Tag Archives: Portland Thorns

The Daily Drool: Tobin Heath

4 Jul

Fourth of July means an American Drool! Midfielder Tobin has represented the United States at the senior level since 2008. She currently plays for Portland Thorns.

The Daily Drool 2015 WWC: Germany’s Nadine Angerer

3 Jul

Nadine AngererShe may not be in contention any longer for the World Cup, but can we please take one minute to acknowledge this amazing player and woman? And how when she retires from playing at the end of the year what a loss it will be to the game? 36 year old Nadine has racked up an impressive list of accomplishments. Here’s just a few – Domestic: 1 UEFA Women’s Cup, 2 Bundesliga titles and 4 German Cups.  International: 2 Women’s World Cups, 5 UEFA European Football Championships and 3 Olympic bronze medals. Individually, she has won the Silbernes Lorbeerblatt (Germany’s highest sports award), UEFA Best Women’s Player in Europe Award, FIFA World Player of the Year and been named to the FIFA Women’s World Cup All-Star Team. She was the first goalkeeper – male or female – to have ever won the Ballon D’Or. She basically fucking totally rocks. Nadine currently plays for the Portland Thorns (until the end of the season) and has represented Germany at the senior level since 1996. We will miss you Nadine and thank you for everything.

2015 WWC: Where The Money’s At

21 Jun

alex-morgan-algarve2-031313jpg-b38f72e3cc728a6aHere’s a story from The BBC which caused some discussion earlier this week. Who is the best-paid women’s footballer right now? The answer may be surprising, and yet maybe not so much when you consider why this player earns as much as she does. Continue reading

The Reign of VfL Wolfsburg

17 Aug

2132319_w2VfL Wolfsburg surprised many last year when they beat powerhouse Olympique Lyonnais to win the UEFA Women’s Championship League title. They repeated that triumph this year after a fantastic battle vs Tyresö FF, and becoming the first German football team to successfully defend a Champions League title. To cap the season, Wolfsburg also secured their second consecutive Bundesliga title.

Continue reading