Zizou 2: Electric Boogaloo, Militão And More

20 Mar

I’ve been consumed with work and a course I am taking and I was just so sad about how things had been going that I haven’t updated in a while. However, the return of Zizou was hugely helpful to my psyche (and probably that of most Madridistas).

Those of you who actually know me in person are aware that Zizou stepping down coincided with a massive upheaval in my personal and professional life that is somewhat starting to sort itself out now (but still in the thick of it). So Zizou coming back felt like a sign from the universe that things would get better both for me and our beloved team. Let’s hope that is the truth. First game back was a victory so that is definitely a consolation. I’m hoping he can motivate them to finish out the season in the top 3 and start building for next year.

Welcome Militão!

That rebuilding has already begun with the news that we have arranged the transfer of  Brazilian defender Militão. He comes to us from Porto, has already made his senior Brazil debut and will join us next season. Learn more

International Duty

Thirteen of our players have been called up for international duty: (Ramos, Asensio and Ceballos (Spain), Vallejo and Reguilón (Spain U21), Courtois (Belgium), Modric (Croatia), Varane (France), Bale (Wales), Kroos (Germany), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica), Casemiro (Brazil) and Valverde (Uruguay). A schedule of matches is here.

Training

Those not called up for international duty trained alongside Castilla. Isco, Marcelo, Nacho, Mariano, Benzema, Brahim, Odriozola, Luca and Marcos Llorente while U19s defender Pulido was also called up. Lucas Vázquez, Vinicius Jr. and Dani Carvajal continued with their recovery work. (Video)

I’m going to try to keep moving forward, as I hope the team will. It will be good to have a fresh start for all of us. Let’s do this thang.

– Lozil

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.