Navas named best CONCACAF goalkeeper

20 Jan

03_male_goalkeeperoftheyear_webFelicitaciones Keylor! Our lovable goalkeeper was awarded the CONCACAF 2016 Male Goalkeeper of the Year award today. Keylor was also included in the Male Best XI and finished 3rd in the voting for CONCACAF Male Player of the Year. Not too shabby.

He lost the latter award to Costa Rica NT teammate Bryan Ruiz. Overall, Costa Rica did pretty great with the awards, with Male Coach of the Year (Óscar Ramírez) and Female Coach of the Year (Amelia Valverde) also heading to the land of pura vida.

Here are the official winners, along with how those winners fared vs the nearly 1.3 million fan votes from 41 member associations cast. Fan votes are weighted for 1/3 of the final accounting; they are given equal weighting with media (1/3) and member association head coaches and captains voting (1/3).

CONCACAF Female Player of the Year
1. Alex Morgan (FW) | United States; Orlando Pride (USA)
2. Tobin Heath (MF) | United States; Portland Thorns FC (USA)
3. Crystal Dunn (FW) | United States; Washington Spirit (USA)

Fan voting: Heath, USA (41%); Morgan, USA (29%); Shirley Cruz, CRC (18%)

CONCACAF Female Goalkeeper of the Year
1. Ashlyn Harris | United States; Orlando Pride (USA)
2. Stephanie Labbé | Canada; Washington Spirit (USA)
3. Yoselin Franco | Guatemala; UNIFUT (GUA)

Fan voting: Harris (54%); Franco, GUA (29%); Dinnia Diaz, CRC (7%)

CONCACAF Female Coach of the Year
1. Amelia Valverde | Costa Rica National Team
2. Jill Ellis | United States National Team
3. Michelle French | United States Under-20 National Team

Fan voting: Valverde, CRC (66%); Ellis, USA (24%); Laura Harvey, USA (6%)

CONCACAF Female Referee of the Year
1. Carol Anne Chenard | Canada
2. Quetzalli Alvarado | Mexico
3. Kimberly Moreira | Costa Rica (Assistant Referee)

Fan voting: Alvarado, MEX (40%); Moreira, CRC (37%); Maurees Skeete, GUY (6%)

Goalkeeper: Ashlyn Harris (United States; Orlando Pride (USA))
Defenders: Ali Krieger (United States; Washington Spirit (USA)); Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada; West Virginia University (USA)); Becky Sauerbrunn, (United States; FC Kansas City (USA)); Ashley Lawrence (Canada; West Virginia University (USA))
Midfielders: Gloriana Villalobos (Costa Rica; Deportivo Saprissa (CRC)); Carli Lloyd (United States; Houston Dash (USA)); Shirley Cruz (Costa Rica; Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)); Tobin Heath (United States; Portland Thorns FC (USA))
Forwards: Alex Morgan (United States; Orlando Pride (USA)), Christine Sinclair (Canada; Portland Thorns (USA))

11_female_bestxi_webFan voting: Kelley O’Hara, USA (13%) was favoured over Buchanan (1%) and Alina Garciamendez, MEX (9%) over Lawrence (< 1%)) as defenders. Christine Press, USA (51%) was favoured over Sinclair (2%) for the front line.

CONCACAF Male Player of the Year
1. Bryan Ruiz (MF/FW) | Costa Rica; Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)
2. Hirving Lozano (FW/MF) | Mexico; C.F. Pachuca (MEX)
3. Keylor Navas (GK) | Costa Rica; Real Madrid C. F. (ESP)

Fan voting: Lozano, MEX (40%); Ruiz, CRC (24%); Navas, CRC (12%)

CONCACAF Male Goalkeeper of the Year
1. Keylor Navas | Costa Rica; Real Madrid C. F. (ESP)
2. Alfredo Talavera | Mexico; Deportivo Toluca F.C. (MEX)
3. Nahuel Guzmán | Argentina; Tigres UANL (MEX)

Fan voting: Talavera, MEX (34%); Guzman, ARG (29%); Miguel Lloyd, DOM (15%)

CONCACAF Male Coach of the Year
1. Óscar Ramírez | Costa Rica National Team
2. Ricardo Ferretti | Tigres UANL (MEX)
3. Diego Alonso | C.F. Pachuca (MEX)

Fan voting: Alonso, MEX (45%); Ferretti, MEX (31%); Ramírez, CRC (12%)

CONCACAF Male Referee of the Year
1. César Arturo Ramos | Mexico
2. Joe Fletcher | Canada (Assistant Referee)
3. Joel Aguilar | El Salvador

Fan voting: Ramos, MEX (80%); Jhon Pitti, PAN (15%); Walter Lopez, GTM (1%)

Goalkeeper: Keylor Navas (Costa Rica, Real Madrid CF (ESP))
Defenders: Ronald Matarrita (Costa Rica; New York City FC (USA)); Wes Morgan (Jamaica; Leicester City FC (ENG)); Rafael Márquez (Mexico; Club Atlas (MEX)); Miguel Layún (Mexico; FC Porto (POR))
Midfielders: Christian Bolaños (Costa Rica; Vancouver Whitecaps FC (CAN)); Atiba Hutchinson (Canada; Besiktas JK (TUR)); Andrés Guardado (Mexico; PSV Eindhoven (NED)); Hirving Lozano (Mexico; CF Pachuca (MEX))
Forwards: André-Pierre Gignac (France; Tigres UANL (MEX)); Bryan Ruiz (Costa Rica; Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR))

10_male_bestxi_webFan voting: Only one difference here, with Christian Gamboa, CRC (17%) favoured over Morgan (2%) in defense.

CONCACAF Goal of the Year
1. Jesús Corona | MEXICO v Venezuela, 80′
2. Eduardo Herrera | PUMAS UNAM (MEX) v CD Honduras Progreso (HON), 66′
3. Alexander Larín | ALIANZA FC (SLV) v New York Red Bulls (USA), 54′

Outstanding Performance Award
Canadian Women’s National Team and its Head Coach John Herdman



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: