Ready To Take On Valencia

7 May

Training games

Sorry but this will be a fly by post. I have friends in town from Maine and I’m attempting to be social.

Tomorrow we take on Valencia at home. The team had their last training before that match.

Bale, Navas, and Carvajal all worked out indoors. Zizou let Castilla goalkeeper, Álex Craninx join the session as well.

Presser

Zizou

FROM REALMADRID.COM

Zidane: “We’ve won the last 10 games and we’ve got to keep this run going”
Javier Garcia | Photographer: Victor Carretero

“Valencia are a tough side, they play good football and are on a good run of results”, he added.

Zidane appeared before the media to analyse the match against Valencia, which his team will be looking to win in order to stay in the La Liga title race: “It’s important to give our all to get the points and we’re ready to do it. We know it’s not going to be easy, we’ve got a difficult opponent who play good football and arrive on the back of some good results. The plan is to go out on to the pitch at full throttle, believe in our strength at home and do all we can to get the three points”.

“We’ve won 10 La Liga games in a row and we have to keep this run going. We’ve got two games left and they are both finals. We’re still very much in the race, that’s what I am telling the team. We’ve got to believe in our chances until the end. There are two games to go, we’re behind and we must keep moving forward and doing our best to win the match, and then we’ll see what happens”.

Champions League final
“Being in the final is a reflection of all the work we’ve done, especially the players. It’s a job well done, we’ve had to fight, it’s not been easy. We’ve had tough moments but by working hard, and with the quality this team has, we can achieve things. We’re all happy for everyone involved in Real Madrid and everything that the club symbolises”.

Injuries
“Having players injured is a problem for the coach. There are three who won’t play for us tomorrow and we have to be patient. Then we’ve got time for them to recover before the final. Injury problems are inevitable in the final stages of the season. We’ve got a big enough squad to deal with it and everyone will step up tomorrow”.

“I think Cristiano is going to play. He’s fine, he looks great to me. The best way to prepare for the final is to focus on the two games we’ve got left in La Liga. He’s the first to want to play, it’s important for him to play. Benzema will be with us tomorrow and he is ready to be involved. For how long, I’m not sure, it depends how he’s feeling. We’re not thinking about the final. We’re thinking about our two remaining games”.

Arbeloa
“He’s an important player for Real Madrid. A special person. He’s always fought hard for the shirt and everything he’s given Madrid has been outstanding. He’s won everything in football and he’ll be with us tomorrow as he always has been. He’s very professional, committed in training, he’s always been that way. Tomorrow, we have to play first and then, if necessary, there’ll be a party for him. We still haven’t spoken about renewing his contract. Now is not the time. Tomorrow’s game is the most important thing and he’ll be with the group”.

“We’ve won nothing yet. I have to give my best and take it day by day. We’ve got three games left and that’s all I’m concentrating on. After the remaining games, we’ll see what we’re going to do at the end of the season. I’m very happy. I enjoy what I’m doing. I’m learning every day and I’m happy to be at this great club and to be coaching these players”.

Four months leading the team
“I can’t change anything about these months. Life is like that, there are good moments and bad. You have to be convinced you can improve. I’m pleased with the work we’re all doing and I’m really proud of the players, they’re the ones who give us things to smile about. The staff and the fans, too. I’ve been here for a long time, even if it doesn’t seem like that with my Spanish. There’s something Spanish in me. I’ve been living here for a long time and I have a very special relationship with the players and the fans”.

His work
“I’ve always been competitive. I’ve had to fight for things ever since I was young. I’m very happy with what I’m doing, you can’t put a price on it. I love being with the players every day and going to training. Being at these press conferences is part of my job. I don’t appear in public aside from at the press conferences. I am protective of my private life. I just carry on with what I’m doing, I don’t talk for the sake of it”.

Call Ups

The following players were called up for the match vs. Valencia:

Goalkeepers: Casilla, Rubén Yáñez and Álex Craninx.
Defenders: Varane, Pepe, Ramos, Nacho, Marcelo, Arbeloa and Danilo.
Midfielders: Kroos, James, Casemiro, Kovacic, Modric and Isco.
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Benzema, Lucas Vázquez and Jesé.

PRE-MATCH MEET-UP:
Sunday 8 May at 11:30am at the Santiago Bernabéu.

Let’s get this done boys!

-mygypsyspirit

Leave a Reply

