Ready For Valencia

28 Apr

It’s already game time again. Man, this month has been exhausting. I can’t believe how close we are to the end of the season.  Only 5 more matches remain (one is the Celta make up date). 

Training

It was all available hands on deck for the training today. Castilla’s Enzo and Tejero joined the first team for the session. Fabio worked indoors. Pepe & Gareth continue their recoveries. (Video)

Presser
FROM REALMADRID.COM

Zidane: “We still have a month and a half to get through and we’re convinced we can do it”

“We are doing well both physically and mentally and this is the best moment of the season emotionally”, added the Real Madrid coach.

Zinedine Zidane spoke to the press at Real Madrid City the day before his side’s LaLiga clash with Valencia. The Whites coach spoke about his team’s motivation ahead of the game at the Santiago Bernabéu: “We still have a month and a half to get through and we’re convinced we can do it. Every season there are moments when you suffer and there are difficulties but we can be happy with what we are doing”.

“We are doing well both physically and mentally. We know that what we have all done up until now has been phenomenal. Every season there are moments when you are pushed hard and you have tribulations but we can be happy. This is the best moment of the season emotionally and we’re doing well. The players are doing well, now more than ever”.

Line-up against Valencia
“It is always difficult to choose a line-up as I have an extraordinary squad and they’re all focussed. Every game in LaLiga and the Champions League we play, the team stand out not just for their quality but their focus and professionalism. We are all in the same boat. Everyone has an opinion on who plays, but I’m the one who decides and it is difficult for a coach”.

His emotional state
“Absolutely tip-top!”.

Praise for Isco
“I’m not going to tell you what I tell my players. I played almost all the time and missing out is a complicated thing to deal with. I try to say the right things to them because telling them a load of rubbish doesn’t help anyone. Isco is focussed and has his coach’s backing. We will keep on like this and let’s see what happens next year”.

“I don’t have just one idea and one player in my mind. The opposition and the player’s position are also things I consider. I know I have a lot of options because all of my players are talented and multi-faceted. That is a key advantage of this team. The training sessions are important too”.

Rotation
“These days it is different, there used to be fewer games in a season. Times have changed and i have a squad that is made up almost entirely of international players and thy have to play over 60 games. I have a great squad, right there is my philosophy. I’m not just focussed on talking to Cristiano Ronaldo and Bale, I explain my way of thinking and that we are taking the same path and we have the same ideas. You have to make the player understand that this is the right path and when your players are with you the feeling is simply indescribable”.

“I know everyone has their own opinion, but I am the coach of Real Madrid. I’m only concerned with Real Madrid and my players. You might think that is unfair, but i don’t see it that way. Quite the contrary. I have immense respect for my players. There are situations at other clubs where he substitutes don’t play a single minute or perhaps only when the coach needs them and says so. For me there are all important and I’m showing the entire squad that. For me there is no plan A or B”.

Cristiano Ronaldo as a centre forward
“You know what I think about Cristiano Ronaldo’s position. He has always played on the wing and due to his quality, he can play down the middle. He is incredible. His position has always been as a winger and no-one can change that. he has scored many goals from that position and we cannot forget this”.

Pepe’s recovery
“He is slightly better. Hs ribs hurt a lot, but he is doing better. I hope that before the end of the season he will be back playing. That is the idea”.

Coentrão
“He has a slight issue. It is nothing too serious. He is the most annoyed with the situation. He came back and felt like a player again. But now he has another injury and that is holding him back. I think it is to do with his back and is not linked to his previous issue”.

Rumour that Málaga may throw the game
“You do your job, but for me that is a load of hot air and I’m not interested. I’m only concerned with tomorrow’s game”.

Call Ups

The following players were called up for the match:

Goalkeepers: Navas, Casilla and Yáñez.
Defenders: Carvajal, Ramos, Nacho, Marcelo and Danilo.
Midfielders: James, Kroos, Casemiro, Kovacic, Modric, Asensio and Isco.
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo, Benzema, Lucas Vázquez and Morata.

Concentración

– Lozil

Leave a Reply

