Match Recap:Real Madrid 5 – 2 Osasuna

12 Sep

modric-celebrates

Our first match back from the international break gave us another win and the return our favorite over-tanner.

My classes started this week, so things will be quick and dirty from here on.

I missed the second half of the match because I decided to take an acting class. That had me out and about in DC on Saturday afternoon with my favorite Hamilton-obsessed, Real Madrid fan. You can blame her if I make Hamilton references over the next few posts. I constantly have at least one song from the show stuck in my head and have decided that I really want to play King George. If anyone would cast a woman as a male character, it would be Hamilton. I might start a campaign.

Pre-Match Social Media:

Starting Lineups:

Real Madrid: Kiko Casilla, Danilo, Sergio Ramos, Pepe, Nacho, Toni Kroos, Luka Modric, Matteo Kovacic, Gareth Bale, Alvaro Morata, Cristiano Ronaldo

Osasuna: Nauzet Perez, Tano Bonnin, Miguel Flano, David Garcia, Oier, Emmanuel Riviere, Fausto Tienza, Unai Garcia, Juan Fuentes, Kenan Kodro, Miguel de la Cuevas

tumblr_odbk3s4nrp1qesncyo1_500tumblr_odbk4s2uui1qesncyo1_500tumblr_odbkgtudcx1qesncyo1_500tumblr_odbkgtudcx1qesncyo2_500tumblr_odbkgtudcx1qesncyo3_500

We also had Benzema on the bench. It’s nice to see our guys coming back from injury.

There was a bit of a scare just after the 2nd minute when Modric slipped and it looked like he might have pulled his groin. But he got up and we got his magic for the rest of the match.

Cris wasted no time in getting on the scoresheet. In the 6th minute, Bale slid the ball across and Cris tapped it in.

tumblr_odalo50y5j1qesncyo1_500tumblr_odalo50y5j1qesncyo2_500tumblr_odar8ag7vk1qesncyo1_500

Was it me, or did Cris look exceptionally hot during this match? Not that he’s not always but it was almost shocking.

In the 17th minute, Osasuna player Flano received the first yellow card of the match for a very late challenge on Kovacic.

Unai Garcia picked up a yellow in the 32nd minute and Toni got to take the free kick. It was too close to Perez though.

In the 40th minute, Danilo put the ball low and past Perez for our second goal.

tumblr_odanafiwqw1qesncyo1_500tumblr_odanafiwqw1qesncyo2_500tumblr_odanafiwqw1qesncyo3_500

In the 46th minute, Ramos got his gorgeous head to a corner delivered from #ToniLive. It gave us a 3-0 lead going into the half.

tumblr_odanqlyhqw1qesncyo1_500

Second Half:

I had to leave at halftime for my acting class so I just kept getting notifications on my phone. I had no idea what was going on. It seemed crazy!

In the 56th minute, Pepe gave us a 4-0 lead. Again it was Toni with a fabulous cross and Pepe powered it into the corner with his head.

tumblr_odaqlr2sgk1qesncyo1_500tumblr_odaqlr2sgk1qesncyo2_500

In the 62nd minute, Modric put in a shot after taking the assist from Morata.

tumblr_odaoz7vrbq1qesncyo1_500tumblr_odao8bkwmn1qftb6ko2_500tumblr_odaoz7vrbq1qesncyo2_500tumblr_odao8bkwmn1qftb6ko3_500

But in the 64th minute, Osasuna finally got themselves on the scoresheet. Riera put it into the back corner after a cross from De Las Cuevas.

In the 67th minute, Cris came off to give him a rest and some minutes to Benz.

tumblr_odapw3frdq1qesncyo1_500

In the 72nd minute, Osasuna were awarded a penalty after Ramos committed the foul. Lucky for us, Casilla made the save.

tumblr_odaq7pi8lk1qesncyo1_500

In the 76th minute, Bale made way for Vazquez.

In the 79th minute, Garcia gave Osasuna their second goal.

Bonnin was sent off for Osasuna in the 80th minute after picking up his second yellow card in five minute.

Shortly after, Toni had a great chance to make it 6-2 but his shot went just wide of the post.

After 3 minutes of added time, the game came to an end.

Real Madrid 5 – 2 Osasuna.

To add to it, Barcelona lost to Deportivo Alaves. After only 3 matches played, Real Madrid are top of La Liga with Barcelona in 5th and Atleti in 7th. I know it doesn’t mean much, but I take the little things as they come!

Match Photos:

Post-Match Comments:

zidane-post-match

FROM REALMADRID.COM

Zidane: “We’ll be looking to continue this good run”
by Javier Garcia

“We’ve got very good strength in depth and good players”, insisted the Whites’ coach. 

Zinedine Zidane took to the press room at the Santiago Bernabéu to offer his verdict on the rout over Osasuna. The coach highlighted the manner of victory and commented on the way he rotated his squad: “Today I decided to line up like that. After the international break I needed to think about rotating things. There are a lot of games coming up and we’ve got very good strength in depth and good players. We’ve got another game on Wednesday and we’ll have to see what we do in that one. We’ll be looking to continue this good run, try to win the game and we’ll be giving our all in every match”.

