UPDATE: Real Madrid Vs. Chelsea Date And Location Confirmed

24 Mar

international-champions-cupICC has announced the date and location of the Real Madrid/Chelsea match. It will take place on Saturday, July 30th at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. Prepare to pay $200 for tickets only to have to stand and not see shit for 90 straight minutes with 108,999 other soccer fans. (No, I’m not bitter at all).

It’s no secret that I had an absolutely miserable time in Michigan when Real Madrid played Manchester United. I had splashed out for really pricey seats in something like the 13th row but unfortunately had knee surgery a few weeks before the match. So I was walking with a cane and couldn’t stand. Everyone around us insisted on standing for the whole match (because that’s what they do at University of Michigan American football games – need I point out that this was not such an occasion)? And that meant people who were short had to stand on their seats and well, you can imagine how fun it was. Then fans got belligerent when asked to sit down so others could see. It was a gigantic clusterfuck. I had flown in from NY, rented a car, got a hotel, etc. all to look at the arses of drunk United fans who hurled verbal abuse at everyone around them. And lest you think our fans were angels, they were not. Dickheads everywhere. I did meet some very lovely people but the overall vibe was not good. I felt especially bad for the family with the 3 kids behind us who were crying because they couldn’t see the  match at all. They must have shelled out well over $1000 to go to that match. I was crying too, in anger, thinking of my bank balance. Finally, I spoke to the ushers and I was whisked to the top of the stadium and given a seat where I could see perfectly and was located next to a Guinness stand with no line. It wasn’t the 13th row, but at least I could see the damn match. I loved the University of Michigan staff. They even gave me a golf cart ride back to my car so I didn’t have to walk. But the whole experience left a bad taste in my mouth.  And poor mygypsyspirit and Mandi had to deal with my foul mood and bitching to boot. So yeah, probably only going to go to  Real Madrid/Bayern Munich match this time.

Here’s the full schedule of the team’s ICC appearances, complete with times:

Wednesday, July 27 – 7:30 PM –  Ohio Stadium – Columbus, OH vs. PSG

Saturday, July 30 – 3:00 PM – Michigan Stadium – Ann Arbor, MI vs. Chelsea

Wednesday, August 3rd – – 7:30 PM –  MetLife Stadium – East Rutherford, NJ vs. Bayern Munich

Ticket pre-sale starts Tuesday, March 29 and to the general public on Tuesday, April 5th. Visit ICC for more information.

– Grumpily reminiscing Lozil

9 Responses to “UPDATE: Real Madrid Vs. Chelsea Date And Location Confirmed”

  1. hopechaser March 24, 2016 at 7:02 pm #

    Well, cross this game off my fantasy list. Guess I’ll just dream about the PSG one, ’cause it won’t be a possibility. Just not my year for football games. 😦

    • Mandy March 25, 2016 at 5:40 am #

      I have a feeling that these matches, coming on the backside of two major tournaments, The Euros and The Copas will not feature many first teamers but instead a lot of the subs and youth players. But I would do anything affordable to attend the Jersey matchup of Real vs Bayern.

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 25, 2016 at 2:43 pm #

      Well, don’t let my drama derail that dream. Tickets start at $55 so you could get something. I just wouldn’t recommend splashing out for the expensive tickets, esp. if you’re of shorter stature!

      • hopechaser March 27, 2016 at 11:02 pm #

        I couldn’t afford expensive tickets unless it was happening in my city. Cheap(est) seats only. Drawback of being a short-term consultant is no time off while on the job. And what happened to you likely would have been close to my experience as well in such a situation (minus the knee drama). Makes me all the more glad I such great indoor seats available to go to during WWC when the crowds got to be too much out in the stands.

        • headbandsandheartbreak March 29, 2016 at 12:53 pm #

          Yeah, I’m sick of fighting with annoying fans. I just want to watch the actual game in peace. That said when mygypsyspirit and I went to see Arsenal, we were sitting in the cheap seats and some drunk dude was out of control screaming and exposing himself right near us and we paid $150 for that privilege (yeah, those were the cheap seats for that match). But I can’t imagine that happening at Met Life Stadium.

  2. mygypsyspirit March 25, 2016 at 2:46 pm #

    I’m kind of upset that a major city like DC has not had one of these matches in over 4 years….

  3. camimadridista March 26, 2016 at 11:22 am #

    We’re heading to Columbus this year, but I couldn’t agree more about NOT shelling out significant money for prime seats. My daughter and I had a girls trip to LA in 2013 to see a platinum Ramos and splurged on front row tickets. Our view was completely obstructed by several press members and other LA looky-loos, who probably didn’t even know who was playing. Lessoned learned . . . never again!

    • headbandsandheartbreak March 29, 2016 at 12:54 pm #

      Exactly! It’s so annoying! You pay all that money and you’re still screwed. 😦 I just want to see the match.

Leave a Reply

