Ready For Sevilla & The UEFA Super Cup

8 Aug

G_ZIDANE_3AM3222Thumb,0The team headed off to Trondheim today in preparation for the UEFA Super Cup match vs. Sevilla.

We also debuted our new Hugo Boss official suits and looked mighty fine at it!

Pressers

_3AM3597_H,1FROM REALMADRID.COM

Zidane: “We’ll have to be focused and work hard right from the off”
by Javier Garcia (Trondheim) | Photographer: Angel Martinez/Antonio Vilallba

“It’s a game that both sides are wanting to win and we’re ready for it”, declared the Whites’ coach.

Zinedine Zidane took his place alongside Sergio Ramos at the media room at the Lerkendal Stadion on the eve of the European Super Cup (Tuesday, 8:45pm CEST), where the Whites’ coach had the following to say ahead of the showpiece against Sevilla: “We’re going to have to play well, be focused from the off and work hard. We’ve got to do everything in our power and in football when you give 100% things can then go either way”.

“I’m not worried by the players that aren’t available. They’ve been at the European Championship and then have had their holidays, that’s to be expected. This is what the players need following on from the Euros and after a very tough season. I would have liked to have everyone with us, but it’s for the best that Kroos and Bale stay back and train in Madrid, because they’ve only just reported back. Cristiano and Pepe are getting better and they’ll be back on 10 August. I’m glad that things are starting up again, I’m not concerned”.

Benzema
“He’s fine, he didn’t feature in the games and we won’t be risking anything with Karim. I’m happy that he’s with us. He’s done all of the preparation with us and we’ll see what happens tomorrow. Let’s hope that he doesn’t have any further issues”.

Favourites
“We’re not the favourites. It’s a game that both sides are wanting to win. I want us to be ready for it and I believe that we are. There are four or five players who aren’t available and we can’t do anything about that. We’re here with the players who’ve prepared to play in this final and that’s all there is to it”.

“Pre-season went very well and it gave us the time to ready ourselves. First of all out in Canada we had time to train and then in the United States we had the three games. There wasn’t much travelling and everything was perfect and all very comfortable”.

Odegaard
“He’s training with us. He completed pre-season and I’m happy with him. We’ll have to decide what’ll happen with him and up until 31 August anything can happen. My thinking is that he’s got to play. We know that at Real Madrid that’ll be difficult because we’ve got a lot of players. That’s the advice, that he gets some minutes”.

Morata
“Juventus represent an important club in his career, the same goes for me. It’s a good place to develop and I think that Morata has come on a lot. He’s returned home to Real Madrid, he’s doing well and is working very hard. He listens and he’s ready for the challenges that lie ahead in what’ll be a very tough season”.

The squad
“I’m very happy with the squad I’ve got, this is the squad we won things with last season. We need to once again go out and show that we ready for whatever comes our way. We’ve got our first game tomorrow and we go into it with this squad and the players who are here. The aim is to give our all so that afterwards we can’t have any complaints”.

Pogba
“I’ve got nothing to say, he’s a Manchester United player and that’s all there is to it. I wish him all the best. That’s the price they paid for him and that’s that. We’ve got a lot of players in the middle of the park and I’m not going to be asking for another one. I don’t know how we’re going to go about making sure they all play. All of the players who remain at the club will be important ones, because the most important thing is the squad”.

_3AM3550_Thumb,0FROM REALMADRID.COM

Ramos: “We want to lift another title and dedicate it to our fans”
by Javier Garcia (Trondheim) | Photographer: Angel Martinez/Antonio Vilallba

“It’s never too early to be playing in a final and we’re ready for it”, added the captain.

Speaking at the pre-match press conference, Sergio Ramos expressed his confidence that Real Madrid will overcome Sevilla to lift the European Super Cup: “It’s always special to be in a final and this is our reward for the hard work we put in last season. It’s great to start the campaign fighting for silverware and it’s exciting. I’m optimistic, I’m excited at the prospect of going for another title and I hope that we’ll be bringing it back to Madrid, where we’ll dedicate it to our fans”.

