Off To Rome!

16 Feb

¡Despegamos! Destino Roma./ Taking off! Destination: Rome. #UCL #HalaMadrid

A post shared by Sergio Ramos (@sr4oficial) on

I see Ol’ Bad Touch Ramos is at it again! Bless. Team Show Me On The Doll traveled to Rome today and since I just got home from work less than an hour ago, this is going to be one major drive by post. Mea culpa.

Travel & Arrival In Rome

And here’s  an odd little video about Toni Kroos.  Not sure why they thought this was worthy of it’s own post.

Training at Stadio Olimpico

Listos para el primer asalto. Ready for the first attack. 💪🏻💪🏻 #HalaMadrid #RMUCL

A post shared by Sergio Ramos (@sr4oficial) on

Pressers

Satellite (20)FROM REALMADRID.COM

Zidane: “The Champions League is special for the club, for me, and for all of the players”
by Alberto Navarro (Roma)

“I’m relaxed becasue we’ve had a good week and we’re ready for the game”, the Whites coach added.

Real Madrid coach Zinedine Zidane took to the Estadio Olimpico’s press room on the eve of the Champions League clash against Roma (Wednesday, 8:45pm) to preview the Round of 16 showdown: “The Champions League is special for the club, for me,and for all of the players. We are aware of the tradition that we’ve got in the Champions League, so let’s see how we get on. The most important thing is that we are ready for all of the games, and we are ready. Physically, we are in good shape and we’re going to give our all”.

“We need to keep on performing as we have been recently. We need to make a strong start, we know that will be difficult though. Roma are a good side and away from home it’ll be difficult. We’ve had a good week and we’re ready for the game”.

Knockout ties against Italian sides in recent history
“We’ll see home things go tomorrow, and then we’ve got the return leg. We want to get through, we’re going to give our all and we’ll see where it takes us. The past is in the past and we’ve got to look forwards and see just what we’ve got to do to get through the tie”.

“I see the team as being very focused and committed.”

“I feel the sort of pressure that you’d expect heading into a Champions League game. I’m focused, as are the players. I see the team as being very focused and committed, that makes me more relaxed about things”.

Marcelo
“He’ll play if he’s fit, and I think that he is. We’ll see how he does today. He’s relaxed about it, he needs to have a good sleep and then we’ll see about things tomorrow. The most important thing is for him to be 100% fit”.

Praise for Totti
“The decision on when it’s time to retire is down to him. He’s had a magnificent career, we’ve all got to take our hats off to him. For all of us football fans it’s a pleasure that he’s still playing. Chapeau”.

The mothership pointed out that Zizou made his Champions League debut as a Blanco versus Roma and will now make his CL coaching debut against them as well.

Satellite (21)FROM REALMADRID.COM

Cristiano Ronaldo: “I’m happy, I’m part of the best team in the world”
by Alberto Navarro (Roma)

“We’re ready, we want to put in a good performance and win the game” insisted the madridista striker.

Cristiano Ronaldo spoke to the press with just under 24 hours to go before Real Madrid take on Roma at the Stadio Olimpico (Wednesday, 8:45pm). The Portuguese forward previewed the showdown against the Italians in the following terms: “This is a different competition, it’s an important one, and we’re all excited by it. The away games are more difficult, but the team is ready and we’re going to try to put in a good performance and win the game”.

“The team is playing well. We’re doing a really great job. We’ve been training well, playing well, winning our games and scoring lots of goals. Our chances of winning might be 50-50 right now, but when the game gets underway tomorrow these figures will change. We’ll have to wait and see”.

Happy at Real Madrid
“I’m feeling good and am happy. I’m at a club that looks after me. I always play, and at times I score goals too. I really couldn’t be happier. I’m part of the best team in the world and I’m happy, that’s clear for all to see”.

Criticism
“I see it as being normal, it’s just like with a child, if you spoil them by giving them everthing, when you stop, they start to cry. In this example, it’s a case of them writing too much, rather than crying. I see it as being normal, and I hope to keep up my poor form between now and the end of the season. If someone gave me that option I’d bite their hand off right now. Since I’ve been in Spain tell me one player who has scored more goals in away games than I have”.

“I want to enjoy myself, help Real Madrid to win and put in good performances.”

“I want to perform well, regardless of the competition. It’s a Champions League game against a good side in front of their fans, but we’ll try to play our game, play well and win the match”.