“We spend time in training on set pieces because they’re an important element of the game and, at times, they can open things up for you. Some of our key players are good in the air. I reflect on a win and the three points, which are important as we go on. What’s more, we achieved the victory with players who don’t always get given as much playing time as some of the others”.

Modric
“We know what kind of player he is. He doesn’t need many instructions. He performs well and has got good experience. I’m happy, but not just on account of today’s performance and for the ovation that he got. He deserves it for the effort that he always puts in and not just for today’s display. He’s a lovely lad and I’m pleased for him”.

Cristiano
“I didn’t come to any agreement with him. He was happy to be with us. I enjoyed seeing Cristiano in action, just like everyone else, like the many madridistas at home and everyone who loves Cristiano. I want to always have him here with us, he’s played an hour today and we’ll have to see whether he plays on Wednesday. It had been almost 60 days since his last game and now we’ve got seven games in 21 days and we’ve got to be wary of that”. 

“I hope he scores a lot of goals. He is breaking all of the records and I’m certain he’ll reach 100 goals in the Champions League. He always creates danger and scoring in the first five minutes is incredible”.

Benzema
“I think he’s doing well, in a slightly different position, behind Morata. He was able to play and keep the pace for 30 minutes and I’m happy with what he did. He is ready to play 90 minutes. We will see what happens on Wednesday. He makes things happen when he’s on the bal and he creates danger”.

Kovacic
“What I’m trying to do is instil in him the kind of confidence a player needs when out on the pitch. He is a good player who is doing positive things. He went away with his national team and coming back from the international break is not easy. He wants to play and he shows that in training. After having watched how he played I can only be happy”.

Right-back
“It is difficult for me to pick my starting XI. We have two players who both play incredibly well in that position. I am happy with how Danilo played, he is very professional. What can I say about Carvajal…He steps up every time that he plays. We have a lot of games ahead of us and they will both play”.

cris-post-match

Cristiano Ronaldo: “The team are looking good and solid”
by Nacho Diaz

“We gave absolutely everything to get the three points “, explained Ramos.

Cristiano Ronaldo came back from injury for the game against Osasuna, scoring the first goal of the game. The Portuguese player said: “It was a great feeling and I feel happy. There were a few moments where i felt nervous but that is normal after an injury. I am happy because we won and I scored”.

“I want to win all possible trophies and would love to win LaLiga. It is a title that we will be going after and the team are looking good and solid. We’ve started well and I hope we can continue to do well. It is a long competition, but I am convinced we will win this year”.

Future as a madridista
“At the moment I can’t imagine anything other than seeing out my career at Real Madrid. It is the biggest club in the world and the best players are here. What I really want is to keeping moving forward and to end my career here”.

The start of the Champions League
“Sporting CP means a lot to me, it is where I started out, but now I’m wearing the colours of Real Madrid and I want to win”.

Ramos: “We are in a good dynamic”
“The aim was to win and we have to keep improving, especially at the back, we always have to try to keep a clean sheet. The team set out wanting to play and keep hold of the ball but the circumstances impeded that a bit. The team gave absolutely everything to get the three points and to keep going”.

“At the start, the playing surface was a bit slicker and that allowed us to zip the ball around, but when it dried out that became a bit more difficult. That’s no excuse, though. We’re on a good run and we’re starting to get some of our injured players back and we’re very happy”.

Targets
“Our priority is to try to win every trophy going. It’s been a good few years since we’ve won La Liga and that’s one of our targets, but at Real Madrid you’re duty-bound to win everything and we’ll take things one step at a time”.

Modric: “The return of Cristiano is very important”
“It was a good birthday present. I’m very pleased with the goal and our performance. I want to thank the fans for the affection that they show me each and every day. I want to say that I’ll always give of my best”.

Cristiano Ronaldo’s return
“The fact that he’s back means a lot to us. He’s a great player and his presence and leadership out on the pitch are very important. I’m sure that with every game he plays, he’ll get stronger. Today he got his name on the scoresheet and played very well. In my eyes, Cristiano is the best player in the world, although I don’t like to compare and we should just enjoy watching him and Messi”.

Sporting CP
“We’re in very good shape ahead of the Champions League. We’ve got many players who are back and available and that’s key. There’s greater competition for places and that’s a good thing”.

The quality in the side
“We’ve got an impressive squad. In every position we’ve got two or three players and we’re very happy with that. We just have to keep working hard and improving game by game”.

Post-Match Social Media:

Our Champions League defense starts on Wednesday at home against Ronnie’s first club, Sporting CP.

Our next La Liga match is away to Español on Sunday. Hopefully I can finish homework before then and get all these match posts in!

¡Hala Madrid y Nada Mas!

-mygypsyspirit

(gifs by gutilicious and gfsports)

Leave a Reply