“Whenever I come up against Sevilla it’s always a special occasion. These are my two teams and that won’t change. I’m now defending Real Madrid’s colours and I’ll be doing all I can to ensure that we bring the cup back to the Spanish capital with us. I’ll be looking out for what we do, but I’ve got a real affinity towards Sevilla”.

Objectives
“The personal and team objectives go together. I link my personal targets in with my professional life. I want to perform to my best of my ability and produce my best for the team. Being at this club means that we’re duty-bound to fight for every title. I’ll be doing all I can to look after myself, resting up well and I hope to be fortunate with injuries”.

“It’s never too early to be playing in a final. You always have to be ready and we’ve worked really hard this pre-season. We may have some big players out, but we’ve got a great squad. We’re going to go out there and put in a performance, regardless of who plays. We’ve got some young players who are excited to be here and there’s no doubt that we’re ready for the final”.

Jesé
“We’re not the ones who make these decisions. I admire him and I’ve got a special affinity towards him. I’ve tried to offer him advice and I wish him all the best for the future. He’s had some very good years and put in some fine performances here and we’re proud of his efforts. We wish him all the best and it’s a shame that he’s gone. The doors are open for his return, because in football you just never know, one day you can be at one club and the next you’re elsewhere”.

Pintus
“Comparisons are no good to anyone. Everyone has got their own particular way of training. Pre-season is a small examination to ensure that we go into the season in the best possible shape. We’re really pleased with him, he’s a great pro. I’m happy with the shape that I’ve come back in and I hope to have better luck with injuries this year and that I can be available more than I was last season”.

The following players were called up for the match:

Goalkeepers: Casilla, Yáñez and Luca.
Defenders: Carvajal, Ramos, Varane, Nacho, Danilo and Marcelo.
Midfielders: James, Casemiro, Kovacic, Modric, Isco, Asensio and M. Llorente.
Forwards: Benzema, Lucas Vázquez, Morata and Mariano.

Interview

_1RM0718Thumb,0FROM REALMADRID.COM

Casilla: “We’ll go in to the Super Cup in good shape”

“This year we’re playing in a lot of competitions and we’re going to go for all of them”, said the goalkeeper.

Kiko Casilla spoke about the first title that the team will play for this season in an interview with Mahou as he begins the second season under Zidane: “Pre-season is always difficult, but it is very important to prepare for the season. We’ve done a good job and the physical training has been of the highest standard. I think we’ll go in to the season in good shape”.

“Starting with a win in the European Super Cup gives you a boost and increases optimism that will be useful during the season. Everything that Real Madrid play for we must try to win. This year we’re playing in a lot of competitions and we’re going to go for all of them. It will be difficult but we have to go for everything”.

European final
“Playing in the European Super Cup is a dream. I’m lucky to have come through the academy at Real Madrid and I remember that when I got here at 14 years of age and stopped next to the Bernabéu, I said that I hoped to one day play here. I’ve been lucky to be able to do that and now I’ve got the opportunity to play an important European game, a final. It’s been a dream since I was young”.

“While ever there are Spanish teams taking part in European competitions it signals that La Liga is in good health and I hope it stays like this for many years. The national side have also done their bit by winning European Championships and the World Cup”.

Zidane
“Everyone knows what he was as a footballer, the best in the world. I was lucky to be able to train with him when I was in the academy and he gave me one of his boots. Now as a coach he tries to have his own philosophy and he’s doing very well. Last year he showed what he can do. This year he wants more and he’s going to demand more from us”.

Morata’s return
“He went out to the Italian league which is a difficult league and he’s had to work a lot to come back. I think he’s done very well and he is going to bring a lot to the team”.

The team had a training session tonight at Lerkendal Stadion.

The team is currently chilling at the hotel Clarion and Congress until the match tomorrow.

Hala Madrid!

– Lozil

Leave a Reply

