Champions League Final Preparations Start, A Call Up & Not The Usual Suspects

17 May

Satellite (12)Los Blancos got down to business today and began preparing for the Champions League final. I should probably do the same – practice screaming at the top of my lungs and get my biceps prepared to lift those pints. Training pays off, kids!

The Pips (Odegaard, Mayoral and Llorente) joined the first team for the session.

Some good news – Lucas Vasquez is back to training. I like this kid so much.

Satellite (3)

And he got some great news! He’s been chosen as part of Spain’s provisional squad for the Euros. Here’s a video of the moment he found out. He looks so chuffed and also a bit shy. It’s very sweet. Mazel tov Lucas!

So who did get called up for Spain? Not all the usual suspects, that’s for sure. I think it’s definitely time for some new blood and I do like seeing some of the wealth spread around La Liga. Our current first teamers are in bold, former first teamers in italics and our out on loan players in bold & italics.

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Porto), David De Gea (Manchester United), Sergio Rico (Sevilla)

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Marc Bartra (Barcelona), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea), Mikel San Jose (Athletic Bilbao), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid)

Midfielders: Bruno Soriano (Villarreal), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Isco (Real Madrid), David Silva (Manchester City), Pedro Rodriguez (Chelsea), Cesc Fabregas (Chelsea), Saul Niguez (Atletico Madrid)

Forwards: Aritz Aduriz (Athletic Bilbao), Nolito (Celta Vigo), Alvaro Morata (Juventus), Lucas Vazquez (Real Madrid)

Players to join training squad

Sergio Asenjo (Villarreal), Pau Lopez (Espanyol), Hector Bellerin (Arsenal), Diego Llorente (Rayo Vallecano), Jorge Mere (Sporting Gijon), Jonny Castro (Celta Vigo), Pablo Fornals (Malaga), Marco Asensio (Espanyol), Denis Suarez (Villarreal), Inaki Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad)

Notable snubs: Paco Alcacer (who scored 5 goals in the qualifiers), Juan Mata, Santi Cazorla, Fernando Torres & Diego Costa. We all know how much I love Costa (not even one fucking little bit) so I could care less about him. I feel bad about Nando, but expected it. But no Sernando? BAH. Sadly, we won’t be privy to Tormata sitting on the couch at home scarfing down Doritos and snarkily bitching about everyone’s performance, but you know that’s gonna happen.

What do you think? I was pretty surprised by the inclusion of some people who had crappy seasons. ::cough:: not gonna mention any names you KNOW who you are ::cough:: but less surprised at some of the folks who were left out due to doubts as to their fitness.

Interview

Satellite (13)FROM REALMADRID.COM

Isco: “In Milan we’re going to give everything and put our heart and soul into it for the fans”

“It’s going to be a difficult battle but we’re going in to it in great shape and with a lot of desire to reward our fans”, said the centre midfielder.

11 days until the Champions League final, Isco explains how Real Madrid will approach the match against Atlético: “In Milan we are going to give everything and put our heart and soul into it for the fans. It’s going to be a difficult battle but we’re going in to it in great shape and with a lot of desire to reward our fans on the 28th of May”.

“The team is really looking forward to it and is very strong. Both teams are going in to it in their best form. Atlético are tough, they know how to read the game well, especially against teams who take the initiative, they’ve knocked out Barcelona and Bayern. We’re going to try to make as few mistakes as possible. Anything can happen. We hope that the cup will be coming back to the Bernabéu”.

The team’s season
“It’s been a difficult year, with highs and lows. We didn’t start well but there are times when decisions must be made and things have improved. We’re going in to the end of the season in the best form possible”.

His trajectory
“I’m happy with what I’ve achieved but excited by the future. There is no better place to win titles than at Real Madrid. My aim is to work day by day because I’m an ambitious player and I’ve still got a lot to demonstrate”.

“Zidane has been an injection of morale for us.”

“There’s nothing to say about Zidane. The results endorse that. We fought for La Liga until the end and we’ve made it to the Champions League final. He’s been an injection of moral for us. He’s an example for me and for everyone. He has won almost everything and he entertained everyone. It’s an honour that someone like him coaches you”.

Called up for the provisional squad for the Euros
“I found out in the changing room when I saw my mobile and I’m very happy and proud to be on the list. I was really looking forward to seeing the list. It’s been a difficult year. I don’t know if I’ll go to the European Cup because there are still two players who’ll miss out. I hope to be there and help out”.

The inclusion of Lucas Vázquez
“He got a little ovation because he wasn’t expecting it, but he’s shown with his hard work that he deserves to be on the list. He’s really happy and proud because it’s something that he’s achieved with his work. We’re really happy for him”.

Who will you be rooting for in the Euros? For me, my number 1 will always be the ancestral homeland of Italy. But my other loves are Germany and Spain. How could I not? I don’t know about you, but I’m looking forward to all the football this summer – Copa America, Olympics, Euros. It’s going to be awesome!

– Lozil

3 Responses to “Champions League Final Preparations Start, A Call Up & Not The Usual Suspects”

  1. mygypsyspirit May 17, 2016 at 8:29 pm #

    I’m relatively unsurprised at Santi being left out (he is only just back from injury) but no Mata?! I wouldn’t say he had the best of seasons but I’d pick him over a couple others. And Bellerin was only called for training?! BAH!

    I’m not attached to my ancestral homelands as they’re sorta everywhere. And my dislike of Germany dates back to before the Berlin Wall came down (yes, I’m old enough to remember that). I still love a large number of Belgian players (Lukaku!!!!) and I think I have to take Wales out for a spin as they are sorta the underdogs.

    • mygypsyspirit May 17, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

      Also, the match post is coming. I just got home. We had a fire in our building today and I spent an hour waiting in the rain to be able to go back into the office. Then we had no water. It was an interesting day.

      • jellyace May 20, 2016 at 8:20 am #

        That is awful. Just glad that you are safe. Hope your office is not water-logged.

Leave a Reply

