Ready For Sevilla

4 Jan

_he23038thumbWe’re all set for the first match of 2017! I’m really looking forward to the match. I’ve missed these guys.

Tuesday Training

The team had their final training session yesterday. Martin Odegaard joined the team. Sese trained on his own. Pepe began his recovery. G-Money, Mateo and Lucas continued their’s. (Video)

Presser

_he23470thumbFROM REALMADRID.COM

Zidane: “It’s going to be a great match, Sevilla are a very competitive team”
by Javier Garcia | Photographer: Helios De La Rubia

“We’ve had a good week of work and we’re looking forward to winning this match”, he said.

Zinedine Zidane held the first press conference of 2017 at Real Madrid City. After wishing everyone present a Happy New Year, the Whites’ coach analysed the cup match against Sevilla (Wednesday, 9:15pm CET): “they are a competitive opponent, very good and full of confidence. It’s going to be a tricky match for us and I hope it will be for them as well. It’s going to be a good match and we want to be ready to compete well”.

“We are preparing for the game well, we had a good week where we did a lot of work. We’ve come back and we’re excited to continuing working well and we’ll try to win tomorrow”.

Christmas break
“After six months it’s good to have some rest. Spending a week with the family is a good thing. We have had a week to work and that is important. We are not going to stop working, but it will be difficult to have a week like this because we’re about to start having matches every three days. We will have 20 games in 70 days but that’s what the players like”.

James
“He’s an important player. I’m going to involve him like everyone else. Everyone is important and we will continue to work together. After the Club World Cup final it was a bit difficult because players are angry when they do not play in a final. I understand that sometimes it’s difficult. It’s something that is in the past and we’re now looking at what lies ahead and we’ll do it together. We’ve talked about it. He’s a Real Madrid player and wants to be here, at the best club in the world”.

Ramos’ condition
“When you play a final you take a risk. Before the game I thought he could play and he played almost all of it. He’s now recovered and in good shape. He is not with us yet because he has a bit little left to do, but he’s much better and will be with the team soon.

One year with the team
“I was a bit more stressed in the presentation. We are always a little like that, nervous, but less than in the presentation. That’s all over and tomorrow we have a game. I lost more hair this year, but like you, we can’t do anything about it. I’m happy with the work I’m doing, but there’s a lot left to do, and I’m also happy players’ work. I’ve won a lot of things as a player and I always try to win as much as possible. I’m happy with what we have won, I didn’t expect it, but we must now keep going”.

“I have to improve in everything. As a player I thought the same thing. A player and a coach can always improve. I don’t know what I’m good at, you have to tell me that. I have a passion for football, it’s a part of my life. It’s the quality that every coach and every player should have”.

The best memory of his first year
“The best memory was winning the Champions League. It will not happen to me 20 times in my life. I don’t have a worst one. The goal at Real Madrid is to win titles, it’s what matters and it’s what we want to do this year. We’ve won two titles, we have three more, and we’ll try to do our best to win them”.

Pepe
“He’s an important player and he’s part of Real Madrid. He has been here for 10 years and has already made history with us. I want him to stay here and I’m only interested in what he can do for us”.

Best Coach Award
“I would not be surprised at all if I didn’t win it. It would be normal for another coach to win because I’ve just started. I have to keep working and show a lot more. We are working on it and it’s only normal”.

Cristiano
“I don’t think they doubt his potential, because it’s tremendous and his statistics show that. It is only normal that Cristiano creates debate. He’s doing well and he’s the only person who does what he does. He has to keep doing the same thing, working hard to keep achieving things. I would be surprised if Cristiano didn’t win The Best prize. What he did in 2016 is something unique”.

Morata and Juventus
“I don’t think that information is very true. He looks happy to me because he’s at home and he’s working well. He’s very involved in the project. I do not think what’s been said is true”.

Differences between the European Super Cup
“It’s completely different. We won that game but that doesn’t mean we’ll win the game tomorrow. We have to prepare well for the game and we want tomorrow’s match to start now”.

Call Ups

The following players were called up for the match:

Goalkeepers: Navas, Casilla and Yáñez.
Defenders: Carvajal, Varane, Nacho, Marcelo, Coentrão and Danilo.
Midfielders: Kroos, James, Casemiro, Asensio, Modric, Odegaard and Isco.
Forwards: Morata, Benzema and Mariano.

Concentración

The team met up before the match today (Video)

And we have something to celebrate – one year of Zizou as our coach!

Let’s get out there and start 2017 as we mean to go on – winning.

– Lozil

Leave a Reply

