Off To Warsaw For Champions League

1 Nov

_he18097thumbThe team headed off to Warsaw for tomorrow’s Champions League match.

Travel

Training

The team had their final training at Wojska Polskiego stadium. (Video)

Presser

zz1_n0y1810thumbFROM REALMADRID.COM

Zidane: “There’ll be no crowd but that doesn’t change anything and we’ll have to be focused from off”
by Alberto Navarro (Warsaw)

“Legia haven’t had the rub of the green results-wise, but they play good football and are capable of making your life difficult at any given time”, explained the Whites’ coach.

Zinedine Zidane took to the media room at the Wojska Polskiego stadium on the eve of the Champions League Matchday 4 group-stage clash against Legia Warszawa to preview the fixture: “It’ll be a tough game against very strong opposition, who play good football. They haven’t had the rub of the green results-wise, but they’re a side that are capable of making life difficult for you at any given time. We’ll be trying to do our best to win. They played very well at the Bernabéu. I watch almost all of the games of the teams that we face and it has been the same for Legia”.

“It’ll likely be a bit of a different game, with it being played behind closed doors, but it doesn’t alter anything for us. We know how important this game is and for my players, who are professionals, it doesn’t change anything. We’ll have to be focused, and with it being a Champions League game, I don’t think there’ll be any issues with the players’ motivation. It doesn’t give us any advantage, I prefer to always play in front of a crowd because that’s what football is all about”.

Experience of playing behind closed doors
“We’ll be playing behind closed doors and our preparations for the game will be just the same as always and the important thing is to take the three points. When I played behind closed doors in Rome it was a bit odd, but these things sometimes happen in football. Our preparations for the game don’t change at all. We’ll have to go out and be focused right from the off”.

“I must improve in all areas and I’m delighted to have reached 100 games as a coach. I hope to continue on in this vein. I enjoy what I’m doing and I hope to remain at this club for many years to come”.

Benzema and Morata
“They’re two key players, both of them will be be handed playing time. I know that you always ask the same thing and I’ll always give you the same answer. There’s really nothing else that I can say about it. I’m interested in the whole squad, not in individual players. You’ll see tomorrow who’ll play”.

Lack of defensive solidity?
“I’m not concerned about it, it’s a fact. In every game we concede, even in the Copa del Rey match and that always bothers you. In football you can’t control everything, you face opposition who can pose problems. During the course of a game you’re always going to have some problems, it’s impossible to perform well for 90 minutes. We can and must improve in all areas of the pitch and that’s something we’re work on in training”.

Security
“Let’s hope that there isn’t a repeat of the things we saw in the first leg. I can’t say any more on it than that. I hope that nothing happens outside the ground and that things run smoothly. I just want the best for the game”.

nacho_n0y1719thumbFROM REALMADRID.COM

Nacho: “I’m ready, I work hard every day to be given chances like this one”
by Alberto Navarro

“It’ll be a strange match, but we must be focused on our game and go out and win”.

Nacho spoke to the media with just over 24 hours to go before Real Madrid take on Legia Warszawa at the Wojska Polskiego stadium and the youth-team graduate had the following to say: “It’ll be a tough game and it’ll be different because we’re playing away from home, behind closed doors. It’ll be a strange one, but we must be focused and go out and win. It’ll be the first time that many of us have ever played behind closed doors. We’ll have to be focused on our game and try to get the three points”.

“I’ve never played in an empty stadium and it’ll be like when I was youngster. There’ll be a ball out there, as there always is, and the same players as always will take to the pitch. You’ll be able to hear everything and I’m sure that the cameras and microphones will be more alert than ever. There are things that go on out on the pitch that are meant to stay there”.

Possible starting berth
“Every member of the squad wants to play, but at Real Madrid there’s a lot of competition and it’s very tough. We want to continue to make the gaffer’s life difficult and he’s said that he’s delighted with our work. For any player it’s easier to play when you play week in, week out. I’m ready to play, I work hard every day to be given chances like this one and I’ll fight hard to get given more opportunities”.

“I feel very good, strong and excited. I work hard to make everything positive and I try to make the most of each and every moment”.

Feeling relaxed
“I’m relaxed because this is my club and it’s where I want to be. I’d love to play every game, but I’m aware of the club I’m at and I’m relaxed about that. Every year I’ve improved my game and when I see that I’m not progressing, decisions will have to be made. I’m relaxed and am feeling happy”.

“Anything can happen in football and each season I try to play more games to gradually try and earn a starting place. I’m happy where I am, I work hard to play 60 games a season and I hope that it’ll one day become a reality”.

Security concerns?
“The security controls are very tight and the players shouldn’t get involved in these things. We have to be focused on the game. We’re relaxed and feel safe and there’s no problem”.

Call Ups

The following players were called up for the match:

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas, Casilla and Rubén Yáñez.
Defenders: Carvajal, Varane, Nacho, Coentrão, Danilo and Tejero.
Midfielders: Kroos, Kovacic, Asensio and Isco.
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Benzema, Bale, Lucas Vázquez, Mariano and Morata.

The match will be played behind closed doors because of UEFA sanctions against Legia Warsaw because of racist behavior by fans on Match Day 1. Let’s hope that the match tomorrow is safe and secure and there is no problem outside the stadium.

– Lozil

Leave a Reply

