Ready For Eibar

8 Apr

Satellite (11)The team had their last training session before meeting Eibar tomorrow.

At kickoff, Shigs and I will be starting a long day of attempting to find me an apartment, which seems more like a tour of cubicles and hovels. Sigh.

Everyone was available besides the rehabbing Baby & Benz. Pip Borja Mayoral (aka mygypsyspirit’s hair boyfriend) joined the first team.

Presser

Satellite (16)FROM REALMADRID.COM

Zidane: “We have to beat Éibar and then we’ll think about the Champions League”
by Nacho Diaz

“We have to go out strong and give our opponents no chance”, added the Real Madrid coach.

Zinedine Zidane faced the media at Real Madrid City the day before the match against Éibar (Saturday, 4:00pm CEST): “We have to go out strong and be on our game, and not give them any chance. We have to beat Éibar and then we’ll think about the Champions League. We must respect our opponents, they are going to come out strong, but we know what we have to do to make the game easier”.

“I don’t expect a bad reception from the fans, I’m sure they’ll be with us. We’re playing for our season on Tuesday, we know that, it’s an important game and I think the fans enjoy that as well. I like it when things get tough, and I believe the fans do too, on occasions. Nobody expected what happened in the first game but this is football and it’s in the past now”.

Rotations and injuries
“Cristiano will play against Éibar. There will be changes, but only thinking about tomorrow’s game; Tuesday’s tie is another match. The idea is that these players will train separately. Karim is still feeling pain from the knock on his knee at the moment, the plan is for him to continue his individual program. They’ll definitely train tomorrow, they worked in the indoor facilities today and I hope to have both of them ready for Tuesday”.

The future
“A coach is playing for his job in every match. I know the responsibility of being at this club but I don’t look at it like that. It’s what I’m doing every day that motivates me. I enjoy it and it drives me. I don’t think about the negative things that may happen because I’ve always been positive and I always will be. I’m relaxed about these things and I’m positive”.

“What we have to do is not drop another point.”

“We have to think that when I started in this job, I knew what I was getting myself into, otherwise I wouldn’t have taken it on. I’m very relaxed, and what drives me every day, is how I can improve the team. If I get knocked out of a competition, everything could change, that’s part of football but I don’t think about it. I’m just thinking about the rest of the season, I have a job to do and I accept my responsibility to this project. We’ll see what happens at the end of the season, but for now I’m very relaxed”.

Champions League tie
“In the end perhaps I got things wrong. They scored two goals in not much time and that was our mistake. We weren’t able to turn the game around but it’s happened now, and we concentrate on doing the job tomorrow. We know we let ourselves down, but we shouldn’t dwell on it. I’m concentrating on what we’ve been doing recently, that’s been good, and that can’t be changed in one game. Beating Barcelona was great but it’s just 3 points and I’m not going to go mad just because of what happened against Wolfsburg. The players know what happened and what we have to do now”.

“We were certainly missing something, but it wasn’t intensity. It was the second best match in terms of how much we ran, even more than in Barcelona. That means nothing because we lost the game. They scored goals in a short amount of time and that was the mistake, but not due to lack of intensity. We were strong in the first 15 minutes like always, we had chances to get a goal”.

Danilo
“I don’t regret starting him. I accept my responsibility and he didn’t play as badly as people are saying. We did everything poorly. It’s easy to single people out, but I prefer to do things differently”.

James
“It’s best to avoid images like this, and he knows it. It’s a moment of two or three seconds but he knows they can pick up on these things. What happened didn’t affect James’ thinking, he’s committed and focused. I didn’t like it but we have to leave it in the past because he’s committed to the project, as we all are”.

Favourites
“I’m not bothered about bets in favour of Madrid. It’s best not to bet, I don’t recommend it, I don’t like it. At the start of every game, they always say Madrid are favourites. I say that the talk of favourites always comes before the game, but after the game it’s 50/50. I like the idea of playing a difficult match”.

La Liga
“What we have to do, is not drop another point, that much is clear. Tomorrow’s objective is a victory and nothing more. I don’t get involved in whether or not we can win La Liga, the important thing is not to drop points”.

Call Ups

The following players were called up for the match against Eibar:

Goalkeepers: Casilla, Rubén Yáñez and Craninx.
Defenders: Pepe, Nacho, Marcelo, Carvajal, Arbeloa and Danilo.
Midfielders: Kroos, James, Bale, Kovacic, Casemiro and Isco.
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Borja Mayoral, Lucas Vázquez and Jesé.

Oh and Cris is now our all time scorer at home in La Liga beating Di Stefano’s record. Mazel tov!

And because it makes me happy and was before our sadness, enjoy this Adidas Gamedayplus with Gareth, Marcelo, James,  Keylor and Lucas. Check out Keylor’s bitchin’ Scorpion kick starting at around 1:30

– Lozil

3 Responses to “Ready For Eibar”

  1. mygypsyspirit April 8, 2016 at 7:12 pm #

    I have Borja hair envy. Don’t hate!

  2. Mandy April 9, 2016 at 5:06 pm #

    What was Zidane addressing in regards to James? I missed something.

    • headbandsandheartbreak April 9, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

      The cameras caught James laughing on the sidelines while warming up while the team was down 2-0 to Wolfsburg and a big deal was made about it.

Leave a Reply

