La Undécima Is Ours!

28 May

Champions-League-trophyWell,we’re still  busy screaming our lungs out and celebrating here so more later, but Hala Madrid y nada más!

CAMPEONES! CAMPEONES! OE OE OE!

– Lozil

12 Responses to “La Undécima Is Ours!”

  1. Katie Ann May 28, 2016 at 10:16 pm #

    AMAZING!!!!!! So happy for this team!!!! I was coaching today, so I had to sneak a look at the score on my phone every so often- such a nerve-wracking day, but it ended so well!

  2. jellyace May 29, 2016 at 5:10 am #

    So happy for the madridistas! I was cringing during the penalty shootout! Y nada mas, Hala Madrid!

    I wondered if this is the end of Sernando…

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 30, 2016 at 9:29 pm #

      How stressful was that? Yeah, I can see how this would put an eternal wedge between them. My heart broke for Nando, but of course, I wanted us to win.

      • jellyace May 31, 2016 at 8:25 am #

        When Sergio tackled Nando quite roughly, I wondered if that would stay on the pitch, as they say or dig a deeper furrow between them. And that was way before we knew how the match would end. To see Nando cry was tough but if not for the goalpost, it could have been Sergio crying.

        It’s ironic that as Nando’s career is fading, Sergio is captain and wins Undecima.

  3. Ana May 30, 2016 at 2:44 pm #

    I watched the game on the big screen in the Santiago Bernabeu, it was a fantastic atmosphere! then thousands dancing in the streets around Cibeles until 8am, incredible! I was also lucky enough to be at the stadium party on Sunday night, just amazing! the fireworks, the cheering! the singing! the dry ice! LA UNDECIMAAAAA!!!!!!! Oh and at the moment I’m watching real Madrid Castilla battle out their playoff on Real Madrid TV and Granero is there, looking mighty fine!

    • watishistacorrespondents May 30, 2016 at 8:42 pm #

      That sounds amazing! I’m so excited that you got to experience that!

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 30, 2016 at 9:26 pm #

      Ana! I’m so happy you got to do that! It sounds absolutely incredible! And Granero was at the match? Guess we know how he started out his honeymoon then. 🙂

      • Ana May 31, 2016 at 5:02 am #

        Yes, the Granero wedding thing was a bit of a surprise! I hope he has somewhere nice lined up for honeymoon as the Castilla only drew, sadly. I heard Madridistas still singing in the streets last night, altho thankfully the guy I saw/heard trying to hail a taxi with his megaphone at 5am on Sunday must’ve got home! So many funny scenes and deliriously happy people!

        • jellyace May 31, 2016 at 8:26 am #

          How amazing to be there and experience all of it!

  4. Nats May 30, 2016 at 8:29 pm #

    Frustrating game, in 2nd half i though Athletico will take it.
    Also can we start a petition to have Ramos shave off his beard before Euros, I could not cheer on spain when he looks like that

    • headbandsandheartbreak May 30, 2016 at 9:28 pm #

      I was terrified. And I’m with you about the beard. Mygypsyspirit and I were talking about the need for him to get rid of that nonsense and Kelly from The Football Ramble and I were tweeting during the final – she said “I’m not supporting that beard, you can’t make me!” 😉 I’ve gotta agree on that sentiment.

Leave a Reply

