The Return of King Muppet Baby

15 Aug

_3AM2776Thumb,0He’s baaaaack! Alvaro Morata has returned home to the Bernabeu and was officially presented today.

Wow, he’s so grown up! Remember when he looked like this back in 2011? Toddler!

It’s really good to see him home and I can’t wait to see him playing again at a Bernabeu.

Presser

_1RM4554_hThumb,0FROM REALMADRID.COM

Morata: “I’m at home and at the best club in the world”

“I’m a madridista and I’m looking forward to playing at the Santiago Bernabéu again”, said the Whites’ forward.

After being presented in the presidential box at the Santiago Bernabéu and going out on to the pitch, Álvaro Morata spoke to the media accompanied by the director of Institutional Relations Emilio Butragueño: “I’m at the best club in the world, the club that has won 11 European Cups and hopefully can win many more titles”.

“It’ been a quiet summer. I would have liked to have had less holidays due to the European Championship, but I’ve been relaxed as if Real Madrid wanted me, I would be here. The coach and the club have shown me love and confidence, they’ve taken a big chance on me. This is the most difficult place to play and score goals, but I’m going to give everything to play here. I’m a madridista and I’m looking forward to playing at the Santiago Bernabéu again”.

Change
“I’ve changed a lot in these two years. I went without having played in important games, without the experience that I’ve now got, I’ve grown as a footballer and a person. When you leave your home you have to fight for your life and more so in one of the biggest clubs in the world as was my case, you have to grow. I’ve matured and acquired what I was lacking to play for Real Madrid”.

Competition
“Real Madrid and Juventus are two teams in the top level in Europe. At Juve I had competition, but the best players in the world are here. I’m going to give everything in order to play. I’ll train well and try to always be a starter, although this is a team and I can’t only think about myself, if not I’d play tennis or chess. The coach decides. He has shown confidence in me and it’s obvious that the three who play up front are from another world”.

“Considering I’ve only officially played 60 minutes, I’m not worried that I’ve not scored. Pre-season games are to help get up to speed. We’ve won all but one game and the team is physically in good shape. I’m hoping to score lots of goals, but I’m not worried that I’ve not scored yet”.

Changing room
“The welcome I got couldn’t have been better. It’s as if I’ve not been away. They’ve all looked after me, showing me a lot of love. Emilio (Butragueño) wrote to me while I was away and I’m very grateful for things like that”.

Important goal
“I’ve come motivated to score a lot of important goals and I’ll give whatever it take to score a goal in the semi-final of the Champions League again. I’ve already said that the goal I scored here with Juve gave me a strange feeling because it meant that a lot of friends couldn’t play in the Champions League final”.

Message for the academy players
“At Real Madrid you’re at the best club in the world, certainly one of the most difficult to make it to the first team. But in recent years the academy is working and I’d like to say to the boys that they should fight for their dreams, nothing is impossible”.


Welcome home, Alvaro!

– Lozil

2 Responses to “The Return of King Muppet Baby”

  1. brendongormley August 16, 2016 at 9:10 am #

    Reblogged this on brendongormley.

  2. jellyace August 17, 2016 at 11:33 am #

    Isco Cutie Pie must be so thrilled!

Leave a Reply

