I say…He has his opinion. He knows me and knows what I think of him. I’ve nothing else to say”.

Anything to worry about

“Not at the moment. I know where I am. It’s a very difficult position but I’m ready and that’s the most important thing. When you there ready the rest comes along. You can always improve, if you’re 20 or 34 you can always improve. That’s what I’m going to do with these players, help them improve every day. They have room for improvement”.

If you are wondering what cracked out shit Domenech said about him, here you go. Ooooookay.

Call Ups

The following players were called up for the match:

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas, Casilla and Rubén Yáñez.
Defenders: Varane, Pepe, Ramos, Marcelo, Carvajal and Danilo.
Midfielders: Kroos, James, Bale, Casemiro, Modric and Isco.
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Benzema, Lucas Vázquez and Jesé.

Congratulations to Cris, James & Sergio who were voted into UEFA.com team of the year. James made his debut on the team this year, while Sergio had his fifth appearance and Cris had his tenth

– Lozil

Leave a Reply

