Catching Up Pre-Derby

17 Nov

_7am7869thumbWell. much like most of our internationals, I’m baaaaack! I survived my work conference with little to no health issues. I really wish I could say the same for our team!

So now Morata is broken too. So we’ll have to do the Madrid Derby without Morata, Benzemza, Sergio, Casemiro and Toni.

Pepe will be back so there’s that. And Cris & G-Money are healthy (put them in bubble wrap, please!). For today’s training, Benz joined the group along with Castilla’s Enzo & Martin Odegaard and returning internationals Varane, Carvajal, James & Nacho. Keylor Navas didn’t make it back in time to participate in training. (Video)

And in happy news, Marcelo celebrated his 10th anniversary with the club! Hooray!
The Peez presented him with a shirt and the whole family attended.

And Enzo and Liam got their own shirts as well!

10 anos Marcelo Real Madrid !!!! GREAT!!!!!👏👏👏👏👏

A photo posted by Margareth Santos Alves (@margarethsalves) on

Yasmin & Caio were on hand. Not sure where they stashed Cloe though.

Here’s some Halloween Cloe to make up for their omission:

And because CUTE! Here’s some Liam baby booty.

E essa bunda mais linda de mãe 🙏🏻☀️❤️#liamalves

A photo posted by Actress (@claricealves) on

Marcelo did an interview…

_3am1726FROM REALMADRID.COM

Marcelo: “I’m celebrating 10 years of happiness”

“It has flown by, but it has been marvellous”, stated the Brazilian.

Marcelo spoke to Realmadrid TV and Realmadrid.com in an interview staged to mark the 10th anniversary of his unveiling as a madridista, as the club’s vice-captain struggled to contain his delight at his spell at the club of his “dreams. I signed for the club at 18 and it was a very tough experience because coming to a club like Real Madrid, which is a really big club, is tough at that age, but it has been marvellous and today I’m celebrating 10 happy years”.

“I was very young when I came here and I was a bit apprehensive at the start, but it has been incredible. Everyone has treated me really well and I was given a warm welcome by everyone at the training ground. These 10 years have flown by, but they’ve been marvellous”.

Twelve titles as a madridista
“I came to the club wanting to win titles and to make the Real Madrid starting XI. I’ve managed to do that, although when you come to Real Madrid you learn to fight in every game you play. I’ve won a few titles and hope to win many more”.

One of the club’s leading foreign appearance makers
“It’s a source of immense pride to be up there with the appearances of Roberto Carlos and Alfredo Di Stéfano. As you know, Roberto Carlos is my idol and to be close to your idol in any profession is priceless. Nearing Di Stéfano’s appearances total was also special, but I’m taking things game by game and am just trying to win all the silverware I can”.

One unforgettable moment
“There have been a few of them: when I joined, when I made my debut, when I scored my first goal… Although, the moment which left me speechless for a week was the Décima. It had been a long time since Real Madrid had won the European Cup and the referee blowing the full-time whistle was an unforgettable moment”.

“Scoring for Real Madrid is special, but to do so in two Champions League finals (he netted in Lisbon and again in the penalty shoot-out in Milan) and then going on to lift the titles is priceless. Whenever I watch those two games back it always makes my hairs stand on end. My family are also moved when they watch them and it’s something that will remain with me for the rest of my days”.

Debut at Riazor
“It was my first game and I came on in the second half. I remember it as if it were yesterday and it was one of the most special days I’ve had since I’ve been at the club. I warmed up with Ronaldo Nazario and we came on together. It was amazing, although it wasn’t perfect because we lost the game. Nevertheless, I had made by debut for Real Madrid, the club of my dreams”.

Captaincy
“More than being a source of pride, it’s a responsibility. It involves teaching the younger lads and setting an example. I try to give my all in each and every game and training session to learn from my teammates and teach the youngsters things”.

Just another youth-team graduate
“I always say that because usually an 18-year-old is playing for Castilla, but I was turning out for the first team. This club has taught me a lot, to appreciate the fans and the people that are in need, because this club helps a lot of people. Everywhere you go, you realise that this club isn’t just a great one because of what it does on the field, but also because of the ways in which it helps people”.

Shirt number
“When I joined I was given the choice between number 12, 16 or 20. I eventually opted for number 12 because it was the day I was born – 12 May – and since then it has been my number and I don’t intend on changing it”.

Message to the fans
“We’ll give our all every season and in each game and we’ll be fighting for every title going. We’ll do so with real joy and by putting in the hard work in training to go into the games in top shape. With your support I’m sure that we’ll go on to win a lot more silverware”.

Here’s to many more years!

Congrats to Real Madrid, Cris, Gareth and Zizou who have been nominated for Best Club, Best, Player and Best Coach respectively for the Globe 2016 Awards.

Oh and here’s a video that Roberto Carlos and Guti took part in for the UEFA Youth League Skills Challenge.

HALA MADRID!

– Lozil

One Response to “Catching Up Pre-Derby”

  1. watishistacorrespondents November 17, 2016 at 10:49 pm #

    All the injuries make me want to cry! I leave for a month and come back to this?! I’ll miss Toni most, not just for his ToniLive-ness, but the utterly crucial things he brings to our team. Benzema as well. The space he creates and opportunities he creates for other players, whether he’s scoring or not.

    Excuse me while I go cry in my cereal I stole from the chow hall…

Leave a Reply