Favourites for the Champions League, but not for La Liga
“It all depends on your perspective. We’re always the favourites. This competition is a special one for us becuase we’re the club with the most European Cup titles. In La Liga we’re still in which a chance, it’s still possible, although it’s going to be tough. In the Champions League we’re all starting out for the same position”.

Praise for Totti
“He’s impressive. He’s an example for everyone to follow, and he’s shown that age isn’t important in football. If he’s feeling good, and he’s able to play at the level he’s playing out, that’s great for him, for the game itself and for young people because it shows that there are no limits in football. Although, once you pass 40, perhaps there are”.

Messi’s penalty against Celta
“I know why Lionel did it, but I’m not going to say anymore. You can make of that whatever you like”.

The relationship between the MSN as the key to their success
“Is that just what you read or is it based on what they tell you? Do you know whether that’s really the case? At Manchester United I didn’t speak to Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs or Rio Ferdinand and we won the Champions League together. I said ‘Good Morning’ and ‘Good Afternoon’, but I didn’t talk to them and yet out on the pitch we were a great team. For me, the most important thing is that out on the pitch we are teammates and we know what exactly what we’re doing. Going out for meals and giving each other hugs all really means nothing to me”.

I think it’s bullshit that the reporters were bringing up MSN, Barca, etc. I don’t blame Cris for getting pissed off and walking out. I mean, JFC, the guy busts his tail out there. It’s a JOB. You don’t have to spend all your time hanging with your colleagues outside of work to do a good job. By the time the work week is over, I certainly have no interest in hanging out with my colleagues  as lovely as some of them are (with one big exception and I still don’t see that person every weekend) – I see enough of them all week. Sheesh. Poor Cris. (And c’mon, let’s be real, he seems friendly enough with them in training. Pffft!)

Interview

Satellite (22)FROM REALMARID.COM

Arbeloa: “Zidane is the perfect coach for Real Madrid”

“I feel privileged to be playing in the best team in the world”, he declared.

Real Madrid are in Rome for the first leg of their Champions League Round of 16 clash, a game which will see Zinedine Zidane make his bow in the competition as coach of the Whites. Álvaro Arbeloa had words of praise for the madridista boss: “He was my idol when I was a kid. A few years later he was a teammate, and now he’s my coach. He trains alongside us, and we want to learn from him. He’s the perfect coach for Real Madrid”.

“When I look at him sometimes I am left open-mouthed because he’s a special player, and I have to tell myself that now it’s normal, he’s my coach and I think that that’s positive. I feel privileged to be playing here, in the best team in the world, and in a city like Madrid. I feel at home here”.

The Bernabéu
“It’s our home ground. For me, it’s the best stadium in the world and it’s very special to play in on great nights, against some of the top teams, like Roma and Barcelona. It’s difficult to describe just what you feel when you play at the stadium on a great night of footballling action. The atmosphere is very special, it’s very loud, I’ve got some great memories that were made in the stadium. Another special place for us is Cibeles, where hopefully we get to return this year”.

Phew! Just got this in before midnight. I’m looking forward to tomorrow’s match. Hala Madrid!

– Lozil

5 Responses to “Off To Rome!”

  1. Mandy February 17, 2016 at 9:40 am #

    Sheesh is right. What a troll. The thing about the UCL interviews is, they are not just Spanish press, it’s press from all over Europe, possibly the world; which puts these appearances on a much larger scale. Usually they throw Nacho or Arbie out there. THIS IS CRISTIANO, SHOW SOME RESPECT! There is no need to speak of any other teams at this stage of the competition other than the 2 involved in the next match. I did like his crying child analogy. Sadly, now he probably won’t speak to the press again until next season. 😦

    • mygypsyspirit February 17, 2016 at 12:04 pm #

      To be fair, they should show respect to any of the players who give interviews. But he’s the only one that they would ask these questions of. And to be quite honest, I think they ask certain questions JUST to get him to react like this. Then they can write about how horrible of a person he is. Because it’s what they all believe to be true in the first place.

    • headbandsandheartbreak February 17, 2016 at 3:58 pm #

      I think it’s ridiculous how they talk to him. They’d never do that to Messi. They’re too busy giving him a tongue bath 24/7.

  2. jellyace February 18, 2016 at 7:25 am #

    Bad Touch Ramos is at it again, and beside him, Marcelo is trying to protect his own!

Leave a Reply

