OFC Nations Cup Has A Winner

12 Jun

Ckqfy5IUkAAMIVnCongratulations to the All Whites who beat Papua New Guinea 4-2 on penalties to win the 2016 OFC Nations Cup! This is the 5th time New Zealand have won the Cup. They previously won in 1973, 1998, 2002, and 2008.

This was an historic game for Papua New Guinea too. This was the first time the nation has played in the final of the competition in its 43-year-history. And they did it in front of their home crowd. Both exciting and comforting!

With the win New Zealand booked their spot at the 2017 Confederations Cup in Russia. They’ll join Germany, Australia (Asia), Chile (South America), and Mexico (CONCACAF) in waiting to see who will represent Europe and Africa.

Additionally, the top three teams in each group (New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Tahiti, Solomon Islands, Fiji, and New Caledonia) will now advance to the third round of the 2018 World Cup Qualification process. These games will take place between March – October 2017, with the winner heading to the play-off round November 2017.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: