Thursday Training, Toni Presser & An Award For Cris

13 Oct

_3am7866thumbThe team continued training for Saturday’s match away at Betis. 

Toni & The Baby returned to the group and Castilla’s Enzo & Odegaard joined the party. (Video)

Toni signed his contract extension today so we get the obligatory shots with The ‘Peez and a presser. (Video)

_3am8189thumbFROM REALMADRID.COM

Kroos: “I am very happy to continue here at the biggest club in the world”
by Borja Miranda

“It is a decision that takes the future into consideration, both for myself and Real Madrid, it means that we both want to move forward together”, stated the German.

After signing his contract extension with Real Madrid until 2022, Toni Kroos went to speak in the press room at the Santiago Bernabéu, where a video montage showed his greatest moments at the club: “it is a very special day for me. The opportunity to sign a contract like this only comes along once or twice, and I am very happy to continue here at the biggest club in the world. I would like to thank the club for the faith they have shown in me. I have been very happy here in Madrid since the very first day and I’m really pleased to be here for at least six more years ”.

“It is a decision that takes the future into consideration, both for myself and Real Madrid. It is a long term contract and that means that both parties are happy and want to continue moving forward together. I have always felt the faith of the team, my teammates and the fans. I have always felt fantastic here”.

Titles
“I still have to win LaLiga, which is a really important competition. When you are at Real Madrid you always have to look to win ever competition, but we have the potential to win LaLiga. it is a long journey and you need to be consistent, which is something we have lacked at times, but I’m certain that we will win it”.

“Real Madrid may well be the last team I play for. Those who know me know that when I sign a contract as long term as this, it is not something I take lightly. I spent a lot of time considering this and the end date is no coincidence. I don’t see myself as the kind of player to still be playing at the age of 36, I want to go out at the highest level”.

Offers
“As players we cannot defend ourselves against all of the rumours, that’s why I didn’t say anything in summer. I have been very happy at Real Madrid since day one. I have had two great years and I didn’t consider any other option. Real Madrid thought the exact same and that’s why we made an agreement”.

LaLiga
“I have to admit that I don’t read the newspapers very often and i don’t know how people have criticised Zidane. The team did not play well against Eibar, but they did play well against Las Palmas and Dortmund. Zidane is important to us. He is dedicated and his quality is beyond doubt. There is a really good atmosphere within the team. This isn’t an excuse but we have had injuries to important players. We will need a win in Seville on Saturday”.

Position
“Everyone knows that I prefer to play in the centre, but where exactly in the centre isn’t really important for me. I have played in several positions throughout my career, both offensive and defensive. I like playing in the middle”.

German
“I prefer speaking in German. I want to be completely clear in everything that I say. Someday soon I will give an interview in Spanish for Realmadrid TV, but today i don’t want to commit any errors and I prefer to speak in German”.

And Cris won another award!

cr-marca1thumbFROM REALMADRID.COM

Ronaldo wins the Marca Champions League Nº1 award

The Portuguese man was chosen by Marca readers as the best player in last season’s Champions League.

Cristiano Ronaldo was the star of the event organised by Marca and La Gazzetta dello Sport where he was presented with the Champions League Nº1 award, as voted for by readers on both websites as the best player of last season’s competition, following his 16 goals which helped the team to the La Undécima title. Florentino Pérez and Zinedine Zidane also attended the ceremony.

Cristiano: “It’s a privilege to win this award”
“It’s a privilege to win this award. Thank you to all the readers who voted, and especially to Real Madrid, to my teammates and the fans, who helped us on our way to winning the Champions League. It’s a victory for the team because I’d never be lifting this award if I hadn’t won anything with Real Madrid. I’ve won the Champions League and the Euros, it’s a beautiful moment in my career and my sporting life. It just makes me want to keep working hard for this club. It’s my dream to keep playing for Real Madrid and I really want to stay here for many years because the club holds a special place in my heart”.

Juan Ignacio Gallardo, editor of Marca: “We’re very proud to be able to present you with this award”
“This prize acknowledges Cristiano as the best player in the Champions League, it’s a well-deserved award. It’s decided by millions and millions of people and that’s the true value of this title, that it’s the fans who have voted throughout the competition in order to choose the winner. And an absolutely fair and deserving result has concluded that the trophy be awarded to Cristiano Ronaldo. We’re very proud to be able to present you with this award”.

Gianni Valenti, assistant editor of La Gazzetta: “It’s an honour to award Cristiano”
“It’s an honour to award Cristiano on behalf of so many readers. You’re a well-loved player in Italy, just like at Real Madrid. Every football fan has two teams in their heart: one from their own country and one of the European giants. In Italy there are people who follow Inter and many of them have Real Madrid too. In our paper we always have articles about Ronaldo or Real Madrid. This prize is particularly special because it’s not awarded by journalists or coaches, it’s the prize of the people. That’s why I think it’s more valuable”.

– Lozil

4 Responses to “Thursday Training, Toni Presser & An Award For Cris”

  1. Anonymous October 14, 2016 at 6:41 am #

    Has Cristiano always taken so much care in giving credit to his teammates when he receives an award? He was the same when he got that weird torso trophy from UEFA this august. I haven’t really followed him so much before so I don’t know.

    • headbandsandheartbreak October 14, 2016 at 8:45 pm #

      He definitely has been like that in recent years. He’s really grown and matured over his time at RM. The dude takes massive shit on all fronts but according to his teammates (both national and club), he’s the first at training and the last to leave, has a stellar work ethic and has been really great with his colleagues. He likes to win and he gets frustrated – he’s really driven – that’s totally true, but the arrogant monster he’s often portrayed as in the media is not reality. Can you believe he has more than one of those weird torso trophies? Having that nasty thing in my house would give me nightmares! 🙂

      • Anonymous October 15, 2016 at 1:36 am #

        I don’t know what he had to visualize in his head to be able to kiss it for the photos.

        • headbandsandheartbreak October 15, 2016 at 11:55 am #

          Ha! Me either! He was probably thinking “I’ll be nice and kiss this thing so it doesn’t come alive and kill me in my sleep.” LOL!

Leave a Reply

