2019 Women’s World Cup: Group F Preview

23 May

Starting with the last group first only because this is where current trophy holders the United States are starting their path towards securing their 4th championship. And shouldn’t the champion’s group come first?

Performance Record

Country FIFA Rank Last 10 Matches WWC Record
Chile 39 LLDLLLLWDW debut
Sweden 9 WLLLWDWLWW 18W 5D 10L
Thailand 34 LLLWLLLLLL 1W 0D 2L
USA 1 WWWWWDDWLW 33W 6D 4L

General Thoughts

I don’t think anyone is betting against the USA moving beyond the group stage. They’ve continued on their merry winning ways since 2015, but they have bobbled in their own competitive tournaments allowing their closest rivals to pick out clear weaknesses. Will exploiting these once or maybe twice be enough to stop the perceived forthcoming onslaught?

The open question I’m more interested in – who is primed enough to move along with them?

Will it be Sweden? They still hold a top ten ranking but are plagued by consistent inconsistency. A managerial shift in 2017 with the departure of Pia Sundhage triggered a requisite restructuring that has yet to fully payoff.

Will it be Chile? They vaulted onto the international stage thanks to a scrappy run in the 2018 Copa América Femenina that saw them finish second to Brazil. Their long-term future looks bright; will it be bright enough to lead this “golden generation” to a dream debut run in France?

Will it be Thailand? Their current performances would suggest a struggling team but that means little at kick-off. 2015 marked their Women’s World Cup debut where they finished 17th. More importantly they bagged their first win vs Ivory Coast there, a success that can only reinforce their drive and desire to improve on this return trip to the tournament.

Competition Schedule

Date & Time Match Location
June 11 18:00 CEST (12:00 EST) Chile vs Sweden Roazhon Park, Rennes
June 11 21:00 CEST (15:00 EST) United States vs Thailand Stade Auguste-Delaune, Reims
June 16 15:00 CEST (09:00 EST) Sweden vs Thailand Allianz Riviera, Nice
June 16 18:00 CEST (12:00 EST) United States vs Chile Parc des Princes, Paris
June 20 21:00 CEST (15:00 EST) Sweden vs United States Stade Océane, Le Havre
June 20 21:00 CEST (15:00 EST) Thailand vs Chile Roazhon Park, Rennes

– Teri

One Response to “2019 Women’s World Cup: Group F Preview”

  1. Anonymous May 24, 2019 at 2:34 pm #

    Thank you! Looking forward to the games!!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: